We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kiwi Discovery - Milford Sound DayTrip
Book In Advance
More Info
$136.11*
and up
Full-Day Milford Sound Discovery Day Trip from Queenstown
More Info
$119.39*
and up
Cardrona Ski Package Bus Lift and Rental from Queenstown
More Info
$146.00*
and up
1 Day Cardrona Ski Starter Pack
Ranked #68 of 159 Tours in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Milford Sound is the jewel of the South Island and a must see destination and Kiwi Discovery have been running trips to Milford Sound for over 25 years. Travel on the luxury coach with ample leg room and full commentary from Queenstown or Te Anau & ride in comfort as you take in the spectacular scenery. Once in Milford we join the Mitre Peak cruise boat, for that personal and up close experience. The boat does not take tour groups just "like minded independent travellers." So sit back and enjoy the complimentary tea and coffee and full commentary from our experienced guides as you learn the history of Fiordland National Park. A great value trip without the luxury price.
Useful Information: Stroller parking
1 review
“Hi”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic day very informative and presenters and staff awesome. Would definitely recommend for everyone visiting Queenstown to go and see.

Helpful?
Thank Janine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiwiDiscovery, Manager at Kiwi Discovery - Milford Sound DayTrip, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thanks Janine
Will pass on your comments to the whole team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    62
    13
    5
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Wonderful experience!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The driver was very knowledgeable and clever and was very careful in driving, especially on the way to Milford Sound. The road was through cliffs, and a tunnel. On our way to Milford Sound there was a mishap involving one of the cars. I think, they fell through the cliff but they were all right. Then there was this Aussie bloke travelling with his partner who asked about the Maori, whether they enjoy skiing or any snow sports. He was a typical Aussie bloke, so I did not mind him, but he turned out to be a really nice guy, just misunderstood sometimes. Love the scenery. It was raining and stormy that day, but it added to the adventure. Eglinton Valley was amazing! The mountains that we passed by on our way to Milford Sound are a rock climber's paradise. Then we had a group photo with everyone (all travellers on the upper deck) on board the boat. They feel like friends, but of course, I will not see them again. The boat captain was competent. I can say that, because it was stormy that day but we managed to return in one piece! In short, I recommend this trip with Kiwi Discovery.

Visited June 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank TravellingJo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiwiDiscovery, Front Office Manager at Kiwi Discovery - Milford Sound DayTrip, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Hi there, thank you for your review! Sounds like you had a great day in Milford with us, the drive in is spectacular and our drivers love sharing the beautiful scenery and their knowledge of the area with all the passengers. Sounds like their were some interesting characters on the bus too, great you meet some good people! Always nice sharing stories with fellow travelers! Thanks again for your comments on our trip & service that we provide :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow, India
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Small Boat Nature Cruise by Southern Discoveries”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

I booked th day trip to Milford sound through Kiwi Discoveries ad we were booked into Small Boat Nature Cruise by Southern Discoveries. Later on we realised hat Cruising on Milford sound on a small boat is better than on a large boat as the Boat Captain was able to negotiate boat better, like it took us nearer to rocks and waterfalls, which bigger boats were not able to do. We could even drench ourself in the fresh water from these falls.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank princeofcoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiwiDiscovery, Manager at Kiwi Discovery - Milford Sound DayTrip, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thanks for the review - we like the smaller boats too as you get a much more personal and closer trip to the waterfalls. For anyone reading this, luckily the sound is protected from the ocean waves and the boats we use (normally a Mitre Peak one) are quite sturdy and stable so even though you are on water the smaller boat does not rock and roll around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robina, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Fantastic drive through snow covered land. Advise you to purchase food package too.
Wonderful customer service. Changed the tour day to accommodate. The weather upset the apple cart.

Cafe in Te Anau needs a "shake up" . They must understand that they are NOT the only cafe in town and loose the monopoly attitude. Customer service is non existent waiting in line for 1 item as there was only one chaser available with a time restraint is not a nice experience! 1-2 buses arriving at the same time one can be in line for the whole 30 minute stop. And you wouldn't want to be last as there isn't much food left to choose from.

Visited May 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiwiDiscovery, Front Office Manager at Kiwi Discovery - Milford Sound DayTrip, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hi there, thank you for your review! The snow capped peaks in Milford Sound are definitely a bonus of travelling to this beautiful spot in the winter months. Glad you enjoyed our trip and customer service. A shame about your experience at the cafe in Te Anau. We have passed on this feedback to the cafe management. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Worth the whole day trip”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

While it sounds daunting, approximately ten hours on a bus (there and back) it was really quite enjoyable. It was an early start but that is because they leave earlier than the other tour companies. We booked extremely last minute and managed to make it into town just in time before the bus was to begin picking everyone up at their hotels. Kevin, our driver, was friendly and informative the whole drive and gave us the knowledge on everything as we went past. The cruise itself was a couple hours and it was awesome having a smaller ferry because we could get closer to the rocks. It was miserable weather but there is always a high chance of that happening due to two-thirds of the year having high rainfall. But you could still see so much and the many waterfalls spilling from the mountains around was marvelous. Saw seals on the boat, and it even snowed once we got back through Homer's Pass! Will be telling everyone to book with Kiwi Discovery!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank tommw5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiwiDiscovery, Front Office Manager at Kiwi Discovery - Milford Sound DayTrip, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Wonderful! Thank you for spreading the good word about us - it is much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kiwi Discovery - Milford Sound DayTrip also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Kiwi Discovery - Milford Sound DayTrip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing