We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flame Bar and Grill

Flame Bar and Grill
Ranked #20 of 254 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $28
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Bar, Barbecue, New Zealand, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: With some of the best views in Queenstown, Flame is Queenstown's unique African grill-house. Flame, a small family owned steak house offers quality food and excellent service in a vibrant and intimate setting. This is a dining experience not to be missed. All our beef is grass fed from Southland and Otago and is aged for up to 6 weeks then flame-grilled in our secret basting resulting in it's unique flavour. Racks of ribs are served on a board and come supplied with a flame bib!! Seafood, chicken and vegetarian options are also catered for. Make sure you leave space for a Dom Pedro!! Flame will bring out the carnivore in you. Discover the taste of South Africa - A rare steakhouse, well done!
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

This place was recommended by a local. Although we went for a late lunch, we had to wait a bit for a table. Didn't find this a negative though because the food was worth the wait. We were lucky enough to get a table on their narrow balcony overlooking the lake.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ParkerChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant and Dawn S, Manager at Flame Bar and Grill, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Queenstown is flooded with tourists in the peak Summer & Winter seasons but it is the locals who keep businesses flourishing year round. We at Flame are lucky to have & very proud of our local following & it is the great food & service we provide which keeps people coming back time & time again. We are glad that you took the recommendation & were pleasantly surprised by what Flame had to offer. A prime location in central Queenstown with beautiful food to match the beautiful scenery. Certainly worth a short wait for a table & we are glad you agree.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,416
    551
    152
    57
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth the visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

My husband is a "meat freak" so this place was his dream restaurant.Well priced, efficient friendly service and food cooked to perfection. Will definately visit again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ma I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant and Dawn S, Manager at Flame Bar and Grill, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Flame is certainly an ideal restaurant for the meat lover & we are glad you & your husband enjoyed Ma L. Unlike other restaurants we not only strive to cook the best meat cuts to every customer's specific taste, but provide it with a unique flavour of South African influenced secret basting. This teamed with our large portions is what sets us apart. We are proud to call ourselves a "Rare Steak House Well Done" & this is what we advocate when serving every meal from the grill. Furthermore our friendly staff will go out of their way to make sure your entire experience is as great as the food you receive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Farewell dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Simply the best...awesome menu..awesome hospitality...awesome location...we shall return for sure and recommend this place to everyone who cares to listen and we have photos to prove it.....

Helpful?
Thank Shane I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant and Dawn S, Manager at Flame Bar and Grill, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Please share your photographs with us on our Facebook page Shane; we would love to see them. Thank you for the great feedback. We are lucky to have such a superb spot in the heart of Queenstown providing spectacular views of the Remarkables & Lake Wakatipu. The perfect setting for a hearty meal & plenty of choice on the menu for all. Quality of food would be nothing without good service to match though & the Flame team are so glad we made you feel at home & provided you with an all round enjoyable hospitality experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
336 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Nice food, fun ambience but slow service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

We went when there was a wedding party and a stag night. The place was packed and with good vibes, but the food took forever. 50 mins to get the starters and another 45 for the mains.
The little balcony is lovely, get a table there if you can.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Granduelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant and Dawn S, Manager at Flame Bar and Grill, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for your comments Graduelle. We are pleased you embraced the spirit & ambiance of Flame & enjoyed our scenic location. Our humblest apologies for any delays on your food - as you pointed out yourself - the evening you dined with us was a particularly busy one for Flame as we were the host of two large functions. Unfortunately your entree order came through just as we were serving out the orders for the 58 people dining for the wedding party; hence the delay. Fortunately your main order came out in less than 10 minutes. We strive to provide service that is as friendly & efficient as possible at all times so thank you for your feedback. This is something we can aim to improve on in the future. However, we are happy it did not take away from your overall Flame experience & invite you to dine with us again so that we can provide you with more prompt delivery of delicious Flame specialties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Great place to eat some meat. Lots of meat. Very tasty food. And very friendly staff. Excellent.
I had t-bone steak once and ribs second time and they were cooked just the way it should be.
You'd better make a booking before your visit because the place is very popular.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Grant and Dawn S, Manager at Flame Bar and Grill, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
It is wonderful that you enjoyed our restaurant so much that you dined with us twice during your stay in Queenstown trip advisor member. It is also great that on both occasions you experienced the same high standard of food, large portions at reasonable prices plus welcoming & attentive service. This is exactly what we at Flame set out to achieve & provide for every customer when we opened & the popularity of the venue just goes to show how frequently we are delivering on that promise. You must try another one of our steaks on your next visit - if you can resist the Pork Ribs that is!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Flame Bar and Grill also viewed

 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Flame Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing