We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
Cobourg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great hostel”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I stayed in many hostels during a recent trip to Australia and New Zealand and this was one of the better ones. It's quite new, clean and the room was very comfortable with more room than your average hostel room. We even had a very small balcony and a rack to dry clothes on when we did laundry. The kitchen area was crowded at times but very functional and the location is perfect. No, there's no free wifi but very few places offer that. They have a free breakfast and supper which I didn't manage to get to but I heard pickings were pretty small. It's better than nothing :)

Room Tip: 4 person female dorm with the ensuite was really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlpineResortRiceLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    266
    87
    48
    32
See reviews for
34
148
252
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I ended up to this hostel for a couple of nights because the one I liked was already full. The dorm I was put into was disgusting, I could hardly walk to my bed. It is the best hostel to stay if you are a party animal, you dont need to sleep, you dont mind dirty room and showers and that you dont mind seing people puke everywhere in the middle of the night. There is always music or someone speaking in the speakers, so its pretty hard to have quiet time. They come in the room couple times at night to look for alchool, and morning to tell people to check out, so basically you cant sleep or relax in that hostel. Two girls in my dorm came back with random guys each night making the others feel very uncomfortable staying there. My room was really hot, and of course the window could no open and the AC was not working. I had to put 3 times 4$ in the dryer for my clothes to be dry, and was told to use another one when I mention the problem at front desk. Staff wasnt very helpful. No free wifi. The only good point is basically the location. Please, just stay somewhere else if you are an adult.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre B, General Manager at Nomads Queenstown Backpackers, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Hello,

Thank you so much for your feedback! Staff should always be proactive in making sure any issues you have are solved for you straight away while you are staying at the hostel.
I apologise if you feel this was not the case. Unfortunately other guests behaviour we can't control but if you had advised the staff on reception at the time, we would of definitely tried to rectify the situation for you. Thanks again for your feedback.


Kind regards
Management @ Nomads Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Stayed for three nights in a double ensuite room Little did I know that there no windows in the room. No sunlight or fresh air. The staff was anything but helpful. Figure out stuff on your own in the hostel as the staff is too busy indulging in fun themselves! Specifically ask for rooms that have windows else please STAY away, I know how it feels imprisoned and wouldn't want others to suffer and pay money for that!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PArrorra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre B, General Manager at Nomads Queenstown Backpackers, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Hello,

Thank you so much for your feedback! We understand that feedback is an important part of improving our services for our guests. I only wish that staff were advised on reception at the time so we could have fixed the problem while you were still here. The taff do have fun, but they also work very hard for all guests who stay at Nomads.

Kind regards
Management @ Nomads Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

This is a great hostel, it was better then any hotel we had stayed in during our backpacking trip. All the rooms and common areas are new and well kept. The location is perfect being right next to the park and a short walk to shopping, restaurants, ect.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bamabreeze45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre B, General Manager at Nomads Queenstown Backpackers, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Hello,

Thank you so much for your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and wish you all the best for your future travels. Look forward to having you back again one day :)

Kind regards
Management @ Nomads Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I was looking for a place that will have a good location to the town center and fare fees. So I decide to stay at the Nomads and I have to say that it was a the best decision, the room was clean and nice, the staff friendly and very helpful. Everything is just in a waking distance.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrIs802014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre B, General Manager at Nomads Queenstown Backpackers, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Hello,

Thank you so much for your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and wish you all the best for your future travels. Look forward to having you back again one day :)

Kind regards
Management @ Nomads Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Nomads was a great hostel! Perfect location to anywhere you wanted to go in Queenstown.
The room was unbelievably clean, and cleaned every day. The only downside was that the doona covers were not changed after people would sleep in them.
However, the sheets were and pillow case was changed along with vacuuming everyday.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Although, after 7pm the doors were locked and the only people allowed into the hostel were people staying there. So after coming home from a night out you had to show them your key card to prove you were staying there, which was frustrating.
They served a very simple dinner and breakfast, but it was free so perfect!

All in all, the best hostel in Queenstown.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BurgeySmallz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre B, General Manager at Nomads Queenstown Backpackers, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Hello,

Thank you so much for your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and wish you all the best for your future travels. Unfortunately it can be a hassle to show your card each time after hours, but it is also for the security of all staying in the hostel. Look forward to having you back again one day :)

Kind regards
Management @ Nomads Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Visiting Queenstown is always a pleasure, but when I walked into my room here it got just a little bit more - well, comfortable to say the least !
Wickedly funny staff and easily the most amazing hostel I`ve stayed in in NZ - right in town - great bars , restaurants and cafe's just on the doorstep and if you want to do any one of the plethora of activities here then the travel desk is phenomenally equipped with knowledgeable staff and all the literature and info you need .
They do a free meal every night which is great home cooked food .

Room Tip: A short walk to the amazing views on the lakefront at night or first thing for sunrise or sunset !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChilliCarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre B, General Manager at Nomads Queenstown Backpackers, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Hello,

Thank you so much for your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and wish you all the best for your future travels. Look forward to having you back again one day :)

Kind regards
Management @ Nomads Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
1,452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
#6 of 58 in Queenstown
432 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomads Queenstown Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Queenstown Backpackers

Property: Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
Address: 5-11 Church Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 92 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Nomads Queenstown Backpackers 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers is located in the heart of Queenstown, New Zealands popular South Island holiday city. Designed with all budget travelers in mind this purpose built backpackers hostel has a variety of room types from small and large dorms with or without ensuite to private ensuite rooms with wide screen Sky TV.All dorm rooms at Nomads Queenstown Backpackers have storage lockers and individual bedside reading lights and many of the rooms have balconies with views of Queenstowns lake or mountains ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nomads Queenstown Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing