We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”
Review of Vknow

Vknow
Ranked #11 of 257 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Wine Bar, New Zealand, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This is a 6-7 minute drive out of Queenstown in a residential area, but well worth it. The food is absolutely first rate, different from the usual tourist menu, served by one of the owners in afriendly, laid back but efficient manner while the other owner cooks - brilliantly! Very informal, unusual, relaxed, unpretentious atmosphere . Great wines, great food and excellent value for money. No views, but if you're concentrating on the food,wine and conversation who cares? Highly recommended.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Good choice for locals. Needs a new fitout as very tired.Prices higher than expected for its location. Understaffed for its size.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kiwis-Tango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    86
    19
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kelvin Heights
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“San Diego in Qtown? Pretty much”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

For pricy, pretentious dining you'll have to look elsewhere. For a great wine list that lets you have some of the really special wines by the glass coupled with top-notch cooking using fresh local ingredients, this is the place. Danny will greet you like an old friend and with Pink Floyd or similar music on the sound system you'll just relax and savor. Be sure to finish with a Yukkie - Danny will explain - which is anything but.

Almost forgot: call for a table; the online booking told us we couldn't get in, but when I called we got a table.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ken A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Yummy food”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We were just around the corner in Fernhill and were so lucky to have this great restaurant right on our doorstep. The food was unfussy, but really good. Venison was excellent, steak was just right and my blue cod thai curry was absolutely delicious. The service was super, the wine list extensive but not excessive and we had a really excellent evening. We were a party of 2 adults and 2 kids (9 and 13) who are used to eating in good restaurants. The ambience was lovely - we ate a little later than most families and it was chilled and very relaxing. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Overall a great night out”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I had friends coming to stay wanted to take them out for a great dinner. I'd heard great things about V Know so thought this was a good time to try it. Overall everything was very good- everyone enjoyed their entrees, mains and desserts. I just think I was expecting a bit more due to their Tripadvisor ranking & the reviews I had read- I can't fault anything but I just wasn't as blown away as I had hoped to be. Service wise it was very good for Queenstown, which can be very hit and miss at restaurants due to the transient nature of the town. The waitress was friendly, engaging & fun. The only negative comment I would make is the appearance (both exterior & interior) is a bit dated and could do with a bit of an overhaul. That aside, it was very refreshing to take people out in Queenstown and not have grumbles about the service afterwards!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katiepie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
105 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“An Owner who cares!”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

V.Know (Vino..get it!) is a small, neighborhood restaurant in the Sunshine Bay Area. Owned by Danny and his wife, who is the chef, it is clear they have a passion for food, wine and friends. Recommended by our B&B hosts, at Evergreen Lodge, we were greeted like friends and treated as such. The food and wine are the stars and the ambiance is casual and friendly. Not fancy but very warm. It's off the beaten track but well worth searching out.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank TimeTraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vknow also viewed

 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Vknow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing