We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful”
Review of Deco Backpackers

Deco Backpackers
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Queenstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Deco Backpackers
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Very helpful people at Deco Backpakers. Accommodation was clean and tidy. Facilities good. Free WiFi. Able to book female only room & was able to leave my car there whilst I went tramping. Can recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 113 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

It is clean,it has a big kitchen with everything you need,it has a cool Tv lounge, it is near to the city centre, it has free Wifi, the location is cool, people are friendly and relaxed, the rooms are big and clean and it has the nicest owner I've ever met. The only think which could need an improve is the Bathroom but it is not a big deal.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julius k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

I was looking for decent cheap accom in Queenstown and found it here. Well priced rooms, decent kitchen, kept clean and only a 5min walk to the center. I had a great time here with the people in the hostel and was happy to have spent several months here :)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Had an absolute blinder of a time staying at Deco!
The staff are great especially Tony and Barney the bow wow :)
There's free wifi, free tea and coffee, a TV room which is full of bean bags!! and the common room is open until midnight.
I was quite surprised to read the bad reviews of this hostel as i had a great time staying there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Perfect view in the garden over the whole town where you can read or lie down in the grass.
Clean showers and toilets... High speed internet for free. I would bring my own coffee though!
Based in the centre, so everything is close!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bart z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I have stayed in this hostel and have returned as I have had the best experience.
I left my door open at all times as I felt this place was very safe and trustworthy. As for safety I left my laptop in the common area for 3 days and wasn't even touched, I have never known any hostel to have this level of safety in all my time traveling. This place was very homely and felt every person I met was very welcoming, especially the hostel workers (special mention to Tony and Barney) who couldn't do enough to help everyone that stayed here!
Yes there was a little noise before midnight, which didn't cause a problem, as lets face it you expect that at any hostel you stay in!
Free WIFI, constant usage of tea, coffee and herbs was definitely an absolute bonus to my stay here. Including a room full of bean bags where you can just chill.
I am returning again next year and will definitely recommend this hostel to absolutely everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed at deco for about a week this year and can honestly say it is one of, if not the best hostel I have ever stayed in, people and management are very friendly and helpful and a special thank you to Tony and the deco dog Barney! thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and would recommend it to any of my friends in the future!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rodgey2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.4 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
3,232 reviews
0.4 mi away
Haka Lodge Queenstown
Haka Lodge Queenstown
#4 of 93 in Queenstown
472 reviews
0.3 mi away
Butterfli Lodge
Butterfli Lodge
#43 of 93 in Queenstown
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Black Sheep Backpackers
The Black Sheep Backpackers
#26 of 93 in Queenstown
531 reviews
0.2 mi away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#7 of 93 in Queenstown
382 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tahuna Pod Hostel
Tahuna Pod Hostel
#3 of 93 in Queenstown
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deco Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deco Backpackers

Address: 52 Man Street, Queenstown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Deco Backpackers Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing