We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Lakeside Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lakeside Motel
Ranked #55 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Desperately in need of a refurbished kitchen and bathroom, but very clean, loads of space in the rooms, fantastic lake view and only 5 minutes walk from town centre. Basic, but had everything we needed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
There are newer reviews for Lakeside Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 84 of 102 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed in room 4 during January and had an enjoyable time. Very comfortable beds, clean and powerful showers and a balcony overlooking the lake. Dont understand some of the other reviews, but maybe the rooms had been refurbished. Within walking distance of the town and its attractions. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ianmcevoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

When my family and I got to lakeside I was a bit disappointed as the place was very out dated. The reception on the tv was poor as were the lack of channels you could get. When we went out to our car the 2nd morning someone had hit our car and done $200 worth of damage when I confronted the owner and said what car was parked beside us she did nothing to help find out who's car it was there our car was parked in their car park so it could have been another person staying there or somebody they knew. I guess that's at your own risk but the help would have been nice. The room had a great view was warm as well was clean enough although I did hear the person above us flushing their toilet! A short walk into town and wasn't really bothered by the traffic passing by.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patches32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is a vintage motel but it is kept clean and it is a great value. We made this our base hotel when exploring the south island and we were happy to stay there. The rooms are huge and have an excellent view of the lake. Also, Lakeside is a short and pleasant walk along the lake into town. Because this hotel is not the center of town it is also much quieter, downtown Queenstown can be noisy at night. The kitchen has a stove and plenty of dishes and cookware to use. We like the vintage feel, gives this motel character and shows the place has been well maintained to have things last. All that mattered to us was the location, the cleanliness and comfort, the friendly staff and the price. This place satisfied all of this.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TracyL A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I can understand why this hotel has had poor reviews but I think most of them are very unfair. To me a motel and a hotel are very different and this is not a hotel and does not claim to be. Seems like the negative reviewers are looking for the impossible, the Hilton for the price of a campsite. These reviews are from people who make uninformed decisions. You are entitled to look round the room before you buy which is what we did. What we saw suited what we wanted, somewhere close to town where we could sleep and cook a meal if we wanted. Why go to Queenstown to spend most of your time in your hotel room? The room suited its purpose but I agree with the following criticisms:

- The steps up to the rooms are dangerous and shallow. If you were carrying something up them it was certainly possible to trip start
- The rooms are very basic and dated - This is not a boutique hotel and it is not priced as one
- The reception on the television is rubbish and most channels don't work

I disagree with following points made by some of the poor reviews:

- This hotel is not dirty from our experience. We were here just 6 weeks ago, the poor reviews are outdated
- The owners/staff are not rude. One night we put some washing in the machine and forgot about it whilst we went out for dinner. We came back at 10pm and the office was closed. We called the number provided and one of the owners was happy to come down and open up again for us to get our washing out.
- The road is not as noisy as it is claimed. Yes there is traffic but every hotel on the strip has the road beside it

This is a convenience hotel and is very suitable for its purpose - sleeping and eating, but do not expect luxuries on a shoestring budget.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank TheStarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I had a comfortable and relaxed stay in Unit 6, close to the road, in August 2012. The furnishings and interiors are old, but were all serviceable. The unit was clean and dry and we had personable service from the receptionist. The view out onto the waters is spectacular. For affordable budget accomodation I felt it hit the mark.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 89Justin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I had a very comfortable and convenient stay in room 14. The room was above the street noise and afforded an excellent view of the lake and the regular passage of the SS Earnslaw. My conference was held an easy stroll away at Rydges so the location was perfect. I found the office staff very well informed and helpful. The room is well worn however and is in need of a refit. The realistic room rate reflects this. Everything worked except for one of the bedside lamps. The fridge looked new and was clean.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have easy access to the street but they are likely to be noisy. The top floor roo...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
2.2 mi away
Sherwood Queenstown
Sherwood Queenstown
#38 of 57 in Queenstown
272 reviews
0.6 mi away
Four Seasons Motel
Four Seasons Motel
#43 of 57 in Queenstown
91 reviews
0.7 mi away
Queenstown Holiday Park & Motel Creeksyde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Lodges
The Lodges
#40 of 93 in Queenstown
95 reviews
0.7 mi away
Reavers Lodge
Reavers Lodge
#56 of 57 in Queenstown
386 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lakefront Apartments
Lakefront Apartments
#70 of 93 in Queenstown
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Motel

Address: 18 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Price Range: $80 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lakeside Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside Motel is located across St Omers Park, a 3-minute walk from Central Queenstown. It offers self-contained lakefront accommodation with a full kitchen. Free on-site parking is provided. Guests can enjoy splendid views of mountain and lake from their room. The attached kitchen is equipped with a stove, a fridge, kitchenware and an oven. Amenities include electric blankets and cable TV. The staff at the tour desk can assist with booking local activities like jet boating, bungee jumping, kayaking, lake cruises and wine tours. Wi-Fi is available at a cost. Motel Lakeside is a 10-minute walk from Queenstown Gardens and a 15-minute walk from Queenstown Gondola. It is within a 20-minute drive of Queenstown International Airport and Arrowtown. Coronet Peak Ski Area is a 30-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lakeside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing