We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic tour - Pure Glenorchy was a highlight of our trip!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pure Glenorchy Scenic Lord of the Rings Tours

Pure Glenorchy Scenic Lord of the Rings Tours
Ranked #18 of 158 Tours in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Travel along N.Z's most scenic highway and view some of the most world's most spectacular scenery. Visit Lord of the Rings Locations and take a journey with us deep into Middle Earth, encounter Isengard, Amon Hen, Lothlorien Forest and Ithilien! Also visit a location from the recently filmed The Hobbit. Stories and secrets will be shared by guides who have great insight into the filming. Take in the diverse landscape of ancient beech forest, braided rivers, glacier carved valleys and towering snow capped peaks. Explore Mt Aspiring World Heritage Parks unique flora and fauna. Encounter birdlife and animals. Leave with magic memories and the most amazing photo's. - Small personalised groups - Complimentary delicious picnic - Free photo C.D - Locally owned & operated family business - Comfortable 4WD mini-vans - Departs Queenstown 8:00am & 1:45pm - Duration 4 - 4 1/4 hours - Qualmark Endorsed - DOC Concessionaire - TIANZ Member
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour - Pure Glenorchy was a highlight of our trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

We were lucky enough to schedule the tour the night before and were even more fortunate to end up getting Mark as our guide and no one else on our tour - so essentially we had a 4 hour plus, private guided tour of the majestic scenery around Glenorchy and Paradise! The day before had been quite rainy, but we were blessed with a nearly perfect day - rain clouds just clearing made for lots of great photo stops.

What an amazingly special experience! Mark was a terrific guide - stopping at multiple locations and providing not just information on movies and tv shows that were shot there (LOTR, Wolverine, Top of the Lake), but also providing lots of useful context on the history and flora/fauna of the area. And he went the extra mile by providing a wonderful picnic stop complete with sandwiches, sweets, and warm drinks! To top it off, Mark was happy to snap photos of us along the way so we have great memories to remember the tour by!

Highly recommend Pure Glenorchy - just a wonderful way to experience the natural beauty that the Queenstown & Glenorchy area has to offer. Mark - thank you again!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashish V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PureGlenorchy, Owner at Pure Glenorchy Scenic Lord of the Rings Tours, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hi Ashish,
Thanks a lot for your fantastic review! You were awesome to show around!!! It was so nice to meet you both, I loved that tour. You had the best of both worlds that day, everything was fresh from the rain the day before but was great weather on the tour. I'm sure we got some great photos that day. To hear it was one of the highlights of your visit makes us feel so good! We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and made it back to the U.S. safely.
Thanks again mate.
Kind Regards,
Mark and Trina Holmes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    46
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Had the tour on 2nd Dec 2013. The views were simply stunning and we had a very professional guide. Delicious picnic lunch was provided. It was a fantastic experience and I will definitely recommend it to all

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shufen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PureGlenorchy, Owner at Pure Glenorchy Scenic Lord of the Rings Tours, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hi Shufen123,
Thank you very much for your review. You had our guide Alana who is awesome and by the looks you had some great weather also. Your photos are amazing! Alana says it was nice to meet you and take you on tour! Thanks for your comments about the picnic also, we are glad you enjoyed it. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in NZ!
Kind Regards,
Mark and Trina Holmes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Definitely take a tour with Pure Glenorchy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

We had the tour with Steve and he was very informative and entertaining the whole time. It was amazing seeing the various locations where LOTR and the Hobbit was filmed, as well as just seeing the beauty of the Queenstown and Glenorchy area. Well worth the money! A nice sandwich lunch is provided with the cost, too.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marlene1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PureGlenorchy, Owner at Pure Glenorchy Scenic Lord of the Rings Tours, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hi Marlene,
Thanks for taking the time to leave such a great review! Steve is a great guide and we are really happy you enjoyed your tour with him. He said you were the nicest people to take on tour! We are happy you enjoyed your sandwiches also, we love them as well! Thanks again for leaving such a nice review.
Kind Regards,
Mark and Trina Holmes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed this tour, Mark was extremely friendly and made the day very interesting. I chose the morning tour, as I was advised that it was the better choice. There were 4 other people on the tour, making it seem more private. We went to some beautiful locations; not only did we see most of the major LOTR locations, but we also stopped to take in the stunning scenery around the area. We were very well looked after, and were fed a delicious spread - homemade sandwiches, cakes, cookies, tea, and plenty to drink. Mark was very passionate about his work and instantly likeable. I would thoroughly recommend this tour to anyone who is a fan of LOTR, interested in the scenery, and who appreciates a great tour guide. Thank you to Mark for a fantastic day.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PureGlenorchy, Owner at Pure Glenorchy Scenic Lord of the Rings Tours, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hi Rosie,
Thank you very much for your lovely review! It was my pleasure to meet you and show you around. Its great to hear you enjoyed our picnic and the variety of stops. I'm sure you would of got some great photos that day. Like you say we just take small groups (max 7 people) as this makes the tour more personalised. We are so happy you enjoyed this aspect of the tour. Thanks again for your great review and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in NZ.
Kind Regards,
Mark and Trina Holmes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A sweet az tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

A mate and I went last Monday (7 Oct).
Fantastic guide.
Great scenery.
Good food and drink.
Paradise.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Josh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puregy, Owner at Pure Glenorchy Scenic Lord of the Rings Tours, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Hi Josh,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Its great to hear you loved the tour! I enjoyed meeting you both and showing you around. Fantastic to hear you liked the picnic, it has been getting great feedback lately. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Queenstown and New Zealand.
Thanks again and Kind Regards,
Mark and Trina Holmes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pure Glenorchy Scenic Lord of the Rings Tours also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Pure Glenorchy Scenic Lord of the Rings Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing