We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Queenstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aspen Lodge Backpackers
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is a great spot in Queenstown. We had a private room ($70) and stayed several nights. There are two lounges and kitchens - a large one for the dorm rooms and a smaller set in a separate building where the private rooms are. This was great because the private room area wasn't very crowded. Everything was clean, there are lots of movies to watch on rainy days and its located just a few blocks from the center of town - 2 minutes to walk to everything you need, including a grocery store. Mandy was extremely helpful by storing our bags and helping us plan adventures.

Room Tip: For two people the private room at $70 was worth the few extra dollars compared to a dorm.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for Aspen Lodge Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 84 of 142 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012

i stayed at aspen for 2 night
and i have to honistly say that that they girl who was working on reception was
so helpfull and kind she realy showed me good time and i think small hostel great staff
but most of all good staff i hope to see them all again

Room Tip: ask Jenny witch room is best
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Got pretty high expectations of the place for a good night of sleep after reading all the reivews on Tripadvisor. Sadly that was not the case for me. Was put in a 4-bed dorm next to the kitchen.

Room
Clean enough with 4 power points for each bed, unless the heater was plugged in. Could feel the bed springs when lying on it, something which I have not experienced in any other hostels. If you are tired enough, this might not be a problem to you. Pillow and blanket were comfy enough. Heater worked well, really good as Queenstown was pretty cold when I was there.

Showers
There were only 3 toilets/showers in the whole hostel, and both were in the same location, meaning if someone is using the toilet you cannot use the shower and vice versa. During peak periods for e.g. in the evenings, this can be a problem when all the showers are being used and you need to go to the toilet. There are differences in the showers as well, some has hooks to hang your clothes, others only have a stool for you to place your items. One of the showers I used was too hot/too cold while the other shower's temperature was alright.

Lounge & kitchens
There were 2 lounges and kitchens. One of the lounges had a fireplace and is locked from 11pm till 7am. The other lounge is smaller and has a "quiet zone" where after 10pm, everyone has to be quiet. In party town, this obviously did not happen. Of the nights I stayed, some were up till midnight and the other night till the wee hours. Which of course didn't happen. The kitchen was pretty small and in the evenings when everyone returns back from the activities and starts preparing dinner, it can get pretty squeezy and crowded. One advantage to this is the higher tendency for travellers to interact.

Sleep quality
Poor at best. As mentioned, my room was next to the kitchen, which was separated by the door to the kitchen. This door was dodgy and had difficulty closing properly, resulting in it frequently left open - which wasn't helping to keep the noise out at all. Even with my room door and the door to the kitchen kept closed, I could still hear all the hustle and bustle going on in the kitchen/lounge. In the end, I had to use my music player to keep the noise out in order to get some sleep.

Location
Excellent location centrally located within walking distance to the town centre and the supermarket.

Internet
Free wifi if you book any activity with them.

Chose this hostel based on Tripadvisor reviews that made this hostel seem like a good place to get some shuteye. However, in party town, it seems difficult to get a hostel where you can get a decent night of sleep. Still, based on location and price, this hostel is a good choice. If you are a late or heavy sleeper or a little tight on the wallet, this hostel might suit your needs. If you are looking for a good night sleep, recommend that you request for a room away from the kitchens/lounges.

I chose a different hostel the next time when I returned to Queenstown.

Room Tip: Request for one away from the kitchens/lounges.
Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
Thank jayellearezee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

we stayed at the Aspen Lodge for 4 nights. the location is just perfect, short walking distance from city center and from main supermarket, we left our car at the parking all the time. also very close to the Gondola Skyline. Very quiet place with 3 seperate lobbies and kitchens, you can either hang-out with fellow backpakers or just keep to yourself. the double ensuite room we stayed in was big and comfortable, VERY clean and tidy, very quiet. the shared facilities are also superb, we used the kitchen all the time. Prices are very reasonable compared to NZ accomodations. And saving the best for last, Sally and Mandy, the owners are perfect in every way: they gave us loads of info, as well as recommendations on anything we asked about, very helpful, helped us book activities in Queenstown as well as booking our next 2 nights in other places. They always greet you with a smile and are a true charm.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gorgyJerusalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed here on two occasions during a group tour - Mandy and her crew are awesome, and the hostel has great facilities! I shared in a three bed dorm, the beds are so comphy and the pillows are too - major bonus. The shower was clean and hot water eventually plentiful, the kitchens well kitted out, and only a short stroll to town. Lovely position, and easy to find. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzieq3344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My cousin and I stayed in one of their twin rooms it was good size for 2 people and we only had to share the bathroom with 2 other people. We couldn't believe how close we were to the city centre which was awesome we could walk pretty much everywhere. The single beds were very comfortable and the heating worked well which was good being that it was freezing for several days we were there!! The staff were friendly and happy to assist us with all our inquiries, about restaurants, activities and just general information on Queenstown. The kitchen was always clean and you got your own plastic tubs to put your dry food in so it didn't get mixed up with anyone elses stuff, also decent sized fridge. The shared lounge room had a good TV and several choices for movies and TV shows which was good. Overall had a great time there and would definitely stay there again next time I go to Queenstown.

Room Tip: The twin rooms were very quiet away from the noise.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed for one night at the Aspen Lodge at the tail-end of a long road trip down South Island's west coast. As we were looking for a little comfort while not breaking the bank, we selected a private double room, which to our surprise was more like a private apartment, than a room at a hostel.

The private rooms are actually separate from the main building, which contains the dorms and common areas. While concealed from the road, they have their own driveway, which means you can bypass the hostel part of Aspen Lodge altogether as you come and go. As a result, there's no worry about disturbing anyone at night. The town centre itself is only 5mins away by foot.

While fairly spartan, the room itself was clean, modern, warm and featured a well-equipped kitchenette. We slept incredibly well the night we were there, with no street or neighbour noise. It would have been fabulous place for a longer stay.

While we didn't have much to ask from the staff, we found them to be very friendly. At check-out, they helped direct us to the airport bus stop and we departed with a warm impression of the place.

Overall, we'd highly recommend Aspen Lodge for those seeking no frills, private accommodation. A better welcome to Queenstown couldn't be found at places costing twice the price.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rosanne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Haka Lodge Queenstown
Haka Lodge Queenstown
#4 of 92 in Queenstown
454 reviews
0.3 mi away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#6 of 92 in Queenstown
366 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
#7 of 92 in Queenstown
244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tahuna Pod Hostel
Tahuna Pod Hostel
#3 of 92 in Queenstown
366 reviews
0.3 mi away
YHA Queenstown Central
YHA Queenstown Central
#19 of 92 in Queenstown
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspen Lodge Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Lodge Backpackers

Address: 11 Gorge Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 92 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: $16 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspen Lodge Backpackers offers clean, comfortable accommodation in a warm friendly environment. Situated in the heart of Queenstown we are ideally located for supermarket, shops and bustling nightlife. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aspen Lodge Backpackers Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing