We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely blue cod” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Halo

Halo
Ranked #34 of 254 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $29
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Auckland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely blue cod”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

We decided to try this cafe on Saturday night before the rugby . I highly recommend the blue cod and my husband enjoyed his lamb burger. The sticky date pudding desserts were generous servings and delicious.
As a general mention I wish Nz restaurants would consider other salads from mesclun . They are everywhere!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SorrelliAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    215
    62
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Eggs Benedict at Halo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We had breakfast at Halo on a chilly Sunday morning, my husband ordered Eggs Benedict (that we had been told by the taxi driver on the way in from the airport were the best in town) and I had grilled mushrooms on gluten-free toast with bacon. The meals were delicious and the service was very quick.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank shelle34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“GREAT CAFE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

This quirky cafe was just 2 minutes walk from our hotel (The Novotel) so we had breakfast here instead of the hotel. it was so good we went back twice. Very friendly and helpful staff, good food and good value for money.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
125 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Two for breakfast--Pan cakes and Eggs Bennie--- well presented and a great taste as usual !!! Happy staff and a great location make this the best Brekkie stop in Queenstown

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank seaoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
227 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great salads”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

A friend and I ate here one night in April. I am vegetarian and she is gluten free, so we were having difficulty finding a place we could agree on for dinner. It was later in the evening and we both saw a salad on the lunch menu that sounded good, so we asked if the chef would mind making those for us. The restaurant was very quiet, and we were happy that he obliged us. We shared the Greek and roasted veggie salads, and they were excellent.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank RoamingTheGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Halo also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Halo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing