We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic family experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Family Adventures

Family Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
$135.63*
and up
Skippers Canyon Rafting and Sightseeing Trip
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A gentle scenic excursion packed with family fun for everyone from 3 to 103 years old. We take a unique 45 min drive into Skippers Canyon, an iconic area steeped in gold mining history, then float down gentle grade 1 and 2 rapids on the famous Shotover River in either guided rafts or inflatable kayaks. See gold mining relics and sheer canyon walls as we navigate the river with rapid swims and rock jumps.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic family experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

I wanted to do something that we could all do, including my wife and younger child aged 10. We booked this adventure from England and all went to plan. Our guides were both excellent and full of entertaining information including some excellent and not so excellent jokes to keep us entertained as we made our way along Skippers Canyon. The rafting was excellent and just pitched at the right level so we could all enjoy the adventure. Thoroughly recommended!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    16
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Havelock North, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Outstanding day of family fun - we loved it !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

What a great experience this is. The journey to the rafting launch spot is an eye popping drive through the spectacular Skippers Canyon, we had a sense of being in the real New Zealand back country. Our guide team (Simon, Cam and Ritchie) ensured we were fully entertained (including some really bad jokes) and clearly enjoy their jobs. The rafting is easy and gave us a chance to see our absolutely beautiful surroundings. The time just flew by, always a sign that you're having a good time, highly recommended!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gamma6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Fun-filled family experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

Thank you Family Adventures for making our day rafting in Queenstown one the most memorable experiences of our Tiki Tour! Marshall our guide was awesome...full of knowledge and fun. We felt assured we were in capable hands and the kids were allowed to have plenty of water fun..big kids too! Mark the operator was very organised and despite his dreadful jokes we can't speak highly enough of the company..we are saving to return and will definitely do another Family Adventures experience. Thanks guys.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Best activity we experienced in New Zealand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

The whole family went, from 40yrs to 13yrs old and enjoyed it immensely. The guides were excellent and kept us entertained with humor and information on the way. It was snowing in Queenstown that day and freezing cold, we were actually hoping it would get cancelled but the trip went ahead and we were so glad it did. Rafting down the river in the snow was amazing. Cold, but what an experience. It was so much more than we envisioned.
We would recommend to this to all ages and even those of you who are not swimmers. Great time to be had.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank bill p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Adventure for the kids & adults”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

We booked for 6 of us (4 adults & 2 kids age 6/8) and we had the best day. The guys Marshall, Simon & Cam were great and made the adventure so much fun for all of us. The kids just loved it and would do it all again, Get to see some spectacular scenery along the way. Highly recommend this trip if you have kids.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Debbie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Family Adventures also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Family Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing