We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Expectations - Not Fulfilled” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of True South Dining Room

True South Dining Room
Ranked #64 of 254 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $30
Cuisines: New Zealand, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cheshire
Level Contributor
161 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great Expectations - Not Fulfilled”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Staying at The Rees for four days making a booking was an easy option for a birthday celebration.
There is much advertising and many recommendations for not only the restaurant it self but also its location, ambience, cooking, food sourcing and the Chef itself that we booked a table with great expectations.
The dining room itself was very dull when we dined on a dusk approaching evening with only two other tables being occupied. No doubt it has more atmosphere when full - but not on our night.
Six people and a lone waiter with 3/4 staff in the kitchen.
We chose the tasting menu as we wanted to sample NZ ingredients and cooking at its best. Chosing a tasting menu is also a good way to make a comparision with other restaurant fayre in the UK and Europe.
Whilst there was no direct problem with the food. I just classified the meal as okay - nothing more than that ! Nothing close to a Michelin standard that I had been expecting.
The service was attentive - mind you he had only 6 at the maximum time when all were dining - and to be fair was very informative. I did however find it a bit strange when he started to re-lay other tables in the rest of the restaurant.
I have mentioned before about the amount of advertising both direct and indirect of the total experience of dining at the True `South DIning Room and I asked our server if we could meet the Head Chef when it was convenient as I was interested in his UK background and experiences.
Whilst he was either in the open kitchen and nearby afterwards and we were the last to leave I was a little surprised to be told apologetically by the server that the Chef had "gone home"

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank HighburyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    48
    24
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Balmain, Australia
Level Contributor
287 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Stunning food & scenery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Ture South is stunning...... the food is fresh, creative & full of wonderful flavours. Using high quality local suppliers adds a very local seasonal feel to the menu. We chose the tasting menu and every course was outstanding. Visually the food looked amazing & it tasted just as good as it looked!!! Portion sizes were spot on, leaving you feeling satisfied not stuffed at the end of the meal. The cosy dining room has an amazing outlook to the lake & mountain range. We dined on a lovely evening & the large doors were open letting the breeze in. They offer a couple of different wine pairings with the tasting menu and a extensive wine list so you have plenty of options. The tasting menu is $110pp and we opted for a local pinot gris for $50. In our opinion the price is fantastic for the quality of food, service & location. True South is approx 2.5km from the centre of Queenstown but very easily reached by car/taxi/bus or foot..... highly recommended!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PedalsMoving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brazil
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I lika this palace”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

this place is awesome right, its really cool for lovely food with all the good things in life.
I love this place, its wonderful the fodd is good andy for all nyce spots. the wyne is gooda to a
i will be bakc to eat evary day . i say its isa nice

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dario T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A real gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Food and service were amazing. We opted for the tasting menu with wines.the chef has a real talent and our only regret was we only had time to experience this once on our recent stay.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barts101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Top notch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Beautifully presented quality produce with an interesting balance of light and heavier meals.
A must for at least one night when staying a The Rees.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Taffy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed True South Dining Room also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to True South Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing