We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It still tastes awesome”

Flame Bar and Grill
Ranked #22 of 258 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $30
Cuisines: African, Barbecue, Seafood, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: With some of the best views in Queenstown, Flame is Queenstown's unique African grill-house. Flame, a small family owned steak house offers quality food and excellent service in a vibrant and intimate setting. This is a dining experience not to be missed. All our beef is grass fed from Southland and Otago and is aged for up to 6 weeks then flame-grilled in our secret basting resulting in it's unique flavour. Racks of ribs are served on a board and come supplied with a flame bib!! Seafood, chicken and vegetarian options are also catered for. Make sure you leave space for a Dom Pedro!! Flame will bring out the carnivore in you. Discover the taste of South Africa - A rare steakhouse, well done!
Seabeck
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“It still tastes awesome”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We had to go back to the Flame to see if the food still tastes as great as it did before. And what a surprise, it was still awesome. Steak, Chicken, BBQ, everything is so tasty. The service was a little under par compared to last year which was OK as it was still good and we had several excellent meals.
You do not want to sit on the covered balcony though as this is way to small to put people on and the way it is set up you get to know the people on the next table very well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wala69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,539
    585
    161
    63
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rack of Lamb Anyone ?”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Well on the recommendation of one of the staff at Coronation Lodge I decided to Visit Flame Bar and Grill. They have their menu listed out the front of the place so I thought I would check it out, after going through all the items I thought why not, lets go full up and get the Rack and boy was I not disappointed. This thing was awesome, it was big, it was filling and also wasn't that expensive. I highly recommend going here, their steaks are even excellent..

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goondiwindi
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ribs ribs ribs!!!”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

What more can I say but ribs ribs ribs!!! Absolutely THE BEST ribs I have ever had and I have eaten ribs in a lot of restaurants. I'd go back to Queenstown just for these ribs. Went twice in one week. Great service and friendly staff. Would recommend booking as one night we had to sit at the bar as the tables were booked out. The food still tastes the same no matter where you sit though.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovestogo001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best food we had in New Zealand”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Came highly recommended, so we tried it and were not disappointed! Fantastic food and cocktails, great service, beautiful location and view- loved it

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Essellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“fun place to eat”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

went here in october food was amazing chicken wings for starter were the largest chicken wings i have ever had. needed to share them ,i had a 1/2 rack of ribs next that i struggled with and my son had the whole rack and he eats everthing and he struggled,overall great atmosphere and would definetaly recommend

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alanfyfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flame Bar and Grill also viewed

 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Flame Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing