We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing day out with Ziptrek!”
Review of Ziptrek Ecotours

Ziptrek Ecotours
Book In Advance
More Info
$81.85*
and up
Queenstown Zipline Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ziptrek Ecotours is NZ's #1 Original Zipline tour and is a spectacular eco-adventure through the forest canopy high above Queenstown, situated on Skyline Gondola hill. Ziptrek runs all year round and is stunning whatever the weather. With two tours to choose from it is suitable for everyone, whether looking for an introduction into Queenstown adventure (Moa 4-Line Tour) or wanting the latest gripping eco-exhilaration (Kea 6-Line Tour) which includes the steepest tree to tree zipline in the world.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Ziptrek ecotours is a must in Queenstown! It is perfect for any age and any ability. We had lovely instructors (Jock, Greg and Rachelle) who helped us no matter how scared we were! We did the six line tour and we had so much fun! Even though one person in our group was terrified of heights, he had a great time. The last line was by far the best, and it was very exhilarating. And for the daredevils, you don't just have to sit there an go down the line. Our instructors taught us how to go upside down and challenged us to a "trust fall", where you must stand on the step and literally fall backwards to start zipping! Great for anyone who loves an adrenaline rush! Not only is it fun and adventurous, but also educational. The instructors told us many facts and stories from the local area, and taught us how to be more sustainable with everyday life. Great for the whole family, even grandma! Excellent day out, with an outstanding reputation!

Thank Meg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bongreene, Guest Relations Manager at Ziptrek Ecotours, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Hi Meg,

We agree with you- Ziptrek Ecotours really is for all ages and all abilities! We have had ages 6-92 on tour and everyone can challenge themselves as much as they want. Our guides are fantastic at putting guests at ease while maintaining the highest standards of safety. Our 5-point harnesses put you in a naturally seated position so even if you take your hands off you won't find yourself flipping backwards if you don't want to! If you do want to then are guides are more than happy to show you how! Thank you for your glowing recommendations and I will definitely pass on your positive comments to your guides.

Kind regards,
Bonnie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,494)
There are newer reviews for Ziptrek Ecotours
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,128 - 1,132 of 1,494 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2013

My husband and I did the four-line tour with Charles and Jess on our last day in NZ -- perfect way to end our trip and view Lake Wakatipu from a different angle (upside down, backward, etc.!).

Thank MissMellieNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bongreene, Guest Relations Manager at Ziptrek Ecotours, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Zipping through the trees is definitely a different way to see Queenstown and the views that opening up on line four are some of my favorites! Glad we were able to be the cherry on top of your NZ trip. Hopefully see you again in the future to experience the Kea 6-line!

Kind regards,

Bonnie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Jess & Charles were great tour leaders and our family had a excellent time. Not a full on adrenaline junkie experience and good for those wanting to do something that's not too extreme. The sustainability touch is also good. Kids loved it and some of the views (especially the 4th line), are amazing!!

Thank greengrassnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bongreene, Guest Relations Manager at Ziptrek Ecotours, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Ziptrek Ecotours really does cater for all! For those looking for some more adrenalin I would recommend the Kea 6-line tour as opposed to our Moa 4-line tour as line 6 is the steepest tree to tree zipline in the World. You get up some pretty good speed coming down it and because our course is all about building confidence not knocking it, by the time you reach line 6 you are ready for it! I will pass on your positive feedback to Jess and Charles. Thank you for coming out on tour with us.

Kind regards,
Bonnie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I had a great time zip lining through the trees on a wet and rainy Queenstown day. You are surprisingly well sheltered in the forest, so if the weather is bad when your in Queenstown consider this activity!
The guides were good fun and knowledgeable. This is a great Eco-Friendly activity and Ziptrek are an amazing sustainable company and provide so much information on the tour about sustainability.
You can swing yourself around to fly upside down like I did, or just hang in the harness and keep it chilled out like my friend. You are safe and secure in the harness so a great little adventure for people who are a little scared of heights but want an adrenaline rush!

Thank QT83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bongreene, Guest Relations Manager at Ziptrek Ecotours, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Haha great photo with your guides Stephen and Kyle!

A little rain never hurt anyone and no one wants to be stuck inside their hotel room when they're on holiday! We run rain or shine and find that we are quite sheltered under the canopy of the trees. We do provide hats and gloves and jackets but always recommend wearing an extra layer or two no matter what the weather as it can be a little cooler up the top of Bob's Peak than down in town.

Glad both you and your friend had such a fun and informative time despite having slightly different adrenalin needs! Thank you for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback.

Kind regards,

Bonnie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Even though it was our first time we had gr8 time would definetly try again when I visit queenstown. Never felt scared because their safety measure's were so great.everyone should try it !!!!

Thank Bash2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bongreene, Guest Relations Manager at Ziptrek Ecotours, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

As David Tua would say Ziptrek Ecotours is “O for Awesome!” Happy to hear you had such a fun time on tour and felt safe the entire time. All our team work very hard to achieve this so it is always great to know you felt it.

Kind regards,
Bonnie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ziptrek Ecotours also viewed

 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Ziptrek Ecotours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing