We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Routeburn Track day walk with Errol”

Guided Walks New Zealand - Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$82.89*
and up
Lake Wakatipu Nature Walking Tour from Queenstown
More Info
$151.32*
and up
Backcountry Snowshoeing Tour from Queenstown
More Info
$303.41*
and up
Ultimate Nature Experience from Queenstown: Dart River Jet Boat Ride and Lake...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: "EVERY STEP A STORY....” It’s our privilege to take you into some of the most beautiful and spectacular areas in the Queenstown and Fiordland region to experience everything from glacial valleys and majestic mountains to beautiful lakes and pristine rainforest. Our friendly, knowledgeable local guides ensure you have the time to enjoy the whole experience nature has provided. We’ve chosen our range of walks for their natural history, scenic beauty, remote locations and varied terrain. We’re proud of our company's reputation for providing friendly, informative and personalised guided walks for small groups, and working to make Guided Walks NZ the most memorable part of your New Zealand experience. Why choose Guided Walks NZ? The answer’s simple – we’re the only guiding company permitted to walk "off track" in the National Park. This means we avoid the crowds and experience a true 'wilderness' walk, letting you see and touch the real New Zealand. Guided Walks since 1868
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
“Routeburn Track day walk with Errol”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We had a great time on the Routeburn Track with Errol as our guide. He is informative, entertaining and we learned a lot in the time we spent on the track. The track is well maintained and makes for an easy hike in some beautiful scenery.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Curtis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    19
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, AZ
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Routeburn track”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had an incredible day with our guide Errol on this walk. He was so well informed and adjusted the route according to our level and desires. This is no one size fits all outfit. The scenery was astounding, the trail very well maintained and Errol made it a trip to remember.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tracy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Routeburn Track day walk”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were lucky enough to have Errol as our guide on this fabulous day walk. He was very knowledgeable about birds, animal, geology, history, and everything else New Zealand. It was definitely worth the money to have a private guide for my husband and I. He could not have been more personal, professional, and attentive, and this walk was one of the highlights of our trip.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
“Day walk of Routeburn trek”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

It was a perfect walk with as a group of five. We were picked up from our hotels in Queenstown and from there on in the day was excellent. The guide, Errol kept us informed with plenty of lore and legends and answered our questions intelligently. he managed to get a good vibe g.oing in the group and was a responsible and safety minded guide without being too restrictive. He was excellent at finding birds and pointing them out. He brought water and lunch for us and I thoroughly enjoyed every minute. The walk is round trip 16 kilometers. We were back in Queenstown at 5 pm.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Violet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic guide in a wonderful piece of nature”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Spending the day on the Routeburn track was already great by itself, but sharing it with our guide Peter was just incredible. His knowledge of the surroundings brought our experience to another level. The two of us and Peter spent the entire time asking questions, laughing and enjoying the moment. He helped us took the best shots we could've hoped for and led us out of the usual track to show us even more hidden gems that you can find on the Routeburn track.
I would recommend everyone who wants not just to walk on a nice track, but to really make the most of it, taking their time and getting what nature has to offer to go on a guided walk with Peter.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWNZ, Owner at Guided Walks New Zealand - Day Tours, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Hi Fabien,

I'm so glad that you enjoyed your walk with us, it means a lot to me. I understand how important it is that everything you do on your vacation is fun and memorable, because that's what I would expect from my vacation. Thanks for taking the time to write back to us, I hope you had a great journey back home. Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guided Walks New Zealand - Day Tours also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Guided Walks New Zealand - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing