We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Very disappointed guests”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Willowbrook Country Apartments
Ranked #16 of 45 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Very disappointed guests”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

Very, Very Disappointed Guests
No Wow factor here. Overpriced, Overrated and the most 2nd rate accommodation we stayed at during our ten day holiday in the South Island.
The bedroom contained a bed and little else.
We had to literally beg to get a key for the bedroom and another for the bathroom.
Both rooms were accessible from the hallway by any other guest or visitors.
We were told that if we locked the doors our rooms would not be serviced for our three day stay.
Toilet had not been cleaned and had brown toilet stains in the bowl.
Most uncomfortable bed we have ever tried to sleep in.
Heating turned off at night and room very cold.
The Bathroom facilities were absolutely abysmal.
Dirty cups left overnight in the serving area and only two clean ones available for four guests in the morning.
No milk available in the fridge in the lounge for morning tea.
No water available for the jug.
Common Lounge had extremely dated and uncomfortable furniture.
We were expecting superior accommodation! We got ripped off.
We were required to pay for three nights despite the fact we couldn’t stay there another night & left after one night and the owner Roy Llewellyn has declined our request for a what we consider an equitable 50% refund.
Incidentally, superior accommodation is available in Arrowtown,

Room Tip: Superior accommodation is available in Arrowtown,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 8Austin8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy L, Owner at Willowbrook Country Apartments, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for your review. I’m sure Trip Advisor followers would like to know what led to your poisonous little tirade that runs so contrary to the vein of our other reviews.

You booked a multiple night stay at a discounted rate (in this case Stay 3 nights, Save 30%) and then expected the same discount (30%) when you shortened your stay to 1 night.

It saddens me to see your misplaced anger directed at us, an accommodation business that has been keeping guests happy for 17 years, and I am confident that the Trip Advisor community will see this review for what it is – a mean, vindictive attempt to damage the reputation of a successful business for no other reason than puerile spite.

Kindest regards
Roy Llewellyn (Willowbrook Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    34
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
38
63
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed here for two nights in March and had a wonderful time. The Arrowtown area is much more peaceful than the three-ring circus that nearby Queenstown has become recently. We enjoyed visiting some of the local wineries in the valley and dined out in the quaint gold rush village of Arrowtown a few miles to the east. B&B hosts Trish and Tony were remarkably helpful with sightseeing and travel advice -- and served a hearty breakfast to us each morning. Their kind hospitality made our stay there especially memorable. We plan to come back here on our next visit to New Zealand. A first-class B&B stay in all respects.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy L, Owner at Willowbrook Country Apartments, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review (and for your kind comments!)

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Willowbrook and Trish & Tony's hospitality. They will be delighted to read your comments.

I do hope we can accommodate you again in the future.

Kind regards
Roy Llewellyn (Willowbrook Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

I had high expectations of this place after reading all the reviews but I must say I was disappointed. The location is great if you want absolute peace and quiet. May be a different atmosphere during the ski season. The room was so-so. Maybe it was just me - I had expected what couldnt be delivered from a B&B.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 201Sheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy L, Owner at Willowbrook Country Apartments, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Sheila,

Thank you for submitting a review. I'm sorry your stay at Willowbrook did not meet your expectations.
Perhaps you could let us know exactly what it was that disappointed you so we can take steps to address the issue. That is after all, one of the key functions of the review system.

Kind regards
Roy Llewellyn (Willowbrook Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

A very peaceful spot and within easy reach of Queenstown and Arrowtown. Trish and Tony were great hosts. Very attractive house and spacious guest areas. Very convenient for visiting the area. Our room was quite compact but the en suite had excellent facilities including underfloor heating which was great as the weather had turned chilly.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennyannem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy L, Owner at Willowbrook Country Apartments, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Jenny,

Thank you for your review and for the kind comments!

Many of our guests say that it is nice to stay in a quiet spot that is also within easy reach of Queenstown.

Glad you enjoyed the underfloor heating!

Kind regards
Roy (Willowbrook Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

My brother and I stayed at the Willowbrook B&B upon my arrival in NZ 18 February for two nights. The home is lovely, and we totally enjoyed getting to know our hosts, Trish and Tony. The home allowed privacy but yet plenty of extra space to congregate with other guests. Trish and Tony were so helpful with information regarding the area, and their breakfast is wonderful. It is such a pleasant place and away from the chaos of Queenstown.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy L, Owner at Willowbrook Country Apartments, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Debbie,

Thank you very much for taking the time to submit a review. I am so pleased you enjoyed the 'B&B Experience'!

Do hope we can accommodate you again in the future.

Kind regards
Roy (Willowbrook Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed here as two couples for the NZ Open Golf at the Hills. It's a great location to be near the golf and so much quieter than being in the hustle of Queenstown ( which is only 10 -15 mins away). The place is warm, welcoming and cosy and has old world charm being 99 years old. Bedroom and bathroom were nice. We stayed in the main house.Trish and Tony are warm, friendly, knowledgeable and welcoming hosts. Nothing is a trouble for them. The breakfast in the morning is nice and healthy and delicious and served with a smile! The spa was nice and relaxing after a day of walking around at the golf! We would definitely stay again and recommend Willowbrook to others.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobynP1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy L, Owner at Willowbrook Country Apartments, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Robyn,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for the kind comments. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Willowbrook. Trish & Tony will be delighted you enjoyed their healthy breakfast (and the smile!)

I do hope we can accommodate you for the golf again next year.

Kind regards
Roy Llewellyn (Willowbrook Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed one night in the main house and it was very comfortable. Trish and Tony had lots of good suggestions and a few funny tales to tell. We had a large bathroom, almost like a suite and the brekky was great the next morning. We sat on the verandah with a few drinks and watched the gliders over the range as the sun set. Beautiful. Hope to be back during the colder months so I can sit in front of that fireplace.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy L, Owner at Willowbrook Country Apartments, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Jane,

Thank you for your review and comments. Hope you can make it back in the winter - we will keep a place for you next to the fire in the lounge!

Kind regards
Roy Llewellyn (Willowbrook Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
9.1 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
7.8 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#13 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
4.9 mi away
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
#28 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willowbrook Country Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willowbrook Country Apartments

Property: Willowbrook Country Apartments
Address: 760 Malaghans Road, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Willowbrook Country Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful Self-Contained accommodation in an idyllic, rural setting below Coronet Peak just 15 minutes from Queenstown and 5 minutes from historical Arrowtown. All units have modern kitchettes, ensuite bathrooms and free Wifi and Sky TV is available throughout Willowbrook. Four acres of mature garden surrounding the Main House contain a tennis court, a spa pool and some very friendly sheep. We are within easy reach of ski fields, wineries and some very picturesque golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Willowbrook Country Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing