We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exquisite food and superb surroundings and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Les Alpes - CLOSED

Les Alpes
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Your Tastiest Restaurant Experience In Queenstown: A French Culinary Journey Passionately Combined With The Unique Taste Of New Zealand Produce. A rare experience for any restaurant in Queenstown. What do you think about discovering how New Zealand Wines enhance French food and how French Cuisine enhances New Zealand produce? For example, try New Zealand Lamb cooked the French way! Les Alpes restaurant will allow you to experience authentic fine French food, cooked only with fresh ingredients, come and try our homemade products ! Our restaurant offers gluten free and diary free and vegetarian options. If you are a wine enthusiast, you will marvel at the 80+ wine references that bring you the regions of Burgundy, Champagne, and Provence, as well as the best wines New Zealand has to offer. Les Alpes can provide at once a cosy atmosphere for romantic dinners and a friendly ambiance for functions (80+ groups). Experience our Live music venues every Friday & Saturday,enjoy at the same time a gourmet dinner and a jazzy concert !
Warwick, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Exquisite food and superb surroundings and service”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had an excellent experience dining at Les Alpes. The staff were more than friendly, they made sure we had everything we could possibly want and more. They were able to answer all of our questions and were happy to do so. The food was bliss, delicious, well presented and just right. We would definitely dine there again, with their mix of a fantastic atmosphere, service second to none and exquisite food it was an all round fantastic experience. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Xanthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    75
    19
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love this restaurant more each year!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We visit Queenstown every year and Les Alpes has always been our number one choice for breakfast, with our favourite being the 'Full French Breakfast'. The only disappointment this year was that they didn't have pastries other than croissants (plain, almond, chocolate) available to choose from where as other years we've had some fabulous brioches as well.

This was the first year we had dinner here, on the Friday night to take advantage of the live Jazz music. We had an amazing Fondue au Fromage with a cold meat platter and followed it up with the best creme brûlée ever and a very rich indulgent chocolate mousse!

The service was wonderful, the atmosphere was fun, the staff actually looked like they were enjoying being at work and the music was great.

Can't wait to return next year!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrs P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecy, France
Level Contributor
109 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast and Lunch place in Queenstown”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Located next to the lake this Restaurant and Bakery make me feel at home in Annecy. Most of the decoration remember me “un Chalet Savoyard”.
The service is very friendly and done by French speaking staff. (of course their English is excellent as well).
The menu is limited but always feature daily special and their selection of house wine is of very good quality. I recommend the “cote du Rhône”
For food I would recommend “ la salade Nicoise”, “ la salade de foie de volaille et artichauts”,
“ la Quiche Lorraine” “les Ravioles de Cèpes” and the “ plat du jour” which is always good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 760pieto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chch
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Paris in Queenstown”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

The best place in town for a coffee and delicious cakes whilst waiting for your wife's shopping expedition.
Always fresh, great selection and service with a friendly welcome and a smile

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wayChch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Celebration with friends”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Great atmosphere. Amazing food. Made to feel very welcome. Great attentive staff who were great with the children. Had an amazing dessert selection, kids eyes were popping out with the beautiful ornate pastries and cakes.
Because of its central location and french food it was expensive. The childrens menu was actually 17.50 but I read the 7 as a 1 so thought it was 11.50 per child. We over spent on drinks the alcohol was way overpriced which was a shame as we overspent as a group of 17 by $150!! Easy to do.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Alpes also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing