We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Food”

Lone Star Cafe & Bar - Queenstown
Reserve a Table
Ranked #42 of 305 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: Southwestern, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed May 1, 2019

Went there one night when we couldn't find much else and didn't want to spend too much. Very warm on entry so had to discard quite a few layers. Service was ok and food not too bad.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Annemaree R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaomiRLoneStar, Manager at Lone Star Cafe & Bar - Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2019

Thanks Annemaree R for your review!

Great to hear you had a nice night at the Lone Star. Our friendly staff strive to give all our guests the best experience they can, with tasty dishes and service with a smile.

Come see us again soon,

The Lone Star Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (972)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 973 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2019 via mobile

My husband and I visited for dinner with no booking. We walked inside and were greeted instantly by a staff member who found us a table within a few minutes despite the place being super busy.

We were seated, place our orders and waited around 45 minutes for 2 mains and a side. I did ask what the wait time would be given there was a tonne of group tours and was told it’d be the standard wait time of 45-50 minutes.

I ordered a lamb shoulder, my husband a sirloin and a side of buffalo chips.

My husbands dish was good (according to him) and mine was nice however dry. The shoulder was overlooked and would not go down without the mint jus which was OK - not my preferred condiment for a lamb shoulder. Given how hungry we were we scoffled both plates down.

The buffalo chips were good - fresh and hot - in fact too hot I burnt my lip and currently have a mouth ulcer. The startling thing was there was a black nugget at the base of the chip basket which looked incredibly bad. It ended up being a bad potato after having called the waitress - but it could have passed as a little sparrow or something with wings. After having raised this with the waitress I expected perhaps a new batch would be made for us given we didn’t finish the chips but this wasn’t the case. I then thought perhaps it will be removed from our bill due to the inconvenience however nop we ended up paying for the chips. Given that the staff were lovely and helpful we did not wish to make a fuss over it however had this not been the case it would not have been right to honour such quality.

A nice dinner with a few things that could be improved.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank abirf2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaomiRLoneStar, Manager at Lone Star Cafe & Bar - Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2019

Dear abirf2016, thank you for taking the time to write us a review.
Your experience is important to us!

We strive to give all our guests the full Lone Star experience - delicious food, the best service, and a great atmosphere. The lamb and beef dishes on our menu are all time favorites and the quality and high standards of our meat are our priority. We appreciate your honest feedback and will address this with our kitchen team. Please do not hesitate to mention any issues to our staff since they are always very happy to take the time to assist you and ensure a fantastic dinner experience.

We would love to be able to look after you again and make sure you have a great night,
The Lone Star team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2019

The ribs here are fall-off-the-bone delicious, the prawns very good and the salmon tasty. Service was excellent on a very busy night.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jonescwmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaomiRLoneStar, Manager at Lone Star Cafe & Bar - Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2019

Hi Jonescwmn, thanks for your review!

We love to hear that you enjoyed your dinner at the Lone Star. The ribs are an all time favorite on our menu, loved by travelers from all around the world and our locals.

Come back soon for another delicious feed!

The Lone Star Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2019 via mobile

Menu was quite exciting and had a hard time choosing what to get. Went for the pork ribs. Unfortunately the were far from "fall off the rib" ribs. Even though they tasted good they were chewy. That was disappointing. But service was good and the flavours were good, so would go there again, but stay away from the ribs.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Aerona72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaomiRLoneStar, Manager at Lone Star Cafe & Bar - Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2019

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review Aerona72, its good to know you enjoyed your time here. Our ribs do not usually disappoint and are a classic menu item at the Lone Star, in fact people come to see us just for the ribs! I am very sorry the ribs you had were not up to scratch - any issues such as these are easy for us to fix on the night and we would have done our best to make sure you left with a better experience of the food if we had known your feedback. We would love to look after you again and show you how good our ribs can be!
Hopefully see you again soon,
The Lone Star Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2019

Our tour group met here for a last meal together. While the atmosphere is fun (although hardly typical New Zealand, with all the American cowboys and country singers and all decorating the walls) and the food was good (not great), it was too noisy for much conversation.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank nancykinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaomiRLoneStar, Manager at Lone Star Cafe & Bar - Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2019

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review nancykinz, all feedback from our guests is valuable to us. We pride ourselves on creating a fun and vibrant atmosphere here at the Lone Star, and although we have an iconic western theme we have become a kiwi classic in our 30 years of operation. We strive to provide tasty meals made from the best and freshest ingredients, and are more than happy to alter a dish to suit our guests needs. It can indeed get a bit noisy when the restaurant is full, but as we are lucky enough to have three levels to our establishment we can easily seat a table in a quieter area if requested.
We'd love to see you here again for another night of fun,
The Lone Star Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lone Star Cafe & Bar - Queenstown also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Lone Star Cafe & Bar - Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing