We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best resturant in queenstown!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of True South Dining Room

True South Dining Room
Ranked #64 of 254 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $30
Cuisines: New Zealand, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
new zealand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Best resturant in queenstown!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

A great resturant.Food was wonderfull as was the service.Small but good wine list and not over priced.For fine dinning go here not Botswana.
Small resturant seats around 30 people. It is in a hotel and quite pleasantly surprising for a hotel resturant. You can t ake a boat from downtown, a very nice trip.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NewZealandWino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    48
    24
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
190 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Best fine dining experience in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

we've had a few amazing meals at this place - if you get the chance, take advantage of the wine series dinners which are the best value for money. The bar is beautifully decorated, whilst the restaurant has lovely views too. Ben, the executive chef is not only a funny bloke but he's incredibly talented. The team under Mark Rose are professional and helpful. We LOVE this place.

Helpful?
Thank MissBossyBoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very Interesting food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

Had a meal here on 1/1/112. The food was lovely and very interesting. As we had two "foodies" one a chef we thought the interesting combinations worked well. Who would have thought pepper and strawberry ice cream with cucumber would work so well.

I will say though two people in our party ordered the hereford steak. While delicious, there were two small pieces of meat on a huge plate that would have fed only a 4 year old.

This meal is not cheap but is of very good quality and does challenge the tastebuds in a great way

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, service and view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

Every dish was fantastic. The dining room is small, with all tables looking out over the lake. The staff and service were exceptional and the prices reasonable. We were surprised with a couple delightful 'amuses' in addition to the dishes we ordered.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Interesting menu, great view, nice service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

I really loved the menu at True South and found it hard to choose. We had mains and desserts, and everything was delicious and beautifully presented. Our kids were particularly delighted with the kids' menu which was in stark contrast to what you usually see. Nothing deep fried or crumbed, just smaller portions of high quality food that any adult would be happy to eat. First class!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank FamilyinChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed True South Dining Room also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to True South Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing