We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed here with a friend and it was our first time in a backpackers and it was the best experience! We stayed in a 4 girls dorm with ensuite. The hostel was always very clean and the staff were super friendly. You always had a smile and hello from the staff at reception when you walked in and always helpful. The rooms were comfortable and I liked how the shower and toilet were seperate (very handy when a group of girls were trying to get ready). Our room faced the mountain and there was a bar behind that were quite noisy on some nights but you could get free earplugged from reception and the noise wasn't an issue. The hostel was perfectly located right near the centre of town you could walk to everything. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda_0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (862)
There are newer reviews for Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

690 - 696 of 862 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

A friend and I stayed 4 nights in a mixed ensure dorm. Had a fantastic time, rooms were clean and warm and the beds and pillows were comfortable!

Staff were extremely helpful and the planned activities were great!

The security there is really good so you will always be safe and it's close to everything! We didn't use the kitchen but the common areas were really nice!

Definitely reccommend staying here if your in Queenstown!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chichi6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I would totally stay here again just to be greeted by the staff. Amazing customer service, you can tell they like their job, as some backpackers I've stayed at, it look like they just wanted to be put out of their misery.
Free meals, popcorn, entertainment. It's a very very well run, CLEAN, friendly hostel. In a fantastic building. Absolutely recommend!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0ve2Travel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I was in Queenstown for nearly two weeks and stayed here the entire time. The hostel is brand new so everything is pristine. There are free meals during the week and the common area is great for meeting people. Some of the balconys overlook the lake others the mountains so it's a win win :) the hostel is 2 minutes walk to the beach and same to the bars, overall a fab hostel in a fab town! I'll be staying here again :)

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a balcony, try to request one that does - you'll get some fab snaps!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claret29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Loved my two stays at nomads. Once in jan and then again in sept for the skiing. They are always helpful with luggage, info and any travel plans. The first time there was a problem with my booking, their fault so they gave me a room by myself with an ensuite for the full stay no extra charge... Loved it! The second time had a nice stay in a 6 person dorm. Always clean and always nice to stay but what I've seen. Fun night time activities too...very funny blindfolded pub crawl!!

Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
Thank Annabananna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

So last year absolutely loved our stay. This time we stayed in a 4 bedroom all girls dorm (travelling with 4) with ensuite and iv got to say wasnt as impressed.
We were on the backside of the building this time and ear plugs were essential (free but essential).
We really enjoyed that the shower and toilet had been separated so you had access to one or the other. The sinks however were a joke. They have a shelf over the top so to spit in the sink post teeth brushing you have to shove your head under.
The bunk beds were funny but I was not on the top haha. Not alot of room for luggage (id suggest those bags that are shells which split down the middle so you can fit it under the bed).
We also didnt have a TV which sucked. And no bedside tables or anything and the aircon took a few nights to figure out the right temperature to sleep in as would freeze or boil. Very clean and modern.
Would stay again but not rave revues this time around. Staff werent as over whelmingly lovely as last year but still great but the trip organisers were lovely!
A wonderful location and for $300 for 12 nights was happy with what we got.

Room Tip: Rooms on lane side are really noisy with dubstep all night felt in your chest.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 13amBam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I'm not the biggest fan of hostels.... but this was great!
We were staying in a 4 share private room with ensuite and we all knew each other (on the 3rd floor).
Everything was new. Room included a mounted LCD tv (with cable and reception would play new release movies each night) fridge, kettle, etc.
The bathroom was newly renovated. Room was warm (it was July) and we also had a split cycle air conditioning unit just in case we got cold.
Located centrally to everything! Big common room. The staff were super friendly and helpful, and their 24 hour reception was VERY strict on not letting anyone in after 7pm without showing their room key.
Internet is expensive here and wifi was about $4 for an hour, even if using your own device. I think wifi is pretty exxy anywhere in NZ though - I would suggest if you own a iphone to just get a data sim - $10 bought us 300mb each.

Room Tip: Level 2 is rather loud - consisting of all shared rooms. Level 3 much quieter!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley Kate Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 58 in Queenstown
1,466 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
#8 of 58 in Queenstown
443 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eichardt's Private Hotel
Eichardt's Private Hotel
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomads Queenstown Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Queenstown Backpackers

Address: 5-11 Church Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 92 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: $36 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Nomads Queenstown Backpackers 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers is located in the heart of Queenstown, New Zealands popular South Island holiday city. Designed with all budget travelers in mind this purpose built backpackers hostel has a variety of room types from small and large dorms with or without ensuite to private ensuite rooms with wide screen Sky TV.All dorm rooms at Nomads Queenstown Backpackers have storage lockers and individual bedside reading lights and many of the rooms have balconies with views of Queenstowns lake or mountains ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nomads Queenstown Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing