We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Highview Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had a two bedroom apartment for a week and this was absolutely perfect for three adults, the facilities are more than you could ask for. The kitchen has a stove, oven, microwave and dishwasher and all the appliances are great (better than mine at home!).

There is also a front loader washing machine and dryer combo however it is more efficient using the clothes airier and drying clothes inside while the heater is on. Bathrooms have heated floor tiles and heated towel rails and the shower is great. Heating in the living room is awesome and we were very comfortable during our stay.

The views really are spectacular and it is is really easy to walk to and from town, Julie is so helpful and the other staff members we chatted to are really friendly and helpful.

I really cant fault this as a place to stay in Queenstown and we will definitely be back on our next stay in this gorgeous town, I wish I could live here :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiks_and_Matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    79
    18
    9
    2
See reviews for
82
160
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

What an amazing place to stay. The view changes from hour to hour. Julie and sandy make sure you have everything you need. The gas heating turned on, the floor heating turned on and the instruction on the shortcut to get back from Queenstown (only for those who have eaten too much) Thank you for making our 8 days in paradise so enjoyable. We will be back

Room Tip: The 3rd floor is excellent with views over the lake to the Remarkables
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horse9735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Our second visit to Highview (we stayed 3 nights in 2010) - this time we stayed a week and it was well worth it. We love the apartments, they are spacious, well furnished equipped with everything you need for cooking and the views are amazing!!! Julie from reception was always ready to help with anything from the moment we made our booking until we checked out on our last day - thank you Julie!! There was a pretty good selection of DVD's on offer at reception to borrow if you felt the need. My only small negative comment is that there is no where to put your dirty clothes while they await washing and the shower does leak water onto the floor (you have to be very careful when showering not to get a puddle on the floor - in the end we used a towel rolled up on the edge of the bath). I noticed the lack of washing storage space this trip as there were 5 of us and lots of washing, last time it was just the 2 of us. All in all when we return to Queenstown I will definitely be back to Highview!!

Room Tip: Get an apartment (not a studio) if you want a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaLa2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Apartment had amazing view of mountains and lake. Very modern and within walking distance to town. Gas fire place in the room. Large apartment that was clean and well maintained.. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

I was organising a conference and looking for apartment type accommodation instead of a hotel for a group of people and after a lot of searching, found the Clarion. Julie was extremely helpful right from my first enquiry and made us all very welcome. The view was stunning from the apartments and I know the overseas members of the group are already making plans for a return visit with their families. The bed was really comfortable and it was lovely having a gas fire which made the room very cosy in the chilly mornings and early evenings.
Having laundry facilities was also fantastic especially when you are staying in a place for 5 days. The kitchen wasn't used a lot during this trip.
After spending all day at a conference and then dinner, it was fantastic to be able to stretch the legs for the short walk up the hill. As it is not in town (5 to 10 mins walk) it was extremely quiet, which was also a bonus.
Looking forward to my next visit!

Room Tip: I stayed on the 3rd floor,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dabNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Me and my husband stayed at the 1 bedroom apartment with lake and mountain view for 4 nights. The apartment size is plenty for the both of us. It's an open space style apartment, so it's great to wake up and see the view straight away. Interior is modern and minimalist. I love the fire heating, feels very warm n cosy while watching TV in the living room.
It's a 5-ish minutes walk to the wharf and beach st, however it takes about 10 minutes to get to the main town centre (by main town centre I mean shotover st).
However, going back takes extra effort because it's a pretty steep hill. But that's probably the price one has to pay for the amazing view. I don't actually mind it.
I won't say this is best serviced apartment/hotel I've ever stayed in, but the view really makes up for everything. I love waking up n see the sun rise behind the remarkables, and jet boats start to operate during the day, and sometimes the TSS steamship pass by. It was really beautiful. I'm back home, missing the view already.

Room Tip: Lakeview only available for 1 bedroom or 2 bedrooms, not studio
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wita86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We searcched many places and settled on the Highview Apartments. Unlike others, when they say "full kitchen" they mean everything, not just a microwave and hotplates. The views and service are great. We are made to feel at home.

Room Tip: We went the extra and had a 1 bedroom apartment. Great lake and mountain views. All 3 levels seem to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank X_Perth-Kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,029 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.2 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#13 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
3.9 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highview Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highview Apartments

Property: Highview Apartments
Address: 66 - 70 Thompson Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Clarion Suites Highview Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Highview Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury One & Two Bedroom Apartments overlooking Lake Wakatipu, from Queenstown Bay across the Remarkables to Walter and Cecil Peaks, watch the TSS Earnslaw steam her way across your view. A short walk from the CBD, Cafes, Restaurants and many of the local activities (or collection points) but away from the busy roads and noise. Self contained to allow that home away from home feel. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Highview Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing