We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Milford Sound tour”

Kiwi Discovery - Milford Sound DayTrip
Book In Advance
More Info
$126.51*
and up
Full-Day Milford Sound Discovery Day Trip from Queenstown
Ranked #70 of 162 Tours in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Milford Sound is the jewel of the South Island and a must see destination and Kiwi Discovery have been running trips to Milford Sound for over 25 years. Travel on the luxury coach with ample leg room and full commentary from Queenstown or Te Anau & ride in comfort as you take in the spectacular scenery. Once in Milford we join the Mitre Peak cruise boat, for that personal and up close experience. The boat does not take tour groups just "like minded independent travellers." So sit back and enjoy the complimentary tea and coffee and full commentary from our experienced guides as you learn the history of Fiordland National Park. A great value trip without the luxury price.
Useful Information: Stroller parking
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Milford Sound tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We joined the Milford Sound bus tour in Te Anau. Our driver was friendly and informative. The boat tour was great, even though it was a "moody" day. We ordered the on board picnic lunch, which was good - made life easier.

Visited October 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiwiDiscovery, Manager at Kiwi Discovery - Milford Sound DayTrip, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thanks for the review, I also agree, my favourite times in Milford are actually the moody and rainy ones. Waterfalls abundant and the clouds put in to perspective how high the mountains actually are. Good to hear you had a great day. Will pass your comments onto the driver and KD staff and hope the rest of your visit to NZ went well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    62
    12
    5
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Milford Sound Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Awesome service - from the free Taxi pick up from our Hotel in the morning. Great ride on the coach with solid commentary from the driver.

Breathtaking scenery on the way, and then the Mitre Peak cruises were great, Small boat with intimate and up close views of the waterfalls and wild life. Got to see penguins, seals and a trio of bottle nose dolphins surfed on our wake for ages.

Makes you proud to be a kiwi! Would happily do this again..

Visited October 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Grant B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiwiDiscovery, Manager at Kiwi Discovery - Milford Sound DayTrip, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Hi Grant, Surprisingly there are still lots of Kiwis that haven't been yet (although many more have it on their bucket list) I agree - it's pretty amazing. Oct to Dec is the best time to see penguins so awesome that you were lucky enough to see them while there.
Thanks for the great review and you'll have to come back in the winter, it's completely different then too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Skiing @ Cardrona and day tour to Milford Sound”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

my wife and I booked the beginners ski package at cardrona and day tour to milford sound. we extremely enjoyed both adventures. it was a lot of fun and the coach drivers provide insightful commentaries. can't wait to be back in queens town new zealand and will definitely book some more activities with them. :)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Al_Mika7911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiwiDiscovery, Manager at Kiwi Discovery - Milford Sound DayTrip, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review two of our products, Cardrona is a great place to learn to ski (and have fun if you are an experienced skier)
The Milford drivers are very passionate about their "office" in Fiordland so good to hear they made your day fun and interesting. I'll be sure to pass your compliments on to the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Highlight of my trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Rode a coach to Milford Sound with a funny driver (with cringe-worthy jokes), cruised Milford Sound on a spectacular day, then took a breathtaking cessna flight from Milford Sound to Te Anau with Sean and then back on the coach to Queenstown again. All pick ups went smoothly. Worth calling up the day before to confirm pick ups and any weather related issues. What made the day extraordinary was the knowledge and professionalism of the drivers/pilots/captains and experiencing the landscape from the road, lake and air. It's a full day, bring food if you have dietary requirements - as food options at Te Anau is limited in the short time frames you have. Warm clothing is also highly recommended. Although the flight option is more expensive, please consider it - it is something you will never forget!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiwiDiscovery, Manager at Kiwi Discovery - Milford Sound DayTrip, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Some really helpful hints and tips in there, even in the height of summer, the weather can change in the mountains so we always say bring something warm, you can always leave it on the bus if it turns out to be a warm day.
Yes I agree too, the flight is definitely worth the extra expense and glad you had a great time, will be sure to pass on your compliments to all the staff. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip in New Zealand too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CDJanet
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Must do”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We deemed this as a must do for those visiting the South Island. Long day but thoroughly enjoyed all of it (bus-cruise-bus) I thought the bus ride might seem long, but we enjoyed
hearing the commentary and the gorgeous scenery. Sat on the opposite side of the bus on the way back to Queenstown so it kept it interesting. Great seeing the mountains as the sunset.
Also on the way we sat in the front seat so we had a terrific view point. Like the stops to take pics along the way. Hard to hear the driver from the seats near the back on the way back. Cruise was enjoyable. Felt the whole experience was worth the $$$.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CDJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiwiDiscovery, Manager at Kiwi Discovery - Milford Sound DayTrip, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thanks for the review, will look into the volume of the commentary - we regularly check it and it should be available all over the bus.
Glad you thought it was value for money too
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kiwi Discovery - Milford Sound DayTrip also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Kiwi Discovery - Milford Sound DayTrip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing