We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friday night great spot for a great feed”

Lone Star Cafe & Bar - Queenstown
Reserve a Table
Ranked #42 of 305 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: Southwestern, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed May 19, 2019

We were part of a large group of 20 odd people, and the team at this spot nailed it. quality hearty food delivered in good time at differing intervals. The serving staff were all attentive and friendly, and nothing was too hard. We stayed till close and had a great night - Thank you highly recommended

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Patrick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaomiRLoneStar, Manager at Lone Star Cafe & Bar - Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2019

Thanks for leaving us a review Patrick N, its awesome to know you had such a good night while dining with us!
We are lucky enough to have three levels and two bars in our restaurant, so no group is too big for us to look after. Our friendly staff will go out of their way to make sure you have a great night here at the Lone Star, and it sounds like they did a good job!

We'd love to have you back again,

The Lone Star Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (973)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 974 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2019 via mobile

Overall, We found this to be a nice experience. Ribs were tender and steaks were satisfactory. Good service, a little pricey, but still recommend it.

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank 820peria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaomiRLoneStar, Manager at Lone Star Cafe & Bar - Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2019

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review 820peria, its great to hear when our guests have enjoyed their time with us!
We have a large and varied menu with prices ranging from $9.50 to $49.80 so there is something to suit everyone. We are known for our generous portions which provide our guests with great value for money, along with stellar service from our friendly staff.

We'd love to see you here again soon,

The Lone Star Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2019

We had 30 minutes before an appointment, but were spectacularly hungry after a long hike so we rushed in to Lone Star. We were seated right away and our orders were taken within a couple of minutes. We had our food in front of us within fifteen minutes--and it was delicious!! The steak sandwich was cooked perfectly!! (That never happens but here it did!) Thank you Lone Star for a quick and delicious lunch!! We'll see you again next year!!

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank dfscully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaomiRLoneStar, Manager at Lone Star Cafe & Bar - Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2019

Dear dfscully,

thank you for taking the time to write us a review, Fantastic to hear that you had a lovely lunch visit at the Lone Star. Our lunch service is a lot faster than the usual dinner service but with the same amount of care and love for detail and great food.

We are looking forward to seeing you again for another delicious steak!

The Lone Star Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2019

Went there one night when we couldn't find much else and didn't want to spend too much. Very warm on entry so had to discard quite a few layers. Service was ok and food not too bad.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Annemaree R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaomiRLoneStar, Manager at Lone Star Cafe & Bar - Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2019

Thanks Annemaree R for your review!

Great to hear you had a nice night at the Lone Star. Our friendly staff strive to give all our guests the best experience they can, with tasty dishes and service with a smile.

Come see us again soon,

The Lone Star Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2019 via mobile

My husband and I visited for dinner with no booking. We walked inside and were greeted instantly by a staff member who found us a table within a few minutes despite the place being super busy.

We were seated, place our orders and waited around 45 minutes for 2 mains and a side. I did ask what the wait time would be given there was a tonne of group tours and was told it’d be the standard wait time of 45-50 minutes.

I ordered a lamb shoulder, my husband a sirloin and a side of buffalo chips.

My husbands dish was good (according to him) and mine was nice however dry. The shoulder was overlooked and would not go down without the mint jus which was OK - not my preferred condiment for a lamb shoulder. Given how hungry we were we scoffled both plates down.

The buffalo chips were good - fresh and hot - in fact too hot I burnt my lip and currently have a mouth ulcer. The startling thing was there was a black nugget at the base of the chip basket which looked incredibly bad. It ended up being a bad potato after having called the waitress - but it could have passed as a little sparrow or something with wings. After having raised this with the waitress I expected perhaps a new batch would be made for us given we didn’t finish the chips but this wasn’t the case. I then thought perhaps it will be removed from our bill due to the inconvenience however nop we ended up paying for the chips. Given that the staff were lovely and helpful we did not wish to make a fuss over it however had this not been the case it would not have been right to honour such quality.

A nice dinner with a few things that could be improved.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank abirf2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaomiRLoneStar, Manager at Lone Star Cafe & Bar - Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2019

Dear abirf2016, thank you for taking the time to write us a review.
Your experience is important to us!

We strive to give all our guests the full Lone Star experience - delicious food, the best service, and a great atmosphere. The lamb and beef dishes on our menu are all time favorites and the quality and high standards of our meat are our priority. We appreciate your honest feedback and will address this with our kitchen team. Please do not hesitate to mention any issues to our staff since they are always very happy to take the time to assist you and ensure a fantastic dinner experience.

We would love to be able to look after you again and make sure you have a great night,
The Lone Star team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lone Star Cafe & Bar - Queenstown also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Lone Star Cafe & Bar - Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing