We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice dinner but please, add side dishes for the price!”
Review of Botswana Butchery

Botswana Butchery
Ranked #22 of 257 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $36 - $109
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Rohnert Park, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice dinner but please, add side dishes for the price!”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Great atmosphere, decor and service. Make advance reservations for high season or weekends! My starter was a pear, walnut and spinach salad which was probably the best salad I ever had. My husband absolutely loved his French onion soup. We both had fillet steaks and garlic mashed potatoes. The steak was excellent but I have to honestly say it wasn't the best I ever had and the potatoes weren't that exciting. The steak looked very lonely on the plate. Every side is billed separately and I thought it would have been nice to have those served with the already pricey entree. Still, a very fun place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank twigaduma2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,673
    509
    229
    105
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
149 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Top notch”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

This was recommended by a local resident and we booked the night before asking for a patio table. The receptionist suggested an inside table by some french doors that they could close if the weather was cold. A great bit of advice as it poured with rain and we still had a table with a view. The waiting staff are good and knowledgeable about the menu. We ordered oysters and scallops for our starters and Fillet steak and lamb for mains. I was beginning to doubt we were going to find any top notch food in Queenstown but this place restored our faith. So, good quality simple ingredients, well cooked and served in a friendly and efficient style. Great place. It does all come at a price though. I thought it was worth it but our bill was $275 with a pre dinner drink and a modest bottle of wine. It was only one of two restaurants on South Island that put a "service not included" note on the bill.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yarrow1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“a great night out”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

if I was to be anywhere around the globe, I would look for a restaurant just like botswana. they have excellent food, great range of drinks, great engagement from staff, the whole lot!
Definitely recommend it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Memorable night out!!”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We had an amazing dinner.... Fantastic food, great cocktails & wine list & extremely personable/attentive service. All menu options were well received by our diners!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overrated and overpriced”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

When a business is overrated and over commercialized, service and quality will deteriorate and eventually not worth the value of $ if proper management is not in place. And this is how this place has become. Was highly recommended to dine here but food quality and taste was only average and service was neither accommodating. Nothing spectacular for me.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daniel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Botswana Butchery also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Botswana Butchery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing