We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Knowledgeable and inofrmative guide”

Unforgettable Skippers Canyon Tour
Book In Advance
More Info
$120.55*
and up
Skippers Canyon 4WD Tour from Queenstown
Ranked #61 of 158 Tours in Queenstown
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The scenery of Skippers Canyon is without a doubt a subject you will talk about. You are picked up from your hotel in a comfortable 4WD Minibus. You visit this secluded area in small groups. Your local Guide provides a commentary about the Goldrush Heritage of Skippers and serves some refreshments with cheese. Plenty of photo stops and short walks make this sightseeing experience truly unforgettable. Daily departures from Queenstown.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were so happy that our Otago NZ trip started off with the visit to Skippers Canyon about which we had known nothing till we read an article in the Jetsatr magazine a few minutes before our flight landed. Our guide Arthur who is so well-read about the area and passionate about sharing his knowledge with us, made such a great difference to our understanding.
Autumnal colours in NZ are quite different from what we see in Japan as firstly they are imported
from the Northern Hemisphere and its spreading is closely associated with the Gold mining history. We are thankfull to Arthur for his most inofrmative commentary and for his kindness in leaving the camera cap with the hotel reception. (We forgot a camera cap in the car.) This is the kind of thing made such an impact to the memory of our trip. Most recommended tour.

1  Thank Bungo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yasmine S, Owner at Unforgettable Skippers Canyon Tour, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback. Sometimes, our guests leave some 'souvenirs' back - we consider it as Customer Service to return your camera cases, jackets etc. back to your hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed the tour with us. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 89 of 156 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

The whole trip was absolutely AMAZING, echoing other review it was truly an unforgettable experience to our family. We book the tour based on reviews and honestly, I am so glad that we did. Skippers Canyon is a “MUST do” activity if you are visiting Queenstown. Wolfy; our friendly tour guide picked us up at our hotel, he is knowledgeable of the history of skippers canyon and delivered it really well throughout the trip. The van was equipped with speakers which was a big plus point! My parents who sat at the back could hear him loud and clear. The highlight of our trip was that we had so many stops for scenic photography session; thanks to our tour guide Wolfy! We took so many scenic photos of the canyon which were breathtakingly beautiful and colourful! We walked on the mountain road, crossed the Shotover bridge, enjoyed the scenic view and breathe in the clean fresh air and the best part was no one rushed us! It was excellent and fantastic trip indeed. We had a wonderful family time together enjoying the beauty all to ourselves. We would like to say thank you to Wolfy and his team for making our trip to Skippers Canyon a truly wonderful and unforgettable experience for the whole family.

Thank Arizah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yasmine S, Owner at Unforgettable Skippers Canyon Tour, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Autumn Greetings from Queenstown and thank you very much for your kind words. It was our pleasure to share this treasure Skippers Canyon with you. It's wonderful to learn that you specifically enjoyed the leisurely pace of our tour. There is nothing better than a wonderful time spent together with the family - we are happy that we could create some lasting memories for you. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our trip with Graham into Skippers Canyon was splendid! Enjoyable, entertaining and great fun (and the food and 'refreshments' weren't bad, either!).

Thank MikeBrook99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yasmine S, Owner at Unforgettable Skippers Canyon Tour, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback and your comment about the refreshments. Our outdoor picnic is for sure one of the highlights of this tour. Thanks again sharing your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

It was an enjoyable trip which was far above our expectation. Wolfy, our tour guide, was really friendly and knowledgable. Though we were at first dampened by the morning drizzling during the trip, Wolfy explained that how the rain will enchance our scenery experience. True enough after rain stopped, we got wonderful views of the canyon rich in colors. They look really beautiful in all the photos taken. Wolfy brief us on almost every part of the journey from the plants to the history on the canyon which was really infomative. Highly recommended for those who enjoy scenic tour. Lastly, I will like to thank Wolfy for such memorable trip!

A tour not to be missed!

Thank Zack-X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yasmine S, Owner at Unforgettable Skippers Canyon Tour, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

First of all, I would like to pass on to you that Wolfy says 'thank you for your feedback' - it was his pleasure to share Skippers Canyon with you! It's unfortunate, but we can't make the weather... but 1 fact is almost always true: the rain, the clouds and even a bit of snow on the mountain tops can and do enhance the sheer beauty of the canyon. And since we carry umbrellas on all our tours, rain should not be an excuse not to enjoy the canyon :-) Thanks for sharing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

For the most part we really enjoyed our trip to Skipper's Canyon. The canyon itself is beautiful and it was interesting to see the site of the original bungy, the sheer size and depth of the Canyon, the jagged landscape and to learn a bit more about the gold rush. Wolfy was our tour guide and was very good at setting us up in all the right places for some great photos. The roads are narrow and winding, with lots of blind curves. There were several times where I was really quite afraid that we would slip off the edge. Wolfy knew just what he was doing, but still - pretty scary! The tour lasted 4.5 hours, which felt about an hour too long.

Thank sailorgirl461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yasmine S, Owner at Unforgettable Skippers Canyon Tour, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

How wonderful to learn that Wolfy - one of our most experienced Driver/Guides - did an excellent job to point out the best photo opportunities for you. The unsealed and historic Skippers Road can add some extra thrills and surely creates lasting memories for all our visitors. This soft adventure road is certainly 1 part that my entire team loves to share. Since we frequently stop for those photos and let everyone get out of the 4WD minibus, it can and does happen that we add some extra time to the standard 4 hours. I am glad you enjoyed Skippers Canyon. Thanks for sharing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Unforgettable Skippers Canyon Tour also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Unforgettable Skippers Canyon Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing