We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous experience - a must stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Canyons Lodge B&B
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous experience - a must stay!!”
Reviewed December 12, 2011

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying here for four incredible nights during our honeymoon in late-November. From the moment we walked into the lodge and smelled the burning fireplace, we knew we were in for a real treat. James & Melissa made us instantly feel right at home and we looked forward to chatting with them each evening over generous pre-dinner wine pours and cheese & cracker spreads. The views from everywhere in the lodge are magnificent, with a head-on view of the shotover river and the the surrounding mountain ranges. The landscape surrounding the lodge is lush and spacious, including a pasture of neighboring lamb and a hot tub with a jaw-dropping view. James' breakfasts are absolutely delicious (he is a trained chef) and make for the perfect start to any action-packed Queenstown day. A rental car is recommended, although Melissa was happy to pick-up/drop us off when needed. If you're in Queenstown, you must stay at the Canyons Lodge, you won't be sorry (and we'll be jealous)!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmeyers108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    0
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
47
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

My wife and I stayed in the honeymoon room for two nights, and this two nights will stay in my memory for the rest of my life. The place is stunning, too beautiful it seems unreal. We were the only gusts during our stay, and while Andy was away, Melissa and James treated us as family. The pictures on their website can hardly do the justice.Trigger is such a lovely and happy dog , we wish we could take him back home. The magical moment was when we dipped in the hot out door jacuzzi, looking over the stunning shotover valley, under the clear full moon. A huge bonus is that, James is a chef and use to run a big kitchen in Melbourne. Having him cooking for you while explaining the recipe is such a treat! And thanks Melissa, your "potion" cured me form the sea sickness!

Nothing could possibly be any better. Big thank you!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bristol_guts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

My wife & I, along with a few friends had the pleasure of staying at the Canyons Lodge for a few days, while in Queenstown. What should I say....the lodge is absolutely gorgeous, oozing with breathtaking views, comfort and hospitality. Andy, the owner, is an exceptional host and made our stay wonderful. To start with, the lodge is perched on a cliff, with gorgeous views of the canyon and river, nestled amongst pine trees and mountains. The main lodge has 3 rooms, all of which are very cosy and well appointed, with views of the canyon and mountains. The honeymoon room is situated on the upper floor with panoromic views of the scenery...the room also has a gorgeous bathroom with a large bathtub. The living room is extremely warm with a lovely wooded fire place. The room also opens up to a patio which overlooks the canyon and river. Too add to the homey feel, Andy invited us to an evening of wine and cheese (every evening) which were fantastic and gave us a chance to interact with him and hear some of his experiences...he has some very interesting ones. To top all of this (as if it needed any more topping), the breakfast was exceptional !! Andy is a great chef and cooked us some fantastic eggs benedicts, sausages, etc. He also went out of his way to book us activities in Queenstown and even got us great deals.
Overall, I would say that this is by far the best mountain lodge we have stayed in !!

We would definately return to the Canyons Lodge very soon and would highly reccomend it to anyone visiting Queenstown.

Room Tip: Go for the honeymoon room..a little expensive but totally worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samarthnarang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We were on our honeymoon and stayed here one night. Its a little out of the way from the town itself , be careful not to miss the right for the lane that its located in. Small gravel driveway going towards the house. They even have sheep - big wooly ones while we were there :).

Its a little steep if you are deciding the budget but it was amazing and more than worth it. The hosts are gracious and friendly and were very helpful about the places to visit in Queenstown. The jetboat is about 10mins from the lodge by road and you can see the 360 degree turns from the porch itself if you arent too adventurous. When I say breathtaking believe you me it is.

We stayed in the river view room and had asked for breakfast to be included. The room is very tastefully done and itself has a beautful view. It is independent from the house so you dont disturb them going in and out of the place. As for the breakfast its a full spread american breakfast with eggs as you like made by the host himself - I still swear there have been no better eggs benedict than those that I had here. It was very very delicious.

The reservation process is easy , we did ours online and you get a detailed tax invoice with the confirmation number once it has been charged to your card. Do keep that for reference if you need it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wonderin_wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We had a fantastic time in Queenstown and our stay at the Canyons Lodge topped it off. The hosts are just magic - very knowledgeable about the area and full of ideas and tips. The room (we had the chalet deluxe room with balcony) was gorgeous - refined taste. Great bathroom and loads of space. But the standout feature of this property is the view of the shotover river and mountains. It really is incredible. The place is a bit hard to find but GPS does wonders. Breakfasts were brilliant - they offer canapes and wine in the evening with other guests but being a younger couple we decided to find our own fun in town.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank take-your-time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2011

We drove to Canyons Lodge from Te Anau; the journey took around 2 1/2 easy hours and we arrived to a warm welcome and a bottle of local sparkling wine waiting in the fridge. We found the Canyons Lodge very easily, but beware the sharp left turning into the drive if approaching from Arthurs Point.
Andy and his assistant Meg made us feel instantly at home and showed us all the guest accommodation. We had chosen one of the downstairs bedrooms with immediate access onto the large decked area, but we were very impressed by the spectacular suite upstairs; this would be perfect for a special treat or for a family. However, we were more than happy with our choice; the room was large, the furnishings luxurious and the setting superb. The sun was shining so we took our excellent bottle of wine out on to the decking and spent a very pleasant hour relaxing on the comfy seats overlooking the Shotover River and the Coronet Peak.
We had three delightful days at Canyons Lodge and enjoyed chatting with Andy, Mel and Meg. There was plenty of choice of good places to eat out without going down to the busy Queenstown. And on our first night Andy arranged with Gantley’s for a free taxi pick-up and return; a great service, and excellent food. We also ate out at the The Stables in picturesque Arrowtown (good) and at the Millbrook restaurant, Millhouse, (this was one of the best meals of our whole holiday!).
Breakfast at Canyons Lodge was served in the dining room, Meg cooked for us twice and Andy once, both were great and we loved Andy’s eggs Benedict!
We were very pleased that we had chosen to stay at Canyons Lodge rather than right in Queenstown. We loved the peace of the location and the superb quality of the accommodation; it was one of the best of 17 different New Zealand stays. We are still trying to decide which is number one, there are 4 jostling for this position!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bethi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Queenstown at its most impressive! We stayed here for 3 nights and hired the entire lodge for our wedding party. We held the ceremony on the lawn overlooking the Shotover River. Our stay was more than we could ever have hoped for. The master bedroom is amazing - spacious, warm, quiet with a stunning balcony and an enormous bathroom - my favourite feature being the bathtub that overlooks the Canyon. The bedrooms downstairs were large and comfortable, each with their own bathroom and lovely outdoor areas. The lounge was spacious yet felt cosy in the evenings. We were lucky to have gorgeous weather and made the most of the outdoor areas with the the BBQ, the decking and the outdoor spa pool. A magnificent place to stay, isolated yet close to Queenstown, private, comfortable, luxurious - highly recommended!

Room Tip: Master bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stem015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queenstown
1.0 mi away
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
617 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trelawn Place
Trelawn Place
#26 of 90 in Queenstown
120 reviews
3.9 mi away
Manata Lodge
Manata Lodge
#1 of 3 in Lower Shotover
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cranbury Court Apartments
Cranbury Court Apartments
#25 of 90 in Queenstown
239 reviews
3.4 mi away
Platinum Queenstown Villas
Platinum Queenstown Villas
#2 of 90 in Queenstown
236 reviews
2.5 mi away
Queenstown House Boutique Bed & Breakfast & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Canyons Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Canyons Lodge B&B

Property: The Canyons Lodge B&B
Address: 13 Watties Track | Arthurs Point, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Canyons Lodge B&B 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Canyons Lodge B&B, Queenstown, New Zealand is a lovely B&B set amidst majestic mountains on sweeping lawns overlooking the celebrated Shotover River with Coronet Peak Ski Field in the background. Secluded and rural yet only 4kms from Queenstown voted the adventure capital of the world with its abundance of activities, ski fields, golf courses, wineries, cafes, restaurants and shops. B&B hosted guests have access to the large deck grounds outside as well as the outdoor hot tub. Breakfast is available dependent on the room rate booked. Each room has an en-suite bathroom and private patio area. At times we rent out the lodge as a holiday home at which time guests have full use of the lodge including the lounge with open fireplace and all 5 bedrooms (max of 10 people). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Canyons Lodge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing