We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Eichardt's Bar

Eichardt's Bar
Ranked #12 of 257 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: New Zealand, Bar, European, Wine Bar, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Modern New Zealand cuisine served Tapas style with tasting plates. Fresh, local produce. Outstanding wine selection and brilliant cocktail list. Please note it is not possible to reserve tables - Eichardt's is a small bar with 7 tables only, bookings are not practical. When full, guests are offered the option to wait in the hotel foyer and drinks may be taken there.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a wonderful evening in front of the fire, watching a fantastic sunset and enjoying great tapas. A perfect spot to chill out away from the noise and bustle of other busy restaurants and bars.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chrissy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eichardts, General Manager at Eichardt's Bar, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thanks for your feedback Chrissy, hope to see you again next time you're in Queenstown.

Regards,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    568
    179
    36
    22
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Coolest little bar in Queenstown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Love the bar in this luxury hotel, great atmosphere by the fireplace, good selection of wines and the tapaz are tasty.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank FD67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tapas”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Was very loud for a bar serving tapas early evening. Not great value and you cant book. The squid dish however was v good

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eichardts, General Manager at Eichardt's Bar, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Hmm, not quite sure what to make of this one...

We are a small bar, and like most small bars in the world, you can't book. If you cant get a table immediately however, the nature of the tapas style menu means tables turn over pretty quickly. I would be very surprised if anyone ever had to wait more than 5 minutes to get a table - in this case guests can stand at the bar, and we have three open fireplaces in the courtyard where you can have a drink while waiting. There is music outside also and large market umbrellas. You're welcome to stand by the fire in the bar as well don't forget.

Loud? Well it does create quite a bit of buzz and atmosphere when it's full and busy, bars do that. You can certainly carry on a conversation at your table though as the seating is quite intimate. The beauty of the tight layout is that even if you're the only table in, there's

I am pretty happy that we are offering great value in both the food and beverage options. We have one of the better priced wine lists in Queenstown - definitely among the best of the 5 star options in town. More or less all of the menu items are $10 or less, I am not aware of anywhere else that you can get 5 star quality dishes for that price, and I am sure that 99% of our guests feel the same way.

The squid is excellent, correct! Calamari in a squid-ink tempura with lemon aioli and foraged watercress, served on a warmed hand made schist stone platter. $9.50

We offer private dining options for groups of 6 or more that wish to make bookings and can tailor menus and beverages to suit, ask any of the team for details next time you're in.

Happy dining,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food, average atmosphere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

This was a hard one to rate. I loved the food, the service was great and the place had a wonderful feel to it, wood fire burning etc. however the layout of the seating area is poorly managed and with no bookings it's first in best dressed. We went early one evening and were given a high table by the bar on bar stools. We could hear every conversation of the waitresses and barman and copped all the cranky customers bustling past, unable to get a table for their group of 6 even though they "left a booking on the answering machine". I felt a little self conscious sitting where we were and was acutely aware everyone eyeballing me every time I laughed. I will admit the staff were all professional and their conversations were focused on work. With such a big space in the side foyer I don't understand why they don't use that area of seating too.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eichardts, General Manager at Eichardt's Bar, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Hi Julie thanks for your review I appreciate the feedback.

Bookings are an issue which have popped up a little recently, and while you managed to be seated straight away (albeit at a high top which may not have been your preference) it is often the case on busy Friday and Saturday nights that not everyone can find a table straight away.

Being from Melbourne you'll have tried to get a table at Movida, the temple of modern tapas; wait list on a weekend usually 3-4 months? Usually not possible to get a seat at the bar either - we're at a similar level of demand, but without dictating when you can and cant come. Pop in and usually we'll be able to look after you pretty quickly.

The nature of the tapas menu and wine/cocktail bar service means that turnover of tables is generally pretty regular, you rarely wait more than minutes or so - and in that instance, we have 3 outdoor fireplaces and the indoor fireplace to keep guests happy while they're waiting.

It really is not feasible to take bookings - we have only 7 tables inside and keeping them empty for guests who may arrive or might be running 30 minutes late is not an option.

We have not taken bookings in the bar for a few years now and it seems to work very well on that basis. I'm disappointed to hear people arriving feeling they have made bookings, as quite simply we don't make reservations. If there is a special occasion or a large group it's great if we can get a phone call or a heads-up and we'll do our best to manage the situation.

For groups wanting to dine, we have our private dining room on the first floor of the hotel available for bookings and will generally offer that option when ever we get inquiries. It is a wonderful space with a great atmosphere.

We cant use the foyer space for regular seating as it's the entry foyer for the hotel, our house guests need to come and go and the guest services team do a lot of their work there. New Years eve etc, sure it does get utilised as overflow.

It is a very busy little bar, with a long standing reputation for outstanding tapas, cocktails and winelist, so at times we can get overwhelmed with demand, but be patient and usually by the time you've perused the menu and wine lists you should be able to be seated.

Also, glad to hear that the staff chat was focused on work! Nothing worse than hearing about the bar staff plans for the weekend right?! The team are all very experienced and professional - we dont hire backpackers passing through so this is one of the few bars in Queenstown with full time, professional staff. Fun-fact; nearly all have WSET qualifications, this is overall the highest ratio of wine educated staff of any bar in town. If you're after advice on any wines you've come to the right bar.

Whew, that's a long one.

Cheers and hope to see you again soon at Eichardt's, with or without a reservation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Sunset service focused heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Fit for a king! Friends & I say and watched the sunset from inside the bar in front of the open fire. The wine list, tapas type canapés, service & ambience is wonderful.

Helpful?
Thank Julian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eichardts, General Manager at Eichardt's Bar, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thanks for your review, great feedback.
We are busy tasting new wines for the summer list (tough job!) and have some really exciting cellar selections to add to the regular offering, with some exclusive glass pours. Will and his team in the kitchen have a few tricks up their sleeves too!
Hope to see you again soon.

Cheers,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eichardt's Bar also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Eichardt's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing