We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great idea, don't know why I haven't seen something like this before!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Winery

The Winery
Book In Advance
More Info
$42.42*
and up
Wine and Cheese Tasting in Queenstown
Ranked #1 of 13 Nightlife in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Winery is the largest tasting of New Zealand's best wines in the world . . . . taste over 80 wines in one place. There's no need for hours of travel to visit a few local wineries. The Winery is located right in the centre of Queenstown and is the only place where you can taste award winning, single vineyard and reserve wines sourced from boutique wineries across New Zealand. Choose the wines you taste; with the simple push of a button you can serve yourself either a taste, half or full glass. Over 700 wines are stocked so you can buy your favourite wines and ship them to over 30 countries with our door-to-door delivery service. Relax and unwind in the comfort of the leather lounge chairs as you enjoy award-winning local cheeses with delicious platters of salami's, breads and olive oils. 8 New Zealand, Scottish and Irish single malt Whisky's can also be tasted and the "Honey Hive" is a specialist Manuka honey store, all within The Winery.
Retford
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great idea, don't know why I haven't seen something like this before!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Over 80 wines under one roof to try (or get drunk on). What's not to like?! You can also get cheese platters to go with your wine.

Guides were helpful, you get given a card which is like a tab, then choose a wine you want to try (all sectioned into their own area, and then a description of each wine) and choose dispensing size - taste, half glass or full glass, and each wine shows its price, and updates your card with how much you've spent every time you get a new wine.

Great idea, great atmosphere, they also have a few whisky's to try as well, but no other spirits.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank KimShibbyBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    136
    16
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“great guides great fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

we travelled with 3 other couples and we had a great time with the guides. I am a novice when it comes to wine and everyone was easy going and the vineyards were wonderful. Really worth a try.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank mathewmathew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Relaxed sophistication”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

A great place and a great way to taste New Zealand wines. They supply a card that you load with as much credit as you like and off you go. Each variety is hooked into the electronic pouring system ... you put your card into the slot and then choose which of three serving sizes of wine you want. What we did was to work our way around, having tasting sizes of wines that interested us, then we ordered a cheeseboard, accompanied by a full serving of the wine we liked most. Those armchairs are very comfy! Other good points: the staff are very helpful and there's no pressure; they will ship overseas, but for Australians, it's complicated, so what we did in the end was to put our half dozen - suitably protected - in our luggage - it was easier and cheaper that way; also, they have a list of Queenstown restaurants that accept BYO from Wine Tastes. We discovered a good restaurant from this list that we probably would otherwise have missed. Definitely the most relaxed and sophisticated tasting I've ever done!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Gilnockie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fine treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Gibbston Valley provides an opportunity to learn and feel the wine making and enjoying a great experience. The members of the family take great pride in showing you around, explaining and making you feel a part of the process. Unforgettable tasting.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank deshuashok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shore City, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Way to spend an afternoon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We came down from the Luge and decided to visit Wine Tastes. We purchased a 'Deluxe Cheese Platter' and made very good use of our electronic wine tasting card... We tried a few of each grape varietal in 25ml servings before settling on a favourite and having a larger glass. They also have Whisky, Port, Rum to try.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank stitterrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Winery also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to The Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing