We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Ribs”

Flame Bar and Grill
Ranked #22 of 259 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $29
Cuisines: African, Barbecue, Seafood, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: With some of the best views in Queenstown, Flame is Queenstown's unique African grill-house. Flame, a small family owned steak house offers quality food and excellent service in a vibrant and intimate setting. This is a dining experience not to be missed. All our beef is grass fed from Southland and Otago and is aged for up to 6 weeks then flame-grilled in our secret basting resulting in it's unique flavour. Racks of ribs are served on a board and come supplied with a flame bib!! Seafood, chicken and vegetarian options are also catered for. Make sure you leave space for a Dom Pedro!! Flame will bring out the carnivore in you. Discover the taste of South Africa - A rare steakhouse, well done!
Wellington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome Ribs”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We had the meat platter to share and it was awesome! Probably could have fed three of us. The highlight was the ribs, great flavour.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MezWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant and Dawn S, Owner at Flame Bar and Grill, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear MezWellington,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We pride our selves on our well aged steaks that are local sourced here in the South Island of New Zealand, whilst bringing you a little taste Africa too. The ribs are always a favourite with their secret basting sauce that only the chef knows, and is one of our most popular dishes. Were so pleased to hear that you loved your meal! We do hope that we can welcome you back for another meal soon!

Kind Regards,
The Flame Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,534
    585
    161
    63
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“10 out if 10 experience.”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This was my 2nd time to visit Flame and it certainly did not dissapoint! From the moment we arrived the waitress was outstanding and super happy to accomodate all our drink and food requests. We were delighted when she confirmed that the barman made great Long Island Iced teas and she did not lie - they were outstanding! Then the food arrived and one word... WOW! The meat was cooked to perfection and every bite was delicious. Our guests loved the experience from beginning to end and confirmed that they would definitely be back. We would like to compliment Flame on a terrific job! Flame deserves to succeed and we will make sure we visit every trip to Queenstown.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rahui New Zeala... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant and Dawn S, Owner at Flame Bar and Grill, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Rahui,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are so happy you had such a great experience dining at Flame! We love our staff and we appreciate the positive feedback. We pride ourselves on our well aged steaks that are locally sourced here in the South Island of New Zealand, whilst bringing you a little taste Africa too. We are so pleased to hear that you loved your meal and we do hope that we can welcome you back for another meal soon!

Kind Regards,
The Flame Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best places for ribs”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

My partner loves ribs and he thoroughly enjoyed his half a rack of ribs along with bib attached by the waitress. I had a chicken burger which was also very tasty! Good friendly relaxed vibe.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank EbronDoherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant and Dawn S, Owner at Flame Bar and Grill, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear EbronDoherty,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We pride ourselves on our ribs with their secret basting sauce that only the chef knows the recipe and we hope brings you a little taste of Africa. We are so pleased to hear that you loved your meal and we do hope that we can welcome you back for another meal soon!

Kind Regards,
The Flame Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitianga, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing Fillet”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We dinned this past five days in Queenstown twice at Flame, not designed that way having dined their the first night to Fillet cooked to perfection an amazing salad and fast and efficient service but not rushed. Then two nights later our friends invited us to dine with them and took us to Flame, we did not let on we had dined their already as it gave us chance to try the ribs, OMG I have never seen such a large board of food and you feel how am I going to eat this, but once you start the delicious flavor takes over and you are hooked, next you look down and you are on the last rib. Well done the team at Flame for awesome food, great service, we enjoyed very much.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidinNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant and Dawn S, Owner at Flame Bar and Grill, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear DavidinNZ,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are so happy you had such a great experience dining at Flame! We pride ourselves on our well aged steaks that are locally sourced here in the South Island of New Zealand, whilst bringing you a little taste of Africa too. The ribs are always a favourite and are definitely in need of the bib! We are so pleased to hear that you loved your meal and we do hope that we can welcome you back for another meal soon!

Kind Regards,
The Flame Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The best steak I have ever had!”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We were told by a local lady that this was the place that the locals go to. I can see why. We were told to book and it was a good job we did the place was very busy. We had great service and the waiter was pleasant and funny. The food was fantastic. I had a fillet steak and it was the best I can remember eating. My wife had chicked in a sauce and she was very happy with her meal.
What more can I say great food,wonderful service great view, top night.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mathewmathew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant and Dawn S, Owner at Flame Bar and Grill, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Mathewmathew,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are so happy you had such a great experience dining at Flame! We pride ourselves on our well aged steaks that are locally sourced here in the South Island of New Zealand, whilst bringing you a little taste of Africa too. The ribs are always a favourite and are definitely in need of the bib! We are so pleased to hear that you loved your meal and we do hope that we can welcome you back for another meal soon!

Kind Regards,
The Flame Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flame Bar and Grill also viewed

 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Flame Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing