We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Succulent pork ribs in a busy restaurant”

Flame Bar and Grill
Ranked #22 of 257 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $29
Cuisines: African, Barbecue, Seafood, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: With some of the best views in Queenstown, Flame is Queenstown's unique African grill-house. Flame, a small family owned steak house offers quality food and excellent service in a vibrant and intimate setting. This is a dining experience not to be missed. All our beef is grass fed from Southland and Otago and is aged for up to 6 weeks then flame-grilled in our secret basting resulting in it's unique flavour. Racks of ribs are served on a board and come supplied with a flame bib!! Seafood, chicken and vegetarian options are also catered for. Make sure you leave space for a Dom Pedro!! Flame will bring out the carnivore in you. Discover the taste of South Africa - A rare steakhouse, well done!
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Succulent pork ribs in a busy restaurant”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This place is always busy. I was there at 12noon and it is almost a full house.

Lunch menu is of great value for money where some prices are almost half but the quality does not get compromised.

The famous pork ribs are truly some of the best you would have and nicely presented. Service is attentive considering they have to cater to a full house most of the time.

The balcony seating area offers good view of the Remarkables but tables are often taken up.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlexMcca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant and Dawn S, Manager at Flame Bar and Grill, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear AlexMcca,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are very happy you enjoyed your time with us whilst here in Queenstown. We are a very busy steakhouse but always ensure that our food and service are held to the highest standards. Our lunch deals are definitely a big hit. With dishes starting at only $15 it is easy to see why. We have recently gone through a renovation and are proud to offer some of the best views in Queenstown. It never hurts to get in early and grab a great seat with a Remarkable view. We look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Flame Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,503
    572
    160
    62
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic steaks and a great atmosphere”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were lucky that the restaurant could accomodate our party of 6 with a rather late booking. We were not disappointed, my steak was amazing and the blue cheese sauce fantastic. Great selection of wines and a roaring fire. Even the garlic bread exceeded expectations. Warm but unobtrusive staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate14478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant and Dawn S, Manager at Flame Bar and Grill, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Kate14478,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are very happy to hear you had such a great time with us at Flame. We are a very busy steakhouse so we are happy that we could fit your party in. We pride ourselves on great steaks are very happy to hear you enjoyed yours so much. The Roquefort sauce is a perfect accompaniment to our steaks, and what a better way to start off your meal than with one of our famous Garlic breads! We look forward to having you back on your next visit to Queenstown.

Kind Regards,

Flame Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“steak house was a mis-steak!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

OK when going to a steak house the steak should be great right??? Ho Hum,
Although everything should of been really nice, something as a under seasoned steak denotes the whole point, cooking 101 get the seasoning right, esp. with steak otherwise its tastes like boiled pork.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Wow. This restaurant was amazing. Definitely for meat eaters but the food was fantastic. Super busy all the time but the service never faulted. Attentive and fast.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AndiM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant and Dawn S, Manager at Flame Bar and Grill, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear AndiM8,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are very happy you loved our restaurant so much! We are definitely a big hit amongst meat lovers. We are very busy this time of year but make sure that our food and our service never slow down or falter. We hope to see you back soon!

Kind Regards,

Flame Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A theme Restaurant”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

If you are a foodie don't dine here!
This place is full blokes who love meat and heaps of it. This was a great place to watch the action on the street below. My food was nicely done but nothing outstanding.
Asking id we wanted to tip on leaving I felt was very bad taste.
The lady taking our money was just going through a clearly well learned patter.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GolfCharlieCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant and Dawn S, Manager at Flame Bar and Grill, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear GolfCharlieCharlie,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are dissapointed to hear that your experience with us at Flame was not outstanding. Although we are not a "Theme" restaurant we are definitely a place where people can come and feed their inner carnivore. All of our meat is locally imported and prepared with fresh ingredients. We are definitely a big hit for blokes but also for anybody else who loves a great steak. We apologize you felt as if asking for gratuity was in bad taste. We assure you that was not our intentions. The main reason our Maitre D asks this question is that once the credit card is ran we can no longer add gratuity. We do not expect gratuity but it is always apprectiated. We hope to see you back soon on your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Flame Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flame Bar and Grill also viewed

 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Flame Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing