We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Swiss-Belresort Coronet Peak
Ranked #47 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Quiet location”
Reviewed March 9, 2011

This hotel is near Arthurs Point which is about 6km from the centre of Queenstown, so if you stay here you are probably best to have a rental car.
Close to Coronet Peak ski area.
Clean and tidy three star standard.
The room I stayed in was a good size.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    68
    58
    36
    24
See reviews for
63
81
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geraldine, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

The hotel is about 10-15 minutes from town, in the middle of the forest. Really nice place to stay if you are travelling by car! Good for families and older people. Really quiet place and Coronet Peak and Skippers Canyon are really close to the hotel.
Not the cleanest one (some marks on the carpetfloor) but nice staff and nice location. Sauna is free. Can imagine how cool place this would be stay during the winter times!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrealinexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, England
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Check in was advertised at 2pm but by 615pm we were still waiting for both our rooms to be ready. The foreign receptionist working on New years day struggled to speak English but that may have been down to the fact she stunk of wine.
Once rooms were ready we found they had only supplied hand towels and some plug sockets in room didn't work and the internal door lock was missing as were the plugs in bathroom.
The room and whole hotel very worn out and shabby and standard or drinks and food at hotel was poor. In serious need of refurbishment as clearly hasn't been done since the 1980's. Also the very small outdoor pool was dirty.
Ok to stay if only using the hotel as a place to put head down at night for a few hours. It certainly is nowhere near the standard advertised. I would not recommend staying here at all if you can help it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StaffordshireKnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

Some negative reviews out there - sure, it is not in queenstown proper, sure it has no style.. but its cheap, and close to the mountain. Depends what you want out of life.

We went for 3 days skiing at Coronet Peak, and found it really useful to be based there.. we also went to Queenstown on the courtesy bus for free and had beers in town, and then got lifts back (or taxis, where they rip you off and charge $30NZ for the 10 min ride). The hotel is basic, but with all useful amenities (internet, bowling alley, etc).

With our skii package, we found this place super duper cheap and can recommend it as a clean basic hotel.. one thing that was weird, was the not-hot-enough sauna and slightly-smelly spa..

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ByronofMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunedin
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Very average!! stayed 5 nights and wasnt really impressed. Roof paint was all peeling off and dropping on the floor that was on the 1st day and was still there on checkout so room was not vaccumed the hole stay. Sheets not changed at all in the 5 days beds re made but with dirty sheets. The shuttles to and from town were good apart from being 1st booked on for a retutn trip at 10pm, shuttle arrives and we are told we would have to wait to they took a group of asian tourists before us they got preferental treatment even tho they were only staying one night and we were 5 nights. so we were left in the cold for 30 mins while we waited....not good enough really. Noisy rooms getting woken up at 5.30am in the mornings. The shuttle bus drivers were average to say the least at points actually feared for out lives and i know we wernt the only ones with the comments i heard. Some friendly staff and some not so friendly, definatly would not go back again
kirsty - Aug 9, 2010

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DunedinKirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2010

I to looked at the reviews after my holiday club booked it for me, before moving into our unit in the middle of Queenstown, and i was really concerned. BUT WOW!!!! what a great place to stay. Clean warm rooms, great bar and friendly people. Great Food, warm cosy wood fires to sit near and have a great meal and drink after a day of skiing. Kids loved going bowling. And 15mins drive to the snow fields. For a three star rating this place was the bomb, was really sad to leave. Are booking again next year. Oh and try the ribs a meal for two and Yummmmmmmmy. Please do not listen to the first comment on the adviser as i honestly do not know what they were talking about.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magichappenstoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

When my friend booked this hotel through its website (because it was very cheap) and read the review of this place in tripadvisor, we were very worried. We didn’t expect much from the place. But hey, what a mistake! The place definitely deserved a good review. Our room was warm (each room has their own heater), cosy, clean and our beds were warm (there’s electric blanket). There’s shuttle bus that can take you to Queenstown (about 10 minutes drive) or to Coronet Peak (about 15 min drive) from the hotel. The hotel also has a dry room and self-service laundry which was very useful. On top of that they have bowling alleys too! You’d need to book for the lanes though as they are quite busy. If you couldn’t get the lane, you can enjoy your time in the cosy spots next to the fireplace in the bar and restaurant.

Perhaps if you haven’t got a car it would be hard to get around the town as the shuttle to the city only operates every hour. But if you have a car with you in Queenstown, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cecaque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
3.1 mi away
Sherwood Queenstown
Sherwood Queenstown
#38 of 58 in Queenstown
255 reviews
3.4 mi away
Coronet View Accommodation
Coronet View Accommodation
#48 of 58 in Queenstown
117 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 58 in Queenstown
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road
4.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
0.1 mi away
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss-Belresort Coronet Peak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Belresort Coronet Peak

Property: Swiss-Belresort Coronet Peak
Address: 161 Arthurs Point Road, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Swiss-Belresort Coronet Peak 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss-Belresort Coronet Peak is a 3 star resort with 75 guest rooms, all with private bathrooms. Located just 7 minutes from the lively downtown Queenstown. It is the perfect location to escape the nightlife and recover from an adventurous day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Swiss-Belresort Coronet Peak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing