We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“solid” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hikari Japanese Restaurant

Hikari Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #102 of 254 Restaurants in Queenstown
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: New Zealand's finest Japanese spots for sushi, sashimi and other delicacies. You can find us in NZ cities of Queenstown, Dunedin & Christchurch.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“solid”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

great gyoza, fast and fresh, ate here twice, the sushi is really really fresh, you can sit and watch it being rolled, i had the caterpillar roll, also miso soup
really cheap restaurant and worth it

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ted r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    89
    27
    14
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Reliable Japanese food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

That was our first dinner after arriving in Queenstown. Cozy place with reasonable prices and the tempura was very good. Seaweed salad and Agedashi tofu recommended.

The waitresses were attentive and very quick and to top it all off, one of them ran after me to give me my purse back just as I was getting into a taxi after dinner!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Grace S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

I eat here on a weekly basis with my wife and have done for a couple of years. We are looked after each night with great service and exceptional food. We have seen a couple of menu changes but the food goes from strength to strength. The tuna dishes are a must try. Highly recommended to anyone visiting queenstown.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brett G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Overpriced but not real Japanese taste”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Went there for dinner, slow service. Ordered an vegetarian bento consists of fried bean curd, few pieces of tempura, few pieces of tiny sushi roll, preserved vegetables and a miso soup at $28+, little taste. My partner ordered a seafood hotpot, portion is small, not real Japanese taste compare to what we had in Japan. Will not go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chocodung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
419 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Taste is not real Japanese cuisine.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The restaurant is quite busy during evening, and it is bit cheaper priced for dinner compare to the other Japanese restaurants in Queenstown. (Actually during lunch service, "Kappa", one street down towards Novotel, is half price and better quality of food.) We had a la carte menu for our tea spending $30pp including some sake.

Frankly speaking, the foods look like Japanese foods but taste is not really. You may not notice it if you have never eaten Japanese cuisine in Japan, but something slightly different from it, from simple miso soup to soy sauce attaced to tempura. It may come from basic preparation technics. But the result is that I won't go there again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank にんじんandグリーンピース
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hikari Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Hikari Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing