We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nomads Queenstown Hostel
Nearby Hotels
$164
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Oaks Club Resort(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$175
$137
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness center
Mercure Resort Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$110
$105
Mercure
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Scenic Suites Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$156
$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crowne Plaza Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$172
$144
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$151
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$140
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa del Lago(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$360
$333
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Whistler Holiday Apartments(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$137
$133
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,002)
Filter reviews
1,002 results
Traveler rating
440
329
119
68
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
440
329
119
68
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree dinnerkiwi experiencetravel deskprivate roomthe kitchencinema roomfree toastgreat locationbed dormfemale dormcommon roomshared balconycommon areasown bathroomfree wifimiddle of townlight sleeper
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
620 - 625 of 1,002 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights through the Kiwi Experience and it was pretty good. Being a dry hostel, they are very strict on no booze in the hostel but that's understandable. Kitchen is good, free breakfast and snack dinner every night and always kept clean too. Bathrooms were fully working and kept clean, showers were nice and hot.
Location is perfect, just a few minutes walk to the main bars and food outlets.
Overall a lovely stay, friendly staff made it worthwhile too.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Pete2591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Stayed here when I first arrived in Queenstown, The staff were friendly enough and the location is great - right in the middle of the town! My room was right next to a club so music was loud and didnt get much sleep. The kitchen was TINY so had to fight for equipment and stoves when cooking. Would only recommend this hostel for short term and people just travelling through and planning on going out every night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeatherT90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Hostel facilities and location is brilliant, right in the centre of Queenstown. Had a double room which was practically hotel standard, had a great balcony too. Staff really helpful and 24hr reception is a bonus.

Room Tip: Private double/triple is worth the extra dollars!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

The Staff are Friendly and very welcoming when you arrive. They also go out of their way to help you out. The hostel itself is clean, It has everything you need, Free meals and Breakfast with your stay, TV room, Awesome lounge and kitchen area. Just overall awesomeness! You should stay here! do it!

Room Tip: I stayed in a private room with my Girlfriend which is better than most hotels or Motels in NZ. Everyone in the hostel that was staying in a dorm was also really happy with their rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyAnnable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

The location of the hostel is great. So is the atmosphere amongst the people who stay here... Every day they have a special which involves either free food, drinks, games, etc... Prices for a double room with private bathroom are around 100NZ$ (Price dropped within 2 mins from 130NZ$ after asking for a cheaper place in the area). Rooms and balconies are nice though I had to fix the pipe of the basin as it was clogged.
The staff is a bit of a challenge...
There are two types of staff in the Nomads:
1) The patronising ones who should look for a job at an elementary school.
2) The cooperative grown ups which should take over.

The room on our right was booked by "older" people. The room on our left hosted a party. Mid twens knocked on the door in a 10 min rythm. It was very active! We didn't complain as it was still before 10 p.m. and we didn't see a reason. At the end of the day it is a hostel - not a 5* spa hotel. My friend used oropax for his rest / I was surfing the interenet (which was only working properly if you were sitting on the aisle next to the hot spot on the third floor). By the time one of category 1 staff arrived - due to complaints by our "older" neighbours - the party was over and we were blamed for the noise of the last 2 hours. My friend had a shower while I tried to explain the situation. After she left he screamed through the bathroom door to ask what was going on. The staff was standing outside eavesdropping through our door and suddenly came in again without any knocking. Just entered and walked in to tell us that we were the problem. A bit annoying.

At night when we came home there was another guy doing his control walk on the floors to check if everything was ok. In this very moment we came home and he saw us talking in front of our door telling us right away to get in. "I heard about your room!" This was recorded on some kind of report.

The morning after we wanted to stay another night. The lady at the reception blamed us again for the noise, asked us which nationality we were and that we would only be allowed to stay there if we were behaving properly. Again I tried to explain the situation with the result that we were kicked out with a big smile on here face. A very weird behaviour... "Actually, you know what... We don't want you to stay any longer. You have 30 mins to check out!"

Another employee at the reception was so kind to store our baggage for the rest of the day.

In general the place is quite cool. New building, activity agency on the ground floor, good community fun, good location... Just dont get involved with the wrong staff then you will enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: 3rd floor with private bathroom for 100NZ$ (after negotiation)
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews