We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Backpackers only”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Colonial Village Motel
Ranked #35 of 43 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Backpackers only”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We set this accom up with a group and shared the unit beside the office - meaning sharing everything! The bathroom was between us and the kitchen, so therefore had to walk thru bathroom to get into lounge area or kitchen or just get out of the unit! Very old and run down, linen was clean but nothing else. Glad that we only really slept here! Not recommended for couples wanting a 'nice' place. Kept awake all night with units above our heads - people walking on the floor all night coming and going!

Room Tip: The only places that were good - are the new units up top, all other accom is backpackers - sharing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    25
    16
    15
    19
See reviews for
12
48
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We have a group of 3 people staying for 1 night. Old and un-tidy place. Very small room, can hardly walk around. And you can hear the people next door talking too...Kitchen facility is awful! There is a microwave, but no place to plug-in the power! How ridiculous is that. All kitchenware are poor quality ..Bathroom is awful as well, not enough water pressure, and we can't take a shower without banging our head to the ceiling due to it's too low. No heater or fan in the bathroom, so it's wet and slippery after shower. It;s sliding door in the bathroom, not so much privacy. You can basically hear everything happening in there...Staff is un-friendly, un-welcoming, even I booked the room via AA and pay for it online he asked me for payment on the arrival! The only thing I can be happy about is the view, due to the room is on the top of the hill we have to climb 3 flies of stairs to reach our room. You can get a nice view of the lake, but it ain't enough to compensate the disappointment of the room itself.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Queenstown hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The room although clean was in a state of disrepair. The kitchen drawers came out in my hands. The toilet separated the living area / bedroom room 1 with bedroom 2 so if someone was in the toilets you couldn't walk across to the other side until done. Unfortunately this was my worst motel experience in nz. We left after night 1 even though we had booked for 2 nights.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K0shr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2014

As soon as we opened the door to the room we were greeted by the stunning mountains and the lake view. The bed itself was good and tidy. We spent 3 nights at this motel. It was a wonderful experience for us. The location is so convenient , all the places of attraction for us are just walking distances away. it was a joyful time here and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Large family group, Stayed at this property, some in one of the 3 bed apartments & some in the motel. While the apartment was very well appointed & the view magnificent, the management was dishonest, deceptive & uninterested in any form of customer service. The motel rooms were substandard & the electrical appliances downright dangerous.
We were promised a certain number of beds in the 3 bed apt but when we arrived we were 2 beds short which the manager didn't want to know about it, then told us we could only have 1 extra mattress, finally gave us 2 but tried to charge us again for the 2 extras when in fact they had been paid for. The four in the motel rooms were told on the 2nd last day that they had to either pay $60 extra or move into the backpacker accommodation. We stayed for 4 days & every day came with a new drama accompanied by more attempts to get us to pay more. I strongly advise against staying here.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Denise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

This is just like a cottage view style. View is mega great. Service was excellent as I was about to go into town, the manager there took me there by car. Even though room was very old, room was very clean and tidy. Very cheap! A great bargain

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2013

What a run down shabby room. The overhead lights were plugged into a very old rusty wall plug hanging half way up the wall, the towels were stained and the bed sheet had blood on it! The ceiling in the bathroom was mouldy, and the whole room needed painting. I think there are plenty of other nice clean modern places to stay in Queenstown other than this one.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.6 mi away
Four Seasons Motel
Four Seasons Motel
#43 of 58 in Queenstown
89 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road
0.5 mi away
Melbourne Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Coronation Lodge
Coronation Lodge
#4 of 43 in Queenstown
409 reviews
0.6 mi away
Caples Court
Caples Court
#5 of 90 in Queenstown
240 reviews
0.3 mi away
Earnslaw Lodge
Earnslaw Lodge
#10 of 90 in Queenstown
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Village Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Village Motel

Property: Colonial Village Motel
Address: 136 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colonial Village Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small motel situated just a 15 minute walk from the centre of Queenstown. 12 available rooms that can sleep between 2 and 5 people. All have their own bathroom and kitchenette, allowing you to cook if necessary.Unfortunately there is stairs to get to all rooms. There is breath-taking views visible from all rooms, this improved by the balcony and huge windows. We also offer a booking service for different tours and activities around the area and can book an airport shuttle or taxi if necessary. We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Colonial Village Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing