We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy location and friendly people”
Review of Deco Backpackers

Deco Backpackers
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Queenstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Deco Backpackers
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Handy location and friendly people”
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We wanted to save a bit of money staying in Queenstown so chose Deco. Was handy to town, had a great view, and we had a separate part of the backpackers almost to ourselves. Nice staff. Would stay here again. heating was great, in fact we underestimated the heater and woke up on top of the sheets.

Room Tip: Worth spending a the money on a room to yourself
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CurRobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    37
    19
    11
    15
See reviews for
3
41
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Arrived in a blizzard, and was really well looked after. Busy hostel, with plenty of long term visitors, and high turnover arrivals. Some hard partiers, some early risers - either way, sleeping was not a problem. Layout is a bit of a labyrinth, but rooms were comfortable, heating worked (even with rare snow everywhere outside). View from the back is AWESOME! Free percolated coffee is a nice touch too...would go back without a second thought. Rented a car from Phil's Rentals too...very good value...2WD $25/day; 4WD $45/day - recommend if looking for cheap, reliable transport in Queenstown - Google.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FretWorka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Stayed at Deco with my gf for almost 3 weeks and we loved it and we dont usally stay in backpackers. The kitchen and bathrooms were cleaned daily and the Managers and Staff are always friendly and a good laugh (crazy kiwis!!)
The view from the back garden is amazing and is one of the best things about this place, you could sit there for hours overlooking the lake and the remarkables, pretty good for $35 each a night! Also there is free wireless internet which is a bonus.
Would very much recommend this place!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank archeoboy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed at Deco Backpackers for almost 3 weeks in Feb and it was fantastic. We stayed in a private double with shared bathroom and it was awesome. Rubbish taken out of your room daily, bathrooms and kitchens always clean, never a wait for the bathroom and the owners just lovely and a real laugh.
The hostel is always easy to sleep in at night not much noise at all but there is always something going on and people to meet so if your on your own and looking to meet some nice people to party with this is also the place.
Great Kitchen facilities and FREE INTERNET which is always a bonus! We will definitly stay here again! Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissyMoo2984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Three Irish friends and I stayed in Deco's last Winter and loved every mintue of it! A home from home in one of the most beautiful places in the world :) Could have fun or relax, meet loads of people or enjoy your own space.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth_kelleher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Our room was very cold. When we asked reception about it they said the heating would come on, but it never did. We absolutely froze and had an uncomfortable night. If there was a problem with the heating they could have supplied extra blankets for free, but there was never any explanation as to what was happening with the heating.
The kitchen was never very clean, and we thought staff could have put a bit more effort into keeping an eye on things.
The bathroom as well was not overly great. I've stayed in cheaper hostels that had much better facilities.
Overall, it was a pretty average hostel, and we would not return but try somewhere else nxt time.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kinanna_ishtar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

The best thing about this hostel was its location. The garden has such a beautiful view over Queenstown; really nice. Kitchen was good and clean and the rooms were OK. Overall a really nice spot to stay in Queenstown!

Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kruijff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Kakara Moana Hotel
#29 of 43 in Queenstown
1 reviews
0.4 mi away
Haka Lodge Queenstown
Haka Lodge Queenstown
#4 of 92 in Queenstown
450 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
YHA Queenstown Central
YHA Queenstown Central
#20 of 92 in Queenstown
208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tahuna Pod Hostel
Tahuna Pod Hostel
#3 of 92 in Queenstown
351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lakeside Motel
Lakeside Motel
#55 of 58 in Queenstown
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deco Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deco Backpackers

Property: Deco Backpackers
Address: 52 Man Street, Queenstown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 92 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Deco Backpackers Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing