We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Xmas spirit-- go elsewhere for bikes!”
Review of Vertigo Bikes

Vertigo Bikes
Book In Advance
More Info
$56.31*
and up
Half-Day Downhill Mountain Bike Rental
More Info
$105.49*
and up
Mountain Bike Trails Including Shuttle Transfer from Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Vertigo Bikes was born from Tim Ceci’s love of mountain biking. Guiding MTB trips is the only professional job he’s ever had! Joined a few years later by Paul ‘Pang’ Pangus, Vertigo has become THE Bike Shop in Queenstown. Still rider owned and operated, we are a one-stop shop for all your biking needs; be it guiding, heli-biking, coaching, bike sales, workshop or transport, we’ve got it all covered. We pride ourselves on being a small, yet perfectly formed company, which has an unparalleled enthusiasm for all things biking in Queenstown. We have an amazing group of individuals working for us who offer really great service and an unbeatable product. When you ride with our crew you’ll learn new skills & experience the thrills of Queenstown’s incredible terrain. Join us for a ride & make the most of it!
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We rented 3 bikes at by the hilton hotel location. Within 10 minutes, my teenage daughter has a fall and hurt her knee. We returned the bikes within 30 minutes & were willing to pay for 1 hour, but they refused, charging us for a full 2 hours at ZD$60! This was in contrast to the bike rental in Davenport, where the service was SO excellent, they gave us a discount on a 2 hour rental. There are TONS of bike rental places in queenstown. Vertigo does NOT provide locks, so you have to keep a constant eye on your bikes if you want to park it and have a coffee, ice cream, or walk about. Also, this location was low on bikes so my teenager ended up with a medium (versus small) frame. Last, their customer service is terrible. We rented the bikes on Xmas eve and they showed no sympathy when we only used the bikes for 10 minutes, charging us for 120 minutes. Don't use this company-- there are plenty of other bike rentals that will provide better service!

3  Thank 8888mrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrnzLtd, Owner at Vertigo Bikes, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

We're sorry to hear you're upset with us and the way you wrote the review it does seem like we were a bit harsh. However, even though your daughter was able to walk back to the shop, we actually closed the shop and our staff member walked along the track for a while to find you and help you bring the bikes back, we think that is something that goes above and beyond what one would expect. We don't worry about providing locks with our bikes as we feel Queenstown is a pretty safe place to go for a ride, perhaps one day we will have to, but hopefully that day is a long way off. We appreciate your feedback and hope you had a nice Christmas. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 84 of 120 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013

My wife and I went heli-biking whilst in Queenstown and it was absolutely superb. As a regular biker I could not miss the opportunity to pass this by whilst in queenstown. Tim and the staff from vertigo were excellent. The bikes were great and the whole experience was amazing. We also rented bikes from them on a different day to hi in the bike park and again the bikes were superb. I was given a brand new giant glory so can't complain at that. Altogether highly recommended. Tim and the crew have been running heli-bike trips here for years. Wish I could do it again! Thanks.

Thank rdswalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrnzLtd, Owner at Vertigo Bikes, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Thanks for the feedback, it was great riding with you and showing you some of our playground. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Went on the heli bike tour with these guys. The trip was amazing. Although I had to wait for a few days before enough riders signed up fir the trip, it was well worth the wait. The views from the top were amazing, and the guide was proffesional and pleasing - letting the riders to go on with shredding the trail while providing amazing information on the landscape around us.

Thank AMITGilboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrnzLtd, Owner at Vertigo Bikes, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Thanks for your feedback! We have tried to keep the cost down on this trip as much as possible, not easy when a helicopter is involved :-), which is why we have a minimum number of riders before the trip is confirmed, and sometimes it does take a few days at the start & end of the season to get a confirmed trip happening. But it is always worth the wait, even for those of us who get to guide, it is one of our favourite trips. Hope to catch you again next time you're in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Went on the Skippers Canyon Tour.
Great staff and tour guide, no complaints. The track was a blast, not very technical but are quite fast. As such the two runs they take you are very short. Trip was hampered by the poor rental bike. The largest size was a large, no good for anyone >185cm. The bike itself had seen better days and, in my opinion, should not have been rented out. You can also opt to take the road if you are not a strong biker, which for a road, looks fun.

Thank TheSassafrassquatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrnzLtd, Owner at Vertigo Bikes, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Thanks for your feedback. I was sorry to hear that you thought the rental bike was no good as you didn't mention anything at the time before or even during the trip. I myself am well over 6 foot and use a large frame bike. All our trip bikes go through a rigorous safety check when they come back and a service before they go out again, but the nature of the terrain that we do ride in means that the bikes sometimes get battered a bit, doesn't mean they are unsafe though. Glad to hear you enjoyed the Skippers Pack Track, it certainly is amazing country and we are very lucky to have these trails in our backyard. Hope to catch you again soon! Happy trails!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Bought a bike from Vertigo Bikes and was very impressed by the quality of service. They had attended to every little detail in preparing the bike - even the tedious task of applying bike tape and a chainstay protector had been done for me!

As well as being friendly and helpful, all the staff here ride regularly so can provide invaluable advice about the local trails.

Experience of their rental service was equally positive. They have bikes of all sizes for all types of riding and can advise which is best for you if you don't know. Their very reasonable prices include hire of helmet, gloves, pads, pump and repair kit.

The shop stocks a great range of very seductive bikes from Giant, Transition, Yeti and Zerode, plus an extensive range of bike bits, clothing and accesories from many of the top brands.

Thank CairngormCatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vertigo Bikes also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Vertigo Bikes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing