We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great cruise to a beautiful location”

Walter Peak Farm & Gourmet BBQ Lunch - Real Journeys
Book In Advance
More Info
$61.01*
and up
Walter Peak Gourmet BBQ Lunch
Ranked #3 of 24 Food & Drink in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Disembark the vintage TSS Earnslaw Steamship at Walter Peak High Country Farm, relax in the stunning lakeside setting and enjoy a gourmet barbecue lunch at the Colonel's Homestead Restaurant. Choose from a variety of succulent meats cooked on the outdoor rotisserie or grill, a selection of salads, vegetables and breads. Then finish your meal with a scrumptious dessert or two. Gain an insight into rural farm life with the farm demonstration in the Woolshed or explore the gardens before your return cruise. Departs Queenstown.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Port Macquarie
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great cruise to a beautiful location”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

An enjoyable cruise on the TSS Earnslaw takes you to a lovely location at Walter Peak and a substantial lunch awaits at the Homestead.After lunch it was off to see a great sheep shearing demonstration.The whole day was good value for money and and the scenery during the cruise is unbelievable.
Wendy

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyPortMacquarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    92
    7
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This is a nice place to visit. Getting there itself is a nice journey as you have to board a steamship which is as old as the Titanic across Lake Wakatipu and it takes approximately 45 minutes to reach the farm. Opt for the buffet lunch at Colonel Homestead at the farm. The shepherd there does demonstrate how the sheep have their wool sheared.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Nk485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
285 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Nice piece of history”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We did this trip earlier this week while staying in Queenstown. The boat is large - with lots of space to sit, drink, eat or get up and enjoy the view. The front deck was very cool on the voyage out to the farm but there was plenty of room inside in the warm for everyone despite the large number of passengers. The observation area on the main deck, of the steam engine working was a great way to see how the boat is run and of course you can see it up close and personal from down below. Once the boat is moving there is free movement over it everywhere.
The boat travels up the lake some 30 minutes before stopping in at a working sheep farm.We chose the lunch special which was a barbeque served in the function room area. Nice buffet lunch served inside the main building with fires keeping everyone warm. After lunch was a demo of how the dogs herd the sheep followed by a shearing demonstration. The show was interesting, amusing and educational.
Set in a picturesque part of the lake, the time on land was very enjoyable with the return voyage back to Queenstown finishing off a very pleasant day on the water.

Well organised with friendly staff - we would recommend this attraction to anyone visiting Queenstown wanting to get out on the lake at a nice leisurely pace.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank cruizin42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Day Out...”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

When we first planned the Queenstown trip, the cruise aboard the TSS steamship wasn't one of them. I have read about the cruise in trip advisor and during our flight to NZ, one of the magazines recommended this cruise as the no. 1 thing to see/do in Queenstown. So we got ourselves booked for the cruise and Walter Peak High Country Farm excursion on our free day.

The cruise was full but the scenery was breathtaking. Couldnt stop taking pictures while the ship made its way to Walters Peak Farm. Lunch was buffet served on the Colonel's Homestead with the picturesque scenery for company. The food was alright, a bbq style buffet that keeps the stomach happy. This was then followed by excursion to the farm where we got up close and personal feeding the sheeps. It was our first time in close proximity with the sheeps and we had great fun feeding it, but the time given for the sheep feeding could have been longer given the number of people looking to feed the sheeps at the same time.

A demonstration of the sheperd dog rounding up the sheep and shearing of the merino sheep fur follows soon after. During the cruise back we chose to sit on the lower deck of the TSS Earnslaw enjoying the breeze and catching a glimpse of sunset, ocassionally snapping a few pics and catching short naps.

Definitely a recommended activity and one of our tour highlights. Might try the package with horse riding activity next time round...

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank JeffersonSoesetyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We went to Queenstown for the snow, but there wasn't much around. The day was beautiful so we headed out for the full Earnslaw cruise, Walter Peak Farm, and BBQ Lunch. The cruise is a constant succession of incredible views, the Farm Experience is excellent, and the generous lunch buffet is very tasty.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gareth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walter Peak Farm & Gourmet BBQ Lunch - Real Journeys also viewed

 

Been to Walter Peak Farm & Gourmet BBQ Lunch - Real Journeys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing