We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location... but that's about it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bumbles Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location... but that's about it!”
Reviewed March 3, 2009

We stayed at Bumbles simply because it was the only place with a vacancy and it turned out to be in a cracking location (not up one of the many Queenstown hills!) with pretty cool views.

However, the receptionist was useless. She vaguely pointed in the direction of our room without warning us that the place was like an outdoor rabbit warren, didn't tell us where the showers and toilets were, didn't mention the kitchen or internet... I can't stand staff like this.

The room itself was hard to find and the layout of Bumbles is just plain odd. We had to go outside and down a set of concrete steps to get to the toilet and worse of all our room STANK of musty dampness. The small, rickety window and cold blue walls of the room did nothing to help alleviate this.

The mattresses were so soft that they were blatantly pass their sell by dates and though it doesn't matter hugely, the floral bedsheets were a turn off. The single socket in the room was broken.

If you don't remotely care about the kind of place you're staying in and want somewhere within easy reach of the main streets of QT then stay here. Otherwise, pay a little more and avoid if you can.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renton_Darcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    64
    30
    8
    5
See reviews for
7
54
75
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2009

My boyfriend and I were in Queenstown for 4 days to see what it had to offer. We stayed in a private twin room at the bumbles as the double room was booked.

On first impressions the hostel is quirky and laid back. There is a large shared area with cooking factilities, lounging area and internet access (not free). The reception is only open some of the day so beware when you arrived in the early afternoon you may have a wait. You can book most activities at the reception and the staff are really helpful as they have probably be on the tour/activity and if not it is such a small town they usually know someone who has.

The room wasn't quite what I had imagined. In order to get to the the private rooms you had to go through dorm rooms. It felt a little strange as the private rooms are actually just rooms off the dorm. Maybe I just havent experienced enough hostels but I felt this was a little odd. Also there was only one toilet and one shower for the who dorm and two private rooms (12 people approx) which did make for a few queues.

However the room was clean and in a great location.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Dynartw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2008

We stayed in Bumbles for three nights and then a further three nights later in our trip. We stayed in a double room both times which was very clean and spacious. We had a shared bathroom, which we shared with an adjoined 5 bed dorm. The bathroom was always clean and tidy. The common/ tv area is clean and also has a incredible view of the Remarkable Mountain Range. The kitchen is also clean and airy. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. It was a nice quiet hostel, a five minute walk into town. Great location, great stay!

  • Liked — Views, location
  • Disliked — Adjoined dorm
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CiaraMuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2008

Our last two nights in New Zealand we booked a twin room at Bumbles figuring we'd live it up and have our own room for a final treat. Unfortunately we didn't get to see (or smell) the room (#6) until we arrived. Immediately upon opening the door the musty smell was evident and it didn't go away no matter how long we left the door and window open. In Queenstown everything reasonably priced is booked at least a day in advance so switching to another hostel wasn't an option. It certainly made my departure from New Zealand a little bit easier as I couldn't wait to get away from the smell.

I will say, however, that the people staying here were friendlier than at any other hostel we stayed at in over two weeks in the South Island.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Smell of room
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ShellyR41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2008

I was pretty disappointed by this hostel - especially after reading the good reviews on tripadvisor. I spent most of my time in NZ in hostels and would say this was the worst.

The good:
Walking distance to downtown.
Quieter than other Queenstown hostels.

The bad:
NO LIGHTING when walking up stairs trying to find your room at night.
NO LIGHTING trying to go outside to the bathroom.
No heat
The kitchen was not well equipped - and the soap was watered down - not too sanitary
Very small common room
The key to the room is a skelaton key - so you'd better hide your valuables well.

I would not stay there again, nor recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank around_the_world_nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2008

This was one of the best hostels ever!! We had the most amazing view from our room and it was so cheap. There were 8 beds in our room and it had a bathrrom. Everything was very clean and our roommates were so fun. All the bars and clubs are walking distance and we all went out together. The staff was very helpful. Great hostel to stay at!!

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamG982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2007

Fantastic place to stay, the views were only amazing and the staff went out of their way to make sure we had a great stay. Highly recommend this place.

  • Liked — Staff + Location
  • Disliked — You had to go down by reception to use lockers
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bettyboo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
1,438 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Adventure Queenstown Hostel
Adventure Queenstown Hostel
#1 of 90 in Queenstown
448 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tahuna Pod Hostel
Tahuna Pod Hostel
#3 of 90 in Queenstown
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bumbles Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bumbles Backpackers

Property: Bumbles Backpackers
Address: Cnr of Lake Esplanade & Brunswick Street, Queenstown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a small, relaxed & friendly place to stay in Queenstown with spectacular views, a waterfront location and free Wi-Fi, this is it! Just a 2 minute stroll to downtown, we are a small laid back place to stay where you'll some meet great people and get some sleep! "This popular hostel is colourfully decorated. Its prime lakefront location near the heart of town ensures excellent views and easy access to the best of Queenstown. It's an easy going spot, with a quieter more laid back vibe compared to other larger hostels around town." Lonely Planet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Bumbles Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing