We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic for a family”
Review of Family Adventures

Family Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
$142.25*
and up
Skippers Canyon Rafting and Sightseeing Trip
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A gentle scenic excursion packed with family fun for everyone from 3 to 103 years old. We take a unique 45 min drive into Skippers Canyon, an iconic area steeped in gold mining history, then float down gentle grade 1 and 2 rapids on the famous Shotover River in either guided rafts or inflatable kayaks. See gold mining relics and sheer canyon walls as we navigate the river with rapid swims and rock jumps.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Noumea, New Caledonia
1 review
“Fantastic for a family”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We were 2 adults and 2 girls (8&10 years old), never rafted before. Everything is perfect : the bus trip on the track to the basecamp is awesome, the equipment, the organization are excellent and really designed to welcome young children, the rafting down the river is perfectly adapted and the landscape is absolutely marvelous. Special thanks to Simon, our bus driver and Marshal, the raft guide for his stories, his jokes and his knowledge about the region history.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pjy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrnzLtd, Manager at Family Adventures, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Cheers guys for the awesome review! Glad you picked up on all our strengths, we work hard to make everything as fun and easy as can be. We're glad you took the time to tell us about your experience! Stop in and see us next time you and the family are in Queenstown!
Thanks again,
-The Team at Family Adventures
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    18
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, NZ
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great trip for the whole family”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We had a ball, a really enjoyable morning for us all. The bus trip is well punctuated with fun and information from Mark and Marshall- lovely, lovely guys, really good with the children. Our 8 and 5 year old girls didn't stop enjoying themselves and giggling down the river, jumping into the river and rock jumping into a pool.
There's a huge amount of rafting experience behind the guides which adds total confidence and allows you to just enjoy yourself as you are steered expertly down the stunning river.

Nothing to change, a 'must-do' for families.
Thanks

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mcnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrnzLtd, Manager at Family Adventures, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Well with nothing to change, how are we to get even better? Thank you so much for such a great review! Glad to hear you had a few good jumps and giggles along the way. We sure feel proud to show families just like yours a place we love. Call into our shop next time you're in town, we would love to take you out again!
Cheers,
-The Team at Family Adventures
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Great day rafting with the family”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The experienced and entertaining guides (Mark & Richard) made our day on the river a most memorable one. With children 8 & 9 years old this was the ideal family adventure. I would say the experience was enhanced with wonderful weather, it could be a different experience on a cold wet day. The road in is a little frightening, but the views are amazing and Mark an experienced hand. Thanks Family Adventures.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrnzLtd, Manager at Family Adventures, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Cheers for the great review! Glad you had fun with our guides. Sounds like you got a rather rare summer day for us this year, but rest assured, we're still great fun in the rain too! (think... Gorillas, in the Mist!) Thanks again, and come back and see us next time!
Cheers,
-The Team at Family Adventures
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great for the whole family”
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

You have to be 13 to do most of the whitewater rafting trips around Queenstown and the youngest in our group was 12. But family adventures is geared toward younger families with its category 1 & 2 rapids. We were worried this trip would lack excitement. But we had a terrific time.

The trek there is incredibly thrilling as you drive on the crazy mining road to the river. The scenery and mining stories were terrific!

The girls were thrilled to see The Lord of the Rings site where Eowyn forded the river with Frodo.

And the rafting trip was really fun! The guides mess around with the other boats and add thrills along the way. Many in our group of ten jumped off the rock and had a swim.

The guides are friendly and fun and they tell terrible jokes. Everyone had a great time!

Helpful?
1 Thank SE512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrnzLtd, Manager at Family Adventures, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Many thanks for your awesome review! We do pride ourselves on terrible jokes, and being able to cater for all sorts of adventurers. Glad we packed in enough excitement for all. Thanks for your recommendations!
Come back and see us again next time you're in town!
Cheers,
-The Team at Family Adventures
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The perfect raft trip for starters”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We‘ve never done any rafting before, so we decided to do a soft trip with Family Adventures. It was the right choice. We enjoyed pretty much everything on that day: Simon‘s skillful drive up Old Skipper‘s Road, the breath-taking landscape, the gold digger stories, the relaxed raft itself, the rather refreshing dive in that one hole full of icy water, the cookies, the whole organisation – and even Marshalls bad jokes;-)

Okay, we admit it: We were a little disappointed, Marshall didn‘t try to push us out of the boat;-) But despite that, we had a really great day – 5 stars and thumbs up.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Veit_Klapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrnzLtd, Manager at Family Adventures, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Hey thanks for your time in writing us such a glowing review! Were happy you and your family had a good time with Simon and Marshall. We don't know about the "dive in that one hole full of icy water" you speak of, but we're betting you don't regret it! ;)
Thanks again,
-The Team at Family Adventues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Family Adventures also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Family Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing