We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“South Island New Zealand Trip 2014” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lakeside Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lakeside Motel
Ranked #55 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“South Island New Zealand Trip 2014”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Don't let the photos fool you. Old and tired, coming apart at the seams. 1950's style. Concrete outside steps gave access to three levels of rooms, and sharing site with backpackers accommodation. Elderly and frail have a challenge to have access up and down the stairs, I would hate to climb them in the rain or snow. Room was sparse, electric bar heater to take off the chill. Common balcony running the length, so no privacy and security non existent. Location good and parking OK. Laundry during our stay was flooded. Staff backpackers.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    19
    26
    18
    22
See reviews for
24
42
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in January. Short walk into town with all the restaurants and fun activities Queenstown can offer. Great views from unit across the lake and mountains. Friendly and helpful staff. Apartment itself was rather old fashioned and in need of refurbishment.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Ok people, read the reviews: It's old and a bit tatty around the edges. If you want fancy, pay more.
Plus side: Fantastic views over the lake. Three minute walk to the wharf. Helpful, friendly staff. When we didn't leave our stuff strewn all over the room, the bed was made and the room tidied as well as the towels being changed.

Room Tip: Upstairs for views, you will need to carry your bags up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Stayed at the motel for 2 nights. there's nothing to recommend this place apart from location. Nothing has been updated since 1950 and it desperately needs a good clean up too (the cobwebs are from the same decade). Luckily the bedding and towels were spotless and the position is great (overlooking the lake and within easy distance from the centre of town), we decided to stay. Don't bother getting wifi, it doesn't work (I asked for refund).

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay here, asked for the room upstairs, we had one right at the end of the passa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vera P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

The staff on front desk were polite friendly and were of good quality, the views from the room were also good but that is where the compliments stop. This is by far the worst motel I have ever stayed in the room was in an historical time warp and looked like it had not been redecorated sine 1950. The star dared of cleaning was poor, the apartment was not well serviced or cleaned, the beds were never made and the best we had was clean towels everyday but it was if this was all that was touched during our stay. The TV service was poor with no sky channels and just some very basic channels. The wifi service $25 for 7 days was very poor and kept cutting you off and asking you log in again if you did anything other than check emails. Insufficient car parking if hotel is full. They were also letting empty rooms on same floor to back packers for $22/per night which was about the right price and the correct market be warned!

Room Tip: Don't consider it unless you are a backpacker when it is good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Queenstown hotels

Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Okay, your in Queenstown and really to explore. This is the location for you on a budget that is.
Clean and simple or should we say a bit basic. Walking distance to town centre which is important. Go for lake front apartment if not for the views, as we had.
Parking limited and tight so if you have a big vehicle be careful. No WiFi. Not a bad place but no luxuries however price reflects that so don't complain. Will be a lot better when neighboring units roof is fixed and scaffolding has been taken down. Good place would stay again or at least recommend to my kids.

Room Tip: Go for a lake front room, second level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulcc115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
227 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Here's the deal: we're touring Otago and staying in Wanaka. Next day we're driving to Queenstown and need to book accommodation for a couple nights. As it's high season we can't really expect to just turn up in Queenstown and readily find somewhere to stay. So, being unable get the Internet at our Wanaka hotel to check Travel Advisor, we relied on the local Otago listings guide, and selected the Lakeside Motel, Queenstown - it looked ok, appealing even - and we booked by telephone a room for two nights using Visa. We drove to Queenstown and, later that same day, arrived at the motel, took the room keys and with some misgivings given the noisy building work going on and the parsimonious parking space which was quite challenging and nowhere near the alloted room, entered its uninviting fecal depths.

Horror.

The room was the kind of depressing space you'd expect to arrive at after serving a lengthy penitentary sentence: dim and dismal; a clammy semi-custodial half-way house reeking of dead insects, tobacco and despair. We took one look at the room, retreated to the motel office and told the disinterested and slightly catatonic girl at the front desk that the room was not even up to the most undemanding standards and that we wished to cancel our reservation. The girl telephoned the Manager, who agreed that the two night reservation could be cancelled after payment of a one night penalty. We paid-up and left, glad to be gone.

One unintended and delightful consequence was that we drove that late glittering afternoon to Glenorchy along the shores of the beautiful, cobalt blue Lake Wikatipu and found an excellent lay-up in the magical Little Paradise Lodge.


Had we been able to check its poor reviews on Trip Advisor we would never have selected this depressing motel.

Always, always check Trip Advisor before booking a hotel room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry Lynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Queenstown
Esplanade Queenstown
#42 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lakefront Apartments
Lakefront Apartments
#70 of 90 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lodges
The Lodges
#44 of 90 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Queenstown Motel Apartments
Queenstown Motel Apartments
#31 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lomond Lodge
Lomond Lodge
#11 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lofts Apartments
The Lofts Apartments
#51 of 57 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Motel

Property: Lakeside Motel
Address: 18 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lakeside Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside Motel is located across St Omers Park, a 3-minute walk from Central Queenstown. It offers self-contained lakefront accommodation with a full kitchen. Free on-site parking is provided. Guests can enjoy splendid views of mountain and lake from their room. The attached kitchen is equipped with a stove, a fridge, kitchenware and an oven. Amenities include electric blankets and cable TV. The staff at the tour desk can assist with booking local activities like jet boating, bungee jumping, kayaking, lake cruises and wine tours. Wi-Fi is available at a cost. Motel Lakeside is a 10-minute walk from Queenstown Gardens and a 15-minute walk from Queenstown Gondola. It is within a 20-minute drive of Queenstown International Airport and Arrowtown. Coronet Peak Ski Area is a 30-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Lakeside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing