We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its not great”
Review of Minus 5o ICE BAR

Minus 5o ICE BAR
Ranked #2 of 13 Nightlife in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Be absorbed into a world crafted purely of ICE architecture! Everything from the walls and furniture, to the bar and intricately hand carved statues are all made from crystal clear ICE. Even our infamous cocktails are served in glasses made entirely out of ICE! Dress up like an eskimo and explore over 18 tonnes of ice in -5 degrees and colder. A family experience you will never forget, a pre dinner chilly cocktail, or a 'cool' start to a lively night on the town. Can you handle the THRILL OF THE CHILL?
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Its not great”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Its not amazing and a little cheesy. Its just a storage fridge with a bar and ice statues but it really feels like that. And service is lacking. Makes pretty photo's but unless your in a massive groups its not really enjoyable. Save your $$

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phoebe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    163
    70
    17
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
41 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Worth a trip if you haven't been to one before”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I've always wanted to go to an ice bar so i couldn't wait to visit while i was in Queenstown. I think half an hour in there is definitely long enough as it's not that big, but half hour would give you enough time to take pics of all the ice sculptures & have a couple of drinks. The jackets that they give you keep you warm enough but even though they give you gloves, your hands/fingers still get cold from holding your glass, which is ice. My feet also got really cold too!
Worth a visit if you've never been to one, but i don't know that i'd go back again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank kels_0892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Yummy cocktails”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The cocktails were so good. Just wish you didn't have to brave minus 5 degree temps to get them. Great experience! Definitely recommend to anyone visiting Queenstown.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Brrrr! Great Mocktails but”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Had a deal which gave us 10% off adult entry and our three kids went free so that made it affordable. We chose the non-alcoholic cocktail option and they were delicious. The bartender still played it up so even though they weren’t alcoholic it looked like they were. It is very cold even with the overcoats and gloves provided, so don’t expect to spend too much time in there. I don’t think we even lasted half an hour. Still, it was interesting to see the sculptures and the light show is constantly changing, making for great photographic opportunities. Definitely something different, but make sure you grab a deal.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank boyce1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't forget your ID”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I'm 22 but look more like 32 and my girlfriend is 27 yet we were both asked for ID (ended up in a quick run back for passports) it cost $32 per person which is ok with a drink. Obviously you wouldn't stay long. they give you a jacket and gloves. It's a nice experience. if you go mid afternoon you'll get it to yourself.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minus 5o ICE BAR also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Minus 5o ICE BAR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing