We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:30 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from GO Orange tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience GO Orange
from $139.60
More Info
from $167.70
More Info
from $237.90
More Info
from $34.40
More Info
Reviews (916)
Filter reviews
872 results
Traveler rating
633
161
46
19
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
633
161
46
19
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews queenstown rafting white water rafting shotover river rafting guide great fun actual rafting safety briefing wet suits start point helicopter ride beautiful river an adventure new zealand a lot of fun thanks guys great trip great afternoon
Filter
Updating list...
295 - 300 of 872 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2016 via mobile

We had reserved Family Adventures but they cancelled due to low attendance. What a blessing! We went down the road to Queenstown rafting and signed up.

Our guide, Raju, was simply terrific. He has 12 years of rafting experience around the world, and this is typical of their guides. They really know this river which enabled us to have so much fun and enjoy watching the rapids as we went through. Shotover is the best for rafting with enough rapids to keep it fun and places to swim and a tunnel to raft through.

Highly recommend this company.

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank gpm58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2016

Our family of 4 (2 teenagers) enjoyed a fantastic day of rafting on the Shotover River during our stay in Queenstown in early Jan. From the incredible bus trip through Skippers Canyon to the kitting out and comprehensive safety briefing, everything moved seamlessly along and all the staff seemed thoroughly professional, whilst still maintaining that essential element of fun. Once on the raft, our guide Kevin was superb and I can honestly say, having rafted in a few places, I felt in better hands with him than I ever have before. As someone who has gone over the side of a raft in the past, these things are pretty important to me and his calm and knowledgeable approach filled us all with confidence. The river was pretty low so the rapids weren't running at full potential, but even so, we got a great ride, had a swim, had a laugh and all came out wanting more. Thanks guys, you have a great operation here & I really hope to be back before too long, or maybe I'll track Kevin down to West Virginia and give that a go - it sounded real fun!!

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank mike p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueenstownRafting, Front Office Manager at GO Orange, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

You have summed up our Shotover trip beautifully and we are extremely glad that you and your family had fun. Our guides are our biggest assets with plenty of experience and knowledge and you kind words will fuel their motivation. It is raining in Queenstown as i write this and the rapids are back in action.

I will surely pass on your good word to Kevin and tell him you are waiting for him. Keep calm and paddle on!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2016

We did the Kawarau river. There are not many rapids, and if anything is a relaxing drift down the river. Plenty of chances to jump in the water and float down which is fun (the water is cold but the wetsuit largely insulates you from that). The guides are excellent and will take photos for you ($25-$45 packages). On this river it would be highly unlikely for you to fall out of the raft. You get about 1.5 hours on the water all up, but I felt $219 per person was a bit much for this activity (which is the standard price across both rafting companies - I suspect they are run by the same people).

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank raypierce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2016

It's not Colorado, but it was a short, convenient and fun trip. We had a really strong guide on our raft, but I'm not sure everybody was in as capable of hands as we were. But the waters were not too rough, and the trip was short but sweet.

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank Rebecca V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2016

We thought rafting in Queenstown was a must and the best place to do rafting in NZ. For that reason we were never dissappointed, when the wildest ride(grade 3-5) were quite easy. The guides were excellent, but the safety briefment made it seem a lot wilder than it were. At no point did we feel like we could have fallen out of the boat. At all the raids/bumps, we were told to sit tight and hold on, taking all the fun out of it. The ride were quite long, like 2-2,5 hours and the bus trip to the starting point were surprisingly very interesting.

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank MikkelMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueenstownRafting, Front Office Manager at GO Orange, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

The safety briefing we do is intended to be elaborate so that you are well prepared for any eventuality in the rapids. You should be glad that you didn't have to put it to much use. Believe me you would much rather have an uneventful trip and feel like you are not going to fall out rather than actually falling out and have your breath knocked out in the rapids. If you read the previous comment the guest has applauded us for the instructional briefing as it helped him tackle the rapids better.

Our trips start with a 40 minute ride through skippers canyon which is an excursion in itself taking you through a site which is majestic and rich in its history. Other companies make that a tour in itself. And then the rafting is for another 2hrs which makes us very good value for money among other activities on offer in Queenstown.

We are sorry that you did not feel the same way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews