We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“awesome hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“awesome hostel”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Stayed here for a few months while in Queenstown and it's definitely the best hostel I've been in. Really clean bathrooms, kitchens and rooms. Awesome staff, free WiFi and spa pool. Great hostel for socialising and meeting other travellers. Also the perfect distance of 5 minutes walk between town and the supermarket. Will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    49
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
3
39
122
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is an amazing hostel. Great staff and a good family atmosphere. The long term guest are really friendly and fun to party with. They also know where all the good spots are in town. This is one of the cleanest hostels I have stayed in during my 5 months of travel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xalapa, Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

I've just been in The Flaming Kiwi for 3 nights and I loved it!
The Staff is always very nice and helpful, always with the best mood.
The hostel is very very clean and big, it has like 3 very well equipated kitchens and lots of very good and clean bathrooms.
The beds are very confortable, and the rooms are quite big.
There are lots of free things, like wifi, computers with internet, tea, coffe and (the best) bikes!!!
I totally recomend this place, it is sincereley the best hostal I've been.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeliPurata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Me and a friend stayed there for quite a while, and had a great experience.

The rooms and bathrooms are clean , the place has 3 fully equipped kitchens that are being cleaned few times a day .
has a very nice lounge with tv, a spa pool, plenty of parking space and the best - free wi-fi.

the staff is friendly and helpful with their knowledge about the area and NZ in general.
it's very close to town - about 5-10 minutes walk from town center, and has a very big supermarket 5 minutes down the road.

I highly recommend whether you're looking for just a night or 2 or even a long stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelogQt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Absolutely fabulous! Definitely the cleanest hotel I've ever been to, with the most helpful, friendly staff. They knew my friend and I right away and did anything they could to help us with luggage, traveling other places, linens, what to do in Queenstown, etc. The other customers were also friendly. Free lockers, towels, wifi, kitchen with coffee and tea, tourist pamphlets, computer, hot tub, etc. Bathrooms were heated, which was awesome, and the blankets were actually substantial and warm, not to mention clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Perhaps I was unlucky and I was just there at the wrong time, but this hostel was the least friendly of all the places I stayed in NZ. It seemed to be occupied almost exclusively by long termers with no money, no imagination and no desire to meet new people. Despite there being so much going on in Queenstown, there were a lot of people who just stayed in the hostel all day watching TV. Personally I hate TVs in hostels. When you're travelling, with so much to see and so many people to meet, why would you sit around watching TV? But in this hostel, the main social area was the TV room, meaning that you couldn't really meet anyone.
Queenstown has a reputation as a party town, but not this place.
Also the staff were overly bureaucratic. It seemed that every time you asked for something, a form had to be filled in. I had to give my details and wait while the receptionist filled some paperwork in, just to get change for $5 to use the washing machine.
Like I say - maybe I was just unlucky, or maybe this place has become a victim of its own success. They are very proud of all their awards, with tripadvisor certificates stuck up all over reception, but not so concerned about maintaning their good reputation??

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2013

After traveling throughout the whole of New Zealand, I have stayed in a lot of hostels but The Flaming Kiwi is by far one of the most personal, clean and most importantly friendly hostels on my list! Loads of facilities including bikes and Frisbee's to borrow and also 3 well equipped kitchens it was always easy to use at any time.

Staff always ensured you had everything you needed and also were just really down to earth and friendly! Free EPIC WiFi is always a bonus too!

Room Tip: Rooms are all good condition and sizes, all have bathroom and showers available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,074 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tahuna Pod Hostel
Tahuna Pod Hostel
#3 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.4 mi away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#6 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flaming Kiwi Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flaming Kiwi Backpackers

Property: Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
Address: 39 Robins Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Flaming Kiwi Backpackers 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Flaming Kiwi Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing