We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch”

Hikari Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #119 of 257 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: New Zealand's finest Japanese spots for sushi, sashimi and other delicacies. You can find us in NZ cities of Queenstown, Dunedin & Christchurch.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
219 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We lunch here whenever we are in Queenstown and are never disappointed. The service is quick, efficient and friendly. The food is tasty, well prepared and good value. If you are in for a quick lunch this is the place for you

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DJandR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    91
    27
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rude and Unfriendly Manager Spoiled the dinner”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

To be honest, the food is OK. However, we're shocked by the attitude of the manager. At first, we had been assigned to a small table. Since there was not enough space to put the plates, we asked for a bigger one. The waitress was friendly enough to help, but she was soon blamed by the manager when it was seen by him. Actually, there were few people inside and some tables were still empty with no sign for reservation. I have no idea why the manager got angry with the waitress. We ordered udon with sushi for dinner. But the sushi was never provided. When we asked the manager about the sushi, he answered rudely and refused to admit the sushi was not served. He even challenged us for the truth! We're quite upset by his manner. We can accept if the sushi hadn't been served timely as there was only one waitress, but we will never accept the manger's attitude towards the customer. We pay for the food and the service not the mistreat!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Antonio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
“Outstanding”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

I went to Hikari restaurant about 3-4 times
Every time Hikari makes outstanding foods
And also great staff members gave me pleasure time.
I totally recommend if you are planning to have great
Japanese cuisine

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cute G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Riding, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great - Would definitely go back”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We thought Hikari was great. I ordered the Udon Noodle Soup set with tempura prawn. My wife had the teriyaki vegetable Yaki Udon. We were both extremely happy with the taste and portion sizes. There was one mistake on our order, but when brought to the waitress' attention, it was quickly corrected. The environment is quaint - we noted that the big band music they were playing was a great change to what we typically here in restaurants. One waitress for the entire floor, so she did run around a lot - perhaps that contributed to some of the below bad reviews - however we had no issues. The manager (perhaps owner?) assisted her and seemed like a great guy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Underwhelming and expensive”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Having being spoiled for choice for Japanese in Sydney, we were keen for a tasty meal.

However the food was underwhelming ( teriyaki salmon that had just a dusting of teriyaki, superannuated edamame beans, miso soup with two measly cubes of tofu, etc ... )

And it was very expensive.

A disappointment ...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bobfrancis54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hikari Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Hikari Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing