We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We 100% recommend this place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Queenstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aspen Lodge Backpackers
Reviewed February 23, 2011

This place was a breath of fresh air when we arrived. The staff was so helpful and nice. We stayed in the backpackers side for one night on a triple room (but only my husband and I were booked in it, so it was private). The next two nights we were in another building for double rooms. We met a really cool couple, made dinner, the common area (kitchen/lounge) is uncrowded and has beautiful views.

-Staff is amazing
-common areas are clean and comfortable
-bathrooms are really clean
-rooms are clean and comfy
-quick walk to town center

STAY HERE!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenh333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 124 of 142 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2011

First of all, this is not a hostel, it's a hotel! At least if you are staying in the doubles. Wow! We just loved it so much! Found it by a coo-incidence while looking up other hostels on trip advisor; this hostel caught our attention because of it's great reviews and we surely understand why! Already when we booked we felt happy about it, because the person answering the phone was really friendly!

When we arrived, Tori (I think) took care of us, showing us around and made us feel really comfortable. We stayed in a double room which was huge! Used to tiny hostel rooms this was something new, more like a real hotel. Great with hangers for the clothes, always miss that! The bathroom was located just the next door, and we only had to share with one other room. How good is that?! The kitchen was only shared by us and five other rooms, which also was great. The backpacker part of the hostel has its' own part of of the place, with its' own kitchen and the private rooms have their separate part, which we really liked.

You have accces to wi-fi, laundry and they can help make reservations. The location is great too. Five minutes walk downtown QT, five minutes to the bigger supermarket, and we also had seaview!

The best thing about the hostel is the reception staff though. Just loved them! So friendly, helpful and nice. Mandy and Sally helped us with bookings, and were always really helpful and nice to just chat to. They made us feel really welcomed and at home.

We have nothing bad whatsoever to say about Aspen Lodge. It's brilliant! Loved it so much, and I'll come back next time we're in QT (which will be soon...)

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Egus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

Aspen Lodge was a fantastic base for all the activities in and around Queenstown. The rooms and common rooms were cleaned daily and they are in the process of making upgrades to it (not an easy process in NZ). But my biggest rave is for the ladies who own it. They are fantastic and so so so helpful with anything and everything you might need! While my friend and I were there we met a wide range of people staying there - all very friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tchatfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

We stayed @ Aspen for four nights and I have to say its the best hostel I have stayed at in the five months I've been travelling ... Very very Friendly and helpful you can book all your activities there , the rooms are clean with comfy dorm rooms and great en suites .... Highly recommend it !!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jporter_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Chose this placed based on TA's reviews, but was a little disappointed. I was in a 10-bed dorm (not full) with people coming and going all night long, plus a discussion at 4am about who just won a world cup game. Was easily the worst nights sleep I've had in New Zealand. The large room only had one weak heater, and even though I was right beside it, I was still cold. The ensuite bathrooms were great and wonderfully clean. The kitchens and common areas were also pretty good. The location was good, and it was nice to have some parking spaces. Very friendly staff. I'm recommending this place based on the assumption that smaller rooms are better/warmer, but I'd try elsewhere in Queenstown first.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tch77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

Stayed here for 1 night only (~NZD$70/per room night)

Pros:
1) Good location, only 5 mins walk to town
2) Surprisingly clean room for a backpackers place
3) Double bed was quite comfortable and the heater worked very well to keep us warm through the night
4) There was storage lockers available for a few-hours use, to keep luggages even after check-out

Cons:
1) We had a double room with ensuite, the room was small, there really wasn't any space to move around
2) There wasn't any typical hotel amenites as this was a backpackers, no TV, no hair dryer, no iron+board. We didn't really need them anyway
3) The walls/rooms weren't soundproof. We could hear the girls next door chatting away and noise from their TV all night long

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lamby-Bamby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

this hostel is very nice but as we had company all night we didnt sleep at all. The mouse crawled all over us as we tried to sleep The hostel did change our room next day but it was to late (they did let out the room to another unsuspecting couple the same day!!) If it wasnt for the mouse this place was lovely

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Hippo Lodge Backpackers
Hippo Lodge Backpackers
#51 of 93 in Queenstown
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Haka Lodge Queenstown
Haka Lodge Queenstown
#4 of 93 in Queenstown
470 reviews
0.8 mi away
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
#12 of 93 in Queenstown
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#7 of 93 in Queenstown
381 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
#6 of 93 in Queenstown
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tahuna Pod Hostel
Tahuna Pod Hostel
#3 of 93 in Queenstown
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspen Lodge Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Lodge Backpackers

Address: 11 Gorge Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: $15 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspen Lodge Backpackers offers clean, comfortable accommodation in a warm friendly environment. Situated in the heart of Queenstown we are ideally located for supermarket, shops and bustling nightlife. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aspen Lodge Backpackers Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing