We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 100 year old steam loco”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kingston Flyer - CLOSED

Kingston Flyer
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
Attraction details
ballina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great 100 year old steam loco”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The return trip from Kingston to Fairlight on the 100 yr old Kingston Flyer is a real treat.
The scenary along the way and the sound of steam makes this one of the best steam hauled trips you can make if you are a steam train lover.
It starts at Kingston, about a one hour drive from Queenstown in New Zealand and at this end hasa great little cafe.
The rolling stock are all from the same period and it is the only steam hauled train operating on the original line for all that time.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank soteri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    21
    11
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
410 reviews
120 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Worth the journey”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The drive from Queenstown takes about 40 minutes but then you can relax and enjoy a round trip on this old steam train for a couple of hours. It has an interesting history which you can uncover at Kingston station whist enjoying a coffee in the cafe before leaving. We went into the guards van for the first leg and watched the track disappear behind us and then switched to the other end of the train for the return journey where you can actually stand outside the carriage. Pleased we decided to return straight back rather than hang around Fairlight for a few hours as there is nothing there that we could see except the station. The footplate crew are happy to let you climb up to take picture of the engine from inside and our guard for the ride, Gloria, was so friendly she helped make the trip

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank geordie9Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“ripped off”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We pre booked online and paid our money only to get a email reply to say the flyer was not working.
The email advised to contact to change the date, I emailed to advise we were only there for xmas and wanted a refund.
With no answer we decided to visit the site to get our money back
It was closed with no conact details
When we returned to Australia we rang and sent more emails and have had NO RESPONSE
Please be warned about prebooking this company

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MSH35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Level Contributor
129 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A wonderful surprise”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were touring in the area and saw the unmistakable smoke and steam of a vintage locomotive. We were able to see the train, but not to ride this time. The station at Kingston has a very good tea room / restaurant. As well as taking the trip, you can see the servicing and turning of the beautifully restored 1927 locomotive.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Steamtrain”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The Kingston Flyer is a fabulous train and beautifully restored. You can walk through the train and take pictures for a small donation. There are options to go for a ride in second class or go first class with a drink and a meal. We thought these options were a bit expensive but if you were a steam buff you would want to do it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TrishCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kingston Flyer also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing