We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best tapas outside Spain”
Review of Eichardt's Bar

Eichardt's Bar
Ranked #24 of 265 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Modern New Zealand cuisine served Tapas style with tasting plates. Fresh, local produce. Outstanding wine selection and brilliant cocktail list. Please note it is not possible to reserve tables - Eichardt's is a small bar with 7 tables only, bookings are not practical. When full, guests are offered the option to wait in the hotel foyer and drinks may be taken there.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I've visited my brother in Barcelona a few times so I know what real Spanish tapas is like. We've tried "tapas" at restaurants in Australia but it's never "right" - serves too big, prices too high, flavours too complicated. And then we went to the Eichardt - almost perfect. Certainly the best we've ever had outside Spain !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TonyLoveday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eichardts, General Manager at Eichardt's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

That's a big accolade!

Honestly we have such a great time coming up with new menu items and tweaking the delivery to ensure we are presenting the best possible experience - great to be compared favourably against some big competition.

Australian venues and some well-known chefs have certainly brought the Tapas style to the forefront of dining awareness; we're thrilled to working and delivering in the same class, and perhaps presenting in a manner closer to the heart of the genre than some of the more formal examples in Melbourne and Sydney.

You can get a great steak or piece of seafood at a lot of restaurants, but we believe we are offering something pretty unique in the Queenstown dining scene and very proud of our position.

Happy grazing!
James Cavanagh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (860)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

647 - 651 of 860 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2013

My third trip to Queenstown in the last 6 months and this place has become my regular daily stop for a coffee stopping here everyday we were here for a coffee which is probably the cheapest thing on the menu.

Lovely intimate setting, have had breakfast here before and was also very impressed.

Stopped here everyday we were in Queenstown for coffee, probably the cheapest thing on the menu. They serve Supreme coffee which is my favorite roast.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dion K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eichardts, General Manager at Eichardt's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Coffee, where would we be without it!!!

Great to hear we have some fans out there, Gary our Barista is pretty happy with his work and I rate him too.

The sunny courtyard is coming into its own this week with lovely crisp clear mornings and long evenings - put it at the top of your list.

See you next time you are down this way Dion.

Regards,
James Cavanagh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

There was a group of 6 of us wanting a pre-dinner drink on a Saturday night in January, so we should have known that there would be no room at this particular inn! However, two of us headed back on Sunday evening and I'm glad we did. We had a cocktail (not as great as the ones at Bordeaux I'm sorry), 3 really yummy tapas, and a lovely glass of rosé. The service was discreet, and timed correctly. The decor is beautiful. Best of all is the amazing southern evening sunshine streaming through the windows and giving the whole place a calm and ethereal feel. Choose this for a sophisticated evening of quiet conversation, or even just sitting gazing into thin air. Although there was a range of ages, this is mainly for an older crowd...I can't even recall if there was any music playing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Helen219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eichardts, General Manager at Eichardt's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thanks for the review Helen, looks like you've hit just about every spot in Queenstown so I am pleased got to experience what we can do the second time around!

The bar does get very busy, but usually even when its full people come and go so the wait isnt too long at all - there's always the outdoor courtyard where you can sit under the heater when its chilly and wrap up with one of the lovely woollen blankets.

Hope to see you again next time you are in the South.

James Cavanagh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Echo the previous review - after online research had high expectations for this place, but it didn't really deliver.. Good waterfront location, but overall nothing special. The place is very small, service not that great and cocktails pricey yet average quality at best. I don't really see how this place can be considered a 'must-see' for Queenstown. Not saying it couldn't still be worth someone's while to visit, but just wanted to caution against high expectations based on my own experience generated by juxtaposition of online comments and reality.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EmiliaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eichardts, General Manager at Eichardt's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

We are just a little special to be fair, a 150+ year old heritage building, beautiful restoration, incredible location, and staff that absolutely know their stuff.

In terms of variety, depth and value for money I believe we've one of the better wine lists in town, and passionate & knowledgeable cocktail gurus that really deliver.

Our Sommelier Neil is a (young!) veteran of the local wine indistry and has been involved in the making of the last 3 vintages of our exclusively bottled Pinot Noir - that's a 'must drink' experience for any visitor to the region - be sure to relax with a glass of this and you'll live happily ever after I promise you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Great place to relax,sitting on comfy sofas watching the world go by. Great cocktails too. The tapas selection was good, and extremely tasty. Perfect for a light dinner

Thank HotelDoc60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eichardts, General Manager at Eichardt's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Ah another happy cocktail aficionado - Andrew and Ashleigh are the busiest mix-masters in town at the moment, and loving every minute!
Glad to hear we ticked your boxes, as mentioned perfect for a light dinner - or otherwise as a pre-dinner warm up or last stop night cap after a meal out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eichardt's Bar also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Eichardt's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing