We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little yakitori bar” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yakitori Daruma Japanese Sake Bar

Yakitori Daruma Japanese Sake Bar
Ranked #108 of 254 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Fusion
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great little yakitori bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Tasty morsels of grilled meats. Japanese cocktails were a nice surprise. Authentic Japanese feel, yummy food though maybe a little dear.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MeCatCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    46
    18
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Like being back in Japan!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

For authentic Japanese food and atmosphere, you can't beat Daruma. Always live the Yakitori, and the friendly staff all seem like they live there work. All put together creates a really great atmosphere. However, don't confuse this with a restaurant, as Yakitori is more Tapas style dining. But it's great with a few cold beers!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jezza124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice for a beer not so much for Yakitori.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

More small funky Japanese bar than restaurant. I love Yakitori but the food here tasted old and the cuts of meat were supermarket seconds. The Chefs special hot ramen tasted like miso, two minute noodles and tobacco sauce with fried pork mince. Tuna was fishy and the beef tasted reheated and old. Beer was cold though and staff were cool.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MRMITCHELLX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Should be #1”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

On my recent trip to NZ I decided to eat here one night. Upon doing so I didn't realise that I'd end up coming back 5 more nights!

What a funky, fun, chilled, outrageously awesome place to eat!

The food, amazing! Extremely fast yet oh so tasty! I ate things I never thought I'd ever think of eating and I loved it all!

The staff were very attentive, happy and just pleasant to be around.

As for the venue itself, very small and cosy with some kinda funky ghetto chic going on haha.

If you don't mind a little Japanese you MUST visit Yakitori Daruma when you're in the area!

Tip: If you do plan visiting with a group I'd highly recommend ringing ahead and making a reservation as it is quite small...

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SWikky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simple but delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed three nights in Queenstown on our last legvofvSouth Island holiday. We went to Yakatori based on all these reviews that we read in tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. Food was simple but delicious, service was friendly and fast and we ended up coming back on our last night in NZ.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DGUNADI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yakitori Daruma Japanese Sake Bar also viewed

 

Been to Yakitori Daruma Japanese Sake Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing