We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but price reflects tired feel”
Review of Lakeside Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lakeside Motel
Ranked #55 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great location but price reflects tired feel”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Okay, your in Queenstown and really to explore. This is the location for you on a budget that is.
Clean and simple or should we say a bit basic. Walking distance to town centre which is important. Go for lake front apartment if not for the views, as we had.
Parking limited and tight so if you have a big vehicle be careful. No WiFi. Not a bad place but no luxuries however price reflects that so don't complain. Will be a lot better when neighboring units roof is fixed and scaffolding has been taken down. Good place would stay again or at least recommend to my kids.

Room Tip: Go for a lake front room, second level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulcc115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    21
    28
    18
    22
See reviews for
24
46
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
230 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Here's the deal: we're touring Otago and staying in Wanaka. Next day we're driving to Queenstown and need to book accommodation for a couple nights. As it's high season we can't really expect to just turn up in Queenstown and readily find somewhere to stay. So, being unable get the Internet at our Wanaka hotel to check Travel Advisor, we relied on the local Otago listings guide, and selected the Lakeside Motel, Queenstown - it looked ok, appealing even - and we booked by telephone a room for two nights using Visa. We drove to Queenstown and, later that same day, arrived at the motel, took the room keys and with some misgivings given the noisy building work going on and the parsimonious parking space which was quite challenging and nowhere near the alloted room, entered its uninviting fecal depths.

Horror.

The room was the kind of depressing space you'd expect to arrive at after serving a lengthy penitentary sentence: dim and dismal; a clammy semi-custodial half-way house reeking of dead insects, tobacco and despair. We took one look at the room, retreated to the motel office and told the disinterested and slightly catatonic girl at the front desk that the room was not even up to the most undemanding standards and that we wished to cancel our reservation. The girl telephoned the Manager, who agreed that the two night reservation could be cancelled after payment of a one night penalty. We paid-up and left, glad to be gone.

One unintended and delightful consequence was that we drove that late glittering afternoon to Glenorchy along the shores of the beautiful, cobalt blue Lake Wikatipu and found an excellent lay-up in the magical Little Paradise Lodge.


Had we been able to check its poor reviews on Trip Advisor we would never have selected this depressing motel.

Always, always check Trip Advisor before booking a hotel room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry Lynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

From previous reviews had a fair idea what to expect but prehaps a little more tired and run down than expected.The scaffolding around and above reception was alittle concerning but apparently a tree from across the road fell down on this area and not their fault.

The reception service was OK and flexible and cheap wi-fi, compared to most of NZ.

The view from upper level is great, reason we stayed here and only short enjoyable walk to town & wharf.

The room and facilities are extremely tired and very basic (no fan or air con), the toilet wanted to keep running and the stove/electrics are scary.

I would not want to be here in an earthquake/tremor!!!

Room Tip: Upstairs for view and towards western end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I have never seen a more feral place than this Backpackers. It was so dirty and old,especially in the kitchen and the showers. A very run down place for a high price. This place need to be closed.I stayed there on night and checked out the next morning to go to a nicer place.

Room Tip: Please do not book this backpackers anytime...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetraK225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This motel serves it's purpose without any added luxury.
Great location & superb lake/ mountain views.
The rooms serve their purpose at a most basic level. There were only 3 local TV channels. Wifi can be purchased at $5/day for one device at a time, but was very poor unless you stood near the router which is located on the Motel signboard outside the building!!
This place must not have been renovated in the past 30 years.
Water is hot, shower is fine & beds are comfy enough.
No safety deposit box or hair dryer, but tea & coffee is supplied.
Car parking available, but not outside your room, so it defies the description "motel"!

You could probably get better for a similar price, but you would need to do your research.

Room Tip: All rooms have a good view, but obviously the third (top) level is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fizzysoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Family of four from Wellington staying a week in Queenstown and couldn't have picked a better place to stay. Sure the motel complex is fairly dated but still very clean, tidy, comfortable with large rooms, good full kitchen facilities, great heating and plenty of hot water and with the added bonus of being MUCH cheaper than other adjacent places to stay. Fantastic location only a couple of minutes to centre of Queenstown and opposite lovely St Omer Park with council BBQ's. The views from our bedrooms, living room and verandah were unsurpassed and allowed us to see all the activity happening on Queenstown Bay and across to the Remarkables Mountains. The owners were very accommodating and knew Queenstown backwards so made our stay very pleasant. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Lakeside Motel Queenstown to any family wanting great value and a great location - the Calder Family.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 660PeterC660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnie, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in July. The room was very old and outdated. The lounge room had two couches (sofa beds) that were ratty and hard as rock. Both bedrooms were cold and only had two power plugs meaning it was I possible to have both electric blankets and alarm clock going. The kitchen was gross and the taps wouldn't turn off properly, nor did the hot water run straight away ( often having to wait a few minutes for it to warm up). We didn't cook anything there due to fear of using the oven. The bathroom was very basic and the bath was stained and old and the shower was in the bath but we were to scared to shower, due to the look of it. The hotel was cold and they only had a tiny heater. Overall the room was clean, but everything was old and outdated and in need of replacement. Not a place that I would recommend to anyone. Not worth the money. However it did have a great view of the lake and mountains.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALASTAIR L, Manager at Lakeside Motel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Lakeside Motel. We are one of the older, and less expensive motels in Queenstown, in a highly desirable location - just a 2 minute lakeside stroll from central Queenstown's shops and restaurants. We aim to provide clean and comfortable accommodation with a kitchen in every room, and at a budget price. However, we did not meet your expectations. Winter in Queenstown is cold. We do all we can to keep our guests warm, including heating in both bedrooms, and the lounge. There are electric blankets on all beds. We are available 24/7 to attend to any guest request. You are right - the view from every unit in the motel, of the lake and mountains, across the road, is amazing. Once again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
2.2 mi away
Sherwood Queenstown
Sherwood Queenstown
#38 of 58 in Queenstown
245 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Peaks Lodge
Blue Peaks Lodge
#33 of 58 in Queenstown
330 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lakefront Apartments
Lakefront Apartments
#67 of 90 in Queenstown
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Lodges
The Lodges
#40 of 90 in Queenstown
90 reviews
0.7 mi away
Queenstown Holiday Park & Motel Creeksyde
0.3 mi away
Lomond Lodge
Lomond Lodge
#17 of 58 in Queenstown
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Motel

Property: Lakeside Motel
Address: 18 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lakeside Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside Motel is located across St Omers Park, a 3-minute walk from Central Queenstown. It offers self-contained lakefront accommodation with a full kitchen. Free on-site parking is provided. Guests can enjoy splendid views of mountain and lake from their room. The attached kitchen is equipped with a stove, a fridge, kitchenware and an oven. Amenities include electric blankets and cable TV. The staff at the tour desk can assist with booking local activities like jet boating, bungee jumping, kayaking, lake cruises and wine tours. Wi-Fi is available at a cost. Motel Lakeside is a 10-minute walk from Queenstown Gardens and a 15-minute walk from Queenstown Gondola. It is within a 20-minute drive of Queenstown International Airport and Arrowtown. Coronet Peak Ski Area is a 30-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lakeside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing