We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for a family group”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Willowbrook Country Apartments
Ranked #13 of 45 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 13, 2011

We recently had a great stay at Willowbrook. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful, with great local knowledge to help out everything, from ways to get places to restaurant choices.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bronny-NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 133 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2010

We booked the cottage from Australia, from the date we did the booking till we reach, Roy provided us with all the necessary information, about weather, travelling information etc.
We drove from Christchurch, when we reach Trish and Tony was there to welcome us. During our whole stay, they were with us, giving us all the information’s, with places to see, giving us maps, doing the booking for us to see the places like Milford sound.
We booked the cottage; everything was there for our comfort. We were very happy with relaxing atmosphere, feeding the sheep was lovely, rabbits were running about. We enjoyed the spa. Every morning you can listen to birds.
Supermarkets are very close, few minutes’ drive.
We are very happy with Willowbrook.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillowbrookStay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2010

We stayed at Willowbrook for 9 nights in Nov/Dec 2010 and thoughroughly enjoyed it. We booked the cottage - me (from Australia), my husband and his parents (from France) a 2 year old - and all ages were very pleased with the accommodation and our hosts Trish and Tony.

Willowbrook is far enough out of Queenstown to get away from the bussle of the town, but close enough along a beautiful route into town to be only 10 minutes away from all the action. It's a really peaceful place with lovely gardens that is perfect for relaxing and discovering the surrounding area. We especially loved the outdoor spa at night with a glass of wine on hand to watch the millions of stars make their journey across the night sky. There's plenty of space for the kids to run around, play on the swing and feed the 4 sheep that are on the other side of the property. There's also a nice café called Flight Park a short walk up a hill to where the paragliders land where there's a great play area for the kids, whilst the adults sit back and enjoy the views.

Trish and Tony (hosts) were always really helpful at any time of the day or night and a font of information on things to do in the area. Roy, the owner, was also very helpful and was on site within minutes after my inlaws accidently locked themselves out!

Whilst the prices were at the top end of our budget, we checked around and found that you have to pay a premium on any accommodation in Queenstown because it is a tourist hotspot and we were going at the start of peak season. In the end, the stay was so lovely that it was worth the extra few dollars to spend time in this magnificent corner of the world.

Other important bits: beds were really comfortable, everything was very clean and tidy, the kitchen has everything you could possibly need to cater for yourself, high chair and cots available. Supermarket 7 mins drive away.

The only thing that I could think of that could be improved - thicker curtains in the bedrooms, especially with the sun up so early in summer. That said, none of the 4 places we stayed at in NZ had block-out curtains, so maybe it's just a kiwi thing.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tannytron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

We had a lovely three nights at Willowbrook. The house is lovely and cosy warm and very relaxing. We were very well looked after by Tony and he was very accommodating with our requirements including a very early breakfast. The breakfasts were great and set you up perfectly for a day on the mountain. Excellent location for exploring the Wakatipu basin followed by an unwind in the beautiful spa looking up at Coronet. Thanks for a great weekend and we too were a little sad to leave.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank at04_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

I had a very comfortable stay, enjoyed my hosts, Trish and Tony, very much! They made me feel most welcome - the fire was lit and the ambience warm in every way!
The pet sheep were so cute - I loved feeding them and feel quite sad to leave! And that's what it's all about, is it not? To feel comfortable, welcome and then sad to leave?!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blue024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

Great spot for kids as they can run and have space to explore. We were two families so took both The Cottage and The Barn. We loved it and would definitely revisit. Hosts were very helpful.
Jillie A

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Great place to stay if you want to be near Coronet Peak ski field, and away from the hustle and bustle of Queenstown, the B And B was run efficiently and had a filling breakfast to add, lovely location, with mountain views, this is a must stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnitaU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
5.6 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
6.5 mi away
Sherwood Queenstown
Sherwood Queenstown
#40 of 59 in Queenstown
305 reviews
9.1 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#25 of 59 in Queenstown
1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Kinross Cottages
Kinross Cottages
#2 of 45 in Queenstown
212 reviews
7.9 mi away
Amity Lodge Motel
Amity Lodge Motel
#23 of 59 in Queenstown
481 reviews
7.8 mi away
Melbourne Lodge
Melbourne Lodge
#11 of 45 in Queenstown
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willowbrook Country Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willowbrook Country Apartments

Address: 760 Malaghans Road, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range: $131 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Willowbrook Country Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious and modern fully self-contained apartments in an idyllic, rural setting below Coronet Peak just 15 minutes from Queenstown and 5 minutes from historical Arrowtown. All units have deluxe kitchenettes, ensuite bathrooms and free Wifi and Sky TV is available throughout Willowbrook. Four acres of mature garden surrounding the Main House contain a tennis court, a spa pool and some very friendly sheep. We are within easy reach of ski fields, wineries and some very picturesque golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Willowbrook Country Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing