We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lounge vibe eating area with view of the lake, child friendly”
Review of Eichardt's Bar

Eichardt's Bar
Ranked #16 of 262 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Modern New Zealand cuisine served Tapas style with tasting plates. Fresh, local produce. Outstanding wine selection and brilliant cocktail list. Please note it is not possible to reserve tables - Eichardt's is a small bar with 7 tables only, bookings are not practical. When full, guests are offered the option to wait in the hotel foyer and drinks may be taken there.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We were looking for a place to grab a drink but with two small children this can sometimes be difficult. We walked into the courtyard and saw a table free but in the shade. The manager immediately came out and greeted us and moved the table for us into the sun and got us all the chairs we needed. Such attentive and welcoming service. Food was very good, tapas perfect for a light bite and wine menu sampled the best of central otago and NZ wines. All in all a very good experience and service excellent, even with one noisy toddler!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dharshi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eichardts, General Manager at Eichardt's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

We are always happy to accomodate families and the courtyard is a lovely spot to relax in and gives you the opportunity to spread out - as long as the weather plays its part!

The new items on the tapas menu are proving very popular (Gazpacho & Jamon dishes), perfect for long sunny afternoons with a chilled central Otago Rose - and all the favourite bites are still available, although the Whitebait season may be ending soon so get in while you have the chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (853)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

652 - 656 of 853 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2012

I have been here heaps over various trips, and the food is always excellent.
The deliciously tangy chevre omelette is one reliable delight.
Lovely outdoor dining area that takes on the lake and the mountains;
classy service. Good value, also.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stanInternational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eichardts, General Manager at Eichardt's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2012

Now that the weather is becoming a bit more reliable the courtyard is a beautiful spot to enjoy all day - fabulous views of the lake and a good spot to watch the crowds drift by!
We've an updated lunch menu for summer and a few changes to the tapas menu as well to keep the regulars coming back to see what's new - but dont worry the house classics are still there (Queenstown's best Seafood Chowder still the number one item!).
Value for money in an environment that is second to none.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Champagne breakfast at Eichardt's Bar, ideal for a special occasion, book early ask for the window seat! Only one. excellent staff.
Great food, blueberry pancakes, the best!! They treated me and my family so well, even greeted us, as we got out of the taxi. A lovely small boutique restaurant. Very good at communicating via email too. We loved it.

Thank GeorgiaCat27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eichardts, General Manager at Eichardt's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2012

The perfect location and ambience for a special occasion - glad we made your special day a memorable one! Lauren in the bar was looking forward to the day as well, it's the staff that make a difference to what is already a brilliant product.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Eichardts was recommended by some Aussie friends and we weren't disappointed. The restaurant is beautiful and we were very well looked after. We had a variety of tapas. Our favourites were the pork belly, the haloumi and mint pea fritters and the beef skewers. Our pegasus bay sauvignon semillion was a perfect accompaniment. The staff were excellent. Friendly but also professional. The only fault we could find was the chairs. Everyone avoided sitting on them which meant we all sat around the edge on the sofas facing one another somewhat awkwardly!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank janettags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eichardts, General Manager at Eichardt's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Great to hear we are ticking all the boxes - the Tapas get rave reviews, its always interesting to hear peoples favourites, all the staff love the Salted Cod & Potato Croquettes, they're amazing!

The selections are ever changing, and we are looking forward to a few new items over the summer period and particularly into the new year so keep coming back to see what the kitchen team are putting together.

Neil our sommelier has put together an amazing award winning wine list so you are sure to find the perfect match for what ever you are nibbling on. Be sure to try our Eichardt's Pinot Noir - made exclusively for us by Mt Edwards.

Once the sun makes more frequent appearances the outdoor courtyard will be a fantastic spot to sit in the evenings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Finally, a well prepared cocktail on the South Island! Can't go wrong in this upscale bar; it oozes sophistication without the pretention in a small and intimate environment.

Thank czycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eichardts, General Manager at Eichardt's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Great cocktails are our speciality - perfect by the roaring fire! Some new treats will be on the list for summer too, Neil and the team are working away in the lab to perfect the mixes!

We are looking forward to warmer days when the outdoor courtyard will come into its own, perfect spot to look out over the lake and watch the crowds pass by.

See you next time.
James Cavanagh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eichardt's Bar also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Eichardt's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing